AuthorsDen.com   Join Free! | Login  

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  Kathryn Perry, iIolanthe Woulff, iLinda Frank, iJean-Pierre Gregoire, iFrank Stephenson, iLonnie Hicks, iTony Bertot, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Jennie Marsland

· Become a Fan
· Contact me
· Books
· Poetry
· News
· Stories
· Blog
· 6 Titles
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: Mar, 2010

Jennie Marsland, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.


Featured Book
Money, Sex and Kids:
by Tina Tessina

Stop Fighting about the Three Things That Can Ruin Your Marriage! "With a Ph.D., eight books, and 30 years of counseling experience under her belt, [Redbook Lov..  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members










Blogs by Jennie Marsland

Folk Friday #1
7/9/2010 3:27:50 AM    [ Flag as Spam or Inappropriate ]

Blog Post from jenniemarsland.blogspot.com

Iíve decided to start a tradition this week. Since I know some of you are music fans, and since I certainly am, Iím going to decree that every Friday henceforth shall be Folk Friday. Iíll choose a piece of music I like, provide a clip, and give a little background.

Musically, Iím a little schizophrenic. One part of me gravitates towards Celtic music, while another part responds to earthy tunes by the likes of John Prine and Mary Chapin-Carpenter. Iíll kick this off with a Celtic tune, The Briar and the Rose, written by Tom Waite, performed by Nova Scotian band The Cottars.

A good friend of mine works as an usher at the Rebecca Cohn auditorium, a major concert venue here in Halifax. She keeps me informed of upcoming shows, and a few years ago she told me The Cottars were on the bill. ďDonít miss it.Ē Iíd been hearing of this band, so I took Kathyís advice and didnít miss it.

At that time, The Cottars were two pairs of siblings, young teens from two of Nova Scotiaís well-known musical families. The lead singer, Fiona MacGillivray, was only twelve at the time. When this dark-haired wisp of a girl stepped up to the microphone I didnít know what to expect. I like childrenís voices, butÖ

With her brother backing her up, Fiona launched into The Briar and the Rose. By the end of the first verse there were chills running along my spine and tears in my eyes. No artifice, no vocal gymnastics, just a pure, clear, powerful voice. Fiona must be seventeen or eighteen now, and though her voice has matured it hasnít changed in quality. It still comes from the heart. This clip was recorded a year or so ago. Enjoy! And if there are any tunes youíd like to hear here, let me know!

">http://www.youtube.com/v/WGTV8lCMgy8&hl=en_US&fs=1& allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true">

 

 



Post a Comment

More Blogs by Jennie Marsland
• Music is the food of love - Monday, February 14, 2011
• This Weird and Wonderful Language - Friday, January 21, 2011
• News Flash! - Thursday, January 13, 2011
• New Year's Musings - Monday, January 03, 2011
• McShannon's Heart Holiday Contest - Friday, December 17, 2010
• McShannon's Heart is Available! - Wednesday, December 15, 2010
• Dialogue and Layering and Stuff - Wednesday, October 27, 2010
• Folk Friday - Wild Women and Inspiration - Sunday, October 24, 2010
• Fall Flavours - Tuesday, September 28, 2010
• Folk Friday and thoughts on Canine Grammar - Sunday, September 26, 2010
• A Few Days Out of Time - Thursday, September 02, 2010
• Some Thoughts on Dialogue - Tuesday, August 10, 2010
• Folk Friday #2 - Friday, July 30, 2010
• Tragedy in Romance - Sunday, July 25, 2010
• A shattered City - Wednesday, July 21, 2010
•  Folk Friday #1 - Friday, July 09, 2010  
• McShannon's Heart Update - Tuesday, July 06, 2010
• A Different Flavour - Thursday, July 01, 2010
• Echo's Excellent Adventure - Monday, June 21, 2010
• Summertime, and the livin' is easy - Friday, June 11, 2010
• A Visit with Trey McShannon - Thursday, June 10, 2010
• A Musical Push - Tuesday, June 08, 2010
• Review: Naked Edge by Pamela Clare - Friday, May 28, 2010
• Words and Music - Thursday, May 20, 2010
• Revisions, revisions - Wednesday, May 12, 2010
• Review: Highland Rebel by Judith James - Thursday, May 06, 2010
• What's In a Name? - Friday, April 30, 2010
• My Take on Description 2: Setting - Sunday, April 25, 2010
• MyTake on Character Description - Saturday, April 24, 2010
• Contest Time! - Saturday, April 24, 2010
• A Family Divided - Saturday, April 24, 2010
• Second Book Syndrome - Saturday, April 24, 2010


Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.