AuthorsDen.com   Join (free) | Login  

   Your Online Literary Community! 
 Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

Signed Bookstore | Authors | Books | Stories | Articles | Poetry | Blogs | News | Events | Reviews | Videos | Success | Gold Members | Testimonials

Featured Authors:  Jennifer Miller, iEileen Granfors, iLakshmi Sharma, iCindy Ziperman, iMike Monahan, iMiranda Pope, iWilliam Cottringer, i

 
Home > Author > Nora Ryan
 
Nora Ryan

· Become a Fan
· Contact author
   
· Books
· 3 Titles
· 2 Reviews
· Add to My Library
· Share with a friend
·
Member Since: Feb, 2009

Nora Ryan, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.





  Nora Ryan           

Share  Save   [ Subscribe]        

"Good fiction brings out the truth in its essence." - Yann Martel in Life of Pi


Background Information

Major Influences

For the first twenty five years: An Irish Catholic childhood, my father, Mahtma Ghandi and Mother Theresa.

For the following twenty seven and counting: The Canadian tapestry of geography and peoples, the Caribbean, Abdul-Baha and the Baha'i Faith.

 

Favorite Writers

Michael Ondaatje - for his sensibility to the human heart

Yann Martel - for his majic

Elizabeth Kingslover -for her humanity

 

Biography

Born and Raised in Ireland, Nora Ryan immigrated to Canada in 1980 and spent eighteen years working in rural Manitoba prior to a two year stint living on a small island in the Caribbean (1998-1999). This experience provided the inspiration for her first two works of fiction. 

Across the Great Divide examines the divide caused by race and socio-economic circumstances and the ability of the human spirit to bridge the divide. 

Cracked Conch is a collection of short stories and poems delivering a series of vignettes into the lives of a colorful cast of misfits and mischief-makers.

Marie’s Story, Ryan’s latest work is a story told in the first person through the eyes of a child living in Haiti.  This story puts a human face on AIDS and brings the reader into the lives of children, illuminating their struggles and triumphs in a haphazard and uncertain world. 

Dragon Quest is Ryan's first children's book. In the tradition of Aesop's Fables, Dragon Quest is a fictional story featuring mythical creatures with human qualities. The tale while packed with adventure illustrates a moral lesson in the virtues of courage, cooperation and kindness. Suitable for 8-10 year oldsand those hwo have yet to lose their fascinatiuon with dragons.

Nora Ryan currently lives in Squamish BC. She is marrried with two adult children and two grandchildren. Nora Ryan is a pen name.

 

 

Birth Place
Dublin,  Ireland
Favorite Links

noraryanbooks
Find out more about Nora Ryan and read excerpts from her work.




Featured Book
From the Heart of an Artist Quiet Storm
by Gwendolyn Thomas Gath

Perhaps "..Quiet Storm" will help rekindle old flames buried and long forgotten or express the love so deeply locked inside of your soul longing to be released.  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members


Featured Book
Simply From My Heart
by Sherri Smith

Poetry dedicated to my dad John E. Sheppard...  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members





Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.