AuthorsDen.com   Join (Free!) | Login  

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  Miller Caldwell, iPaul Kyriazi, iJean-Pierre Gregoire, iIolanthe Woulff, iErik shein, iPia Shannon, iKathleen Morris, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Betty Anne Grillo

· Become a Fan
· Contact me
· Books
· Blog
· 1 Titles
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: May, 2012

Betty Anne Grillo, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.


Featured Book
Farrago: More Stories
by Lucille lucil95783@aol.com

Second literary collection since Pastiche: Stories and Such..  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members










Blogs by Betty Anne Grillo

WHAT WILL I DO IF SOMEONE ASKS ME TO DANCE?
6/17/2012 5:33:34 AM
Life's tough moments teach you invaluable lessons

WHAT WILL I DO IF SOMEONE ASKS ME TO DANCE?

We’ve all been in situations we never expected. One of the difficult events in my life has created so many stories – some of them even make me laugh. At the age of 41 I was widowed suddenly, and it devastated me for quite a long period of time. I wore black for a year (definitely not my usual look) and even found it difficult to go out to the movies with friends. What if someone in the movie died? How would I handle that? I wasn’t going to put my emotions out there, not just yet--maybe never.

After about 4 years, I finally got the nerve to start doing things with a dear friend of mine. She was divorced, also a situation she never expected earlier in her life—but it meant that she was available to go out at least once a week and try to have some fun. We were like two fish out of water. We tried the local craft shows, summer festivals and occasional concerts. Sometimes we went to the diner for some coffee and a piece of pie. Yes, I remember those pies… 

Finally, we decided to go out and do something we both loved (in our prior married years anyway). We convinced ourselves we were brave enough to go out for a night of dancing. Yes, dancing! Now that was going to be fun! What we didn’t know about “dancing” we were about to find out!

We went to a hot spot in our small town, directly across from the airport. The music was loud, the floor was packed, and of course, there was not a seat to be had! We stood idly by, watching people move in rhythm to the beat of the music—wondering just how to gracefully step into their midst. It was like waiting for the opportune time to jump into the double-dutch jump rope. We finally decided there is no good time—just do it!

Moving out to the dance floor we tried to avoid the craziness we saw—not much of what people were doing looked like dancing to us. We left the dance floor when the next slow dance began, and I said to my dear friend: “What would I do if I was ever asked to dance?” After all, the last time that happened I was in high school! She looked at me blankly, not offering any suggestions about what to do, and we stood idly by. It is fun to watch people dance, after all. We had to be happy we were at least out having some fun. Then, all of a sudden, I was tapped on the shoulder and a very young man said something I still to this day can’t recall. I was taken quite by surprise, because from what I could figure out—he had just asked me to dance! Can I tell you how shocked I was!?!

In the blink of an eye I figured out what I would do if it ever happened. Without hesitation, I body-slammed my dear friend with my purse and disappeared into the disco ball frenzy of the dance floor. There she stood—speechless—now holding not just her purse, but mine too. I guess I didn’t care what she would do if someone asked her to dance. Sorry dear friend!

That was a big turning point for me. I no longer wondered what I would do if this happened or that happened. I learned to go with the flow and respond naturally and from the heart. I never left my friend holding the bag again, but I certainly didn’t let an opportunity to dance ever pass me by from then on. My question to you is: What will you do if you’re asked to dance, or volunteer, or act as a mentor? Do what I did—body slam your best friend with your purse and never look back!

All my best!

Betty Anne

SUNSET DREAM BOOKS

www.sunsetdreambooks.com

 



Post a Comment

More Blogs by Betty Anne Grillo
• What Your Neighbors Don't Know Abour Your Life - Wednesday, July 11, 2012
• A Special Needs Child in the Family - Tuesday, July 10, 2012
• Uncertainty creates fear and anxiety - Monday, July 09, 2012
• Bankruptcy is a fresh start, not a disgrace - Friday, July 06, 2012
• Could "book smarts" ever replace "street smarts"? - Thursday, July 05, 2012
• #Food for Thought—and I sure hope you’re #hungry! - Wednesday, July 04, 2012
• The Passing of Andy Griffith - Tuesday, July 03, 2012
• New day, new desire, new direction! - Monday, July 02, 2012
• SUNDAY SILLIES 07-01-2012 - Sunday, July 01, 2012
• The other “B” word – #BUDGET - Saturday, June 30, 2012
• The Truth is Always Somewhere in the Middle - Friday, June 29, 2012
• Time to take a #SCOTUS breath! - Thursday, June 28, 2012
• Do men and women handle #bankruptcy differently? - Wednesday, June 27, 2012
• Do men and women handle bankruptcy differently? - Tuesday, June 26, 2012
• The Symptoms of an Unhealthy Budget: Part Four - Monday, June 25, 2012
• Louis Gossett, Jr - Sunday, June 24, 2012
• SUNDAY SILLIES 06-24-2012 - Sunday, June 24, 2012
• Have you had a part in saving a life? - Saturday, June 23, 2012
• The Symptoms of an Unhealthy Budget: Part Three - Saturday, June 23, 2012
• The Symptoms of an Unhealthy Budget - Friday, June 22, 2012
• The Symptoms of an Unhealthy Budget - Thursday, June 21, 2012
• Can you really negotiate with credit card companies to pay less than the full balance? - Wednesday, June 20, 2012
• Do your elderly parents have trouble paying their bills? - Tuesday, June 19, 2012
• Do money problems cause break-ups? - Monday, June 18, 2012
•  WHAT WILL I DO IF SOMEONE ASKS ME TO DANCE? - Sunday, June 17, 2012  
• HAVING LESS TO SPEND COSTS YOU MORE IN THE END - Saturday, June 16, 2012
• I'm late, I'm late, for a very important... - Friday, June 15, 2012
• WHEN THE “B” WORD STANDS FOR BANKRUPTCY - Thursday, June 14, 2012
• Has your net worth decreased dramatically? - Wednesday, June 13, 2012
• What dreams have you had to put on hold? - Tuesday, June 12, 2012
• How much longer can you hold out? - Monday, June 11, 2012
• Sunday "Sillies" 06-10-2012 - Sunday, June 10, 2012
• Saturdays aren't the same for you, are they? - Saturday, June 09, 2012
• When charging items like food and gas purchases get us into trouble - Friday, June 08, 2012
• If money can fix it, it's not a disaster - Thursday, June 07, 2012
• I know it feels good to shop, but... - Wednesday, June 06, 2012
• Your health is most important! - Tuesday, June 05, 2012
• Common Personal Bankruptcy Myths and Facts - Monday, June 04, 2012
• Sunday Sillies June 3, 2012 - Sunday, June 03, 2012
• 383,000 New Unemployment Claims - Saturday, June 02, 2012
• How Much More Can You Take? - Friday, June 01, 2012
• Life is too short to face financial problems every day! - Thursday, May 31, 2012
• A new book about surviving widowhood - Wednesday, May 30, 2012
• A handshake and a smile - Tuesday, May 29, 2012
• Where did all that money go? - Monday, May 28, 2012
• Sunday "Sillies" - Sunday, May 27, 2012
• Unemployment numbers - Saturday, May 26, 2012
• The Launch of Sunset Dream Books - Saturday, May 26, 2012


Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.