AuthorsDen.com   Join Free! | Login    
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  Andrew Updegrove, iNancy Neville, iZ McClure, iJoan Huffman, iArthur Jackson, ikaren leung, iDouglas Skopp, i

  Home > Political Science > Poetry
Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Glenn G Thater

· + Follow Me
· Contact Me
· Books
· Articles
· Poetry
· News
· Stories
· Blog
· 31 Titles
· 33 Reviews
· Save to My Library
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: Jun, 2008

Glenn G Thater, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.




Featured Book
Let the Truth Be Told (paperback)
by Sonny Hudson

A thrilling debut novel in the tradition of top authors like Robert Ludlum and David Baldacci, Let the Truth Be Told is sure to be loved by all fans of political action t..  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members


When Will They Come For My Factor Gear?
by Glenn G Thater
Monday, July 14, 2008
Rated "G" by the Author.
Share   Print  Save   Follow
Recent poems by Glenn G Thater
•  Only Knights
•  The Mighty Deed
           >> View all 3

They’ll take my worn volumes of Rush and old Pat Buchanan,
They’ll shred my Hannity’s, and my O’Reilly’s and my Coulter’s so dear,
Will they leave me a single piece of my Factor Gear?

WHEN WILL THEY COME FOR MY FACTOR GEAR?
By Glenn G. Thater, Author of ‘Harbinger of Doom’
 

I sit in my beloved library at 34,
Reading forbidden books behind locked door,
I guard here the tomes I’m not supposed to read,
A shelf full of Rush, and North whose views I must not heed,
The old Pat Buchanans, the Hannitys, the Newts,
My dog-eared O’Reillys, and the Coulters so dear,
Should I turn down the light, should I read here in fear?
I know soon they’ll come for my Factor Gear,

Their revolution is here whether we like it or not,
It seems that they beat us without firing a shot.
Their insidious tactics took us unaware,
Shredding our once proud culture bare,

In a few short decades they’ve laid us to waste,
Their crimes too long for any reasonable space,
We called them the lefties, the liberals, the elites,
Now they’ve become the dreaded thought police,

Already they dictate how we may speak,
They steer what we read,
And tell us what to think,

They’ve rewritten our history and destroyed our heroes,
Replacing them with various lefty zeroes,
They still have a warm spot for old Uncle Joe,
Will they never learn our friends from our foes?

What year will it be when they crash through my door,
To fire my books and throw me to the floor?
When will it be that they’re finally here,
When will they come for my Factor Gear?

Long is the list of the evils they claim,
Longer still the list of our heroes whose names they’ve defamed,

Now they tell us that Columbus and Washington and old Hickory were devils,
Endless charges of intolerance and insensitivity do they level,

They tell us we’re stupid or loony or both,
Who else would ever cast a republican vote?

A culture of apology and confession,
Our begging forgiveness their daily obsession.

Their mantras - diversity and political correctness,
That’s the dogma of the fair-minded friendly leftists.

The day’s long since here that we can’t speak our minds,
They’ve rewritten the dictionary and laid it with mines
How long until Fox is thrown off the air?
Can’t I speak how I like, why isn’t that fair?

How old will I be when they break through my door,
To burn my books and toss me to the floor?
My seventies? My sixties? Could it happen that soon?
Could it happen in my forties, or tomorrow at noon?

They’ll take my worn volumes of Rush and old Pat Buchanan,
They’ll shred my Hannitys, and my O’Reillys and my Coulters so dear,
Will they leave me a single piece of my Factor Gear?

 ****
I hope that you enjoyed "When Will They Come For My Factor Gear."  Rarely does my writing delve into politics.  Typically, I write fantasy tales in the vein of Robert E. Howard, Michael Moorcock, Roger Zelazny, Tolkien and their ilk.  My books are available for purchase from Amazon.com.  I hope that you'll check them out.  Also, please visit my website at www.glenngthater.com.  

Mr. Thater's books can be purchased from Amazon.com.  Mr. Thater's Amazon.com profile page, which includes a complete listing of his books can be accessed here:
http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B002BMFQUO

If you're outside the United States and can't purchase from Amazon.com, you can purchase Mr. Thater's Trade Paperback books directly from the Publisher using these links:
Harbinger of Doom (1st Edition):   http://www.createspace.com/3334712
Harbinger of Doom (2nd Edition):  http://www.createspace.com/3342167

glenn g. thater
Author of 'Harbinger of Doom'
www.glenngthater.com

 

Click Here for the Offical Website of Glenn G. Thater

Want to review or comment on this poem?
Click here to login!


Need a FREE Reader Membership?
Click here for your Membership!


Reviewed by The Poetess
I like the way you stand up for what you believe in. This poem brings me to a place of reflecting on the wars of politics and religion, which have destroyed, since the beginning of time, the heart we need to live with - the acceptance of different minds.
Reviewed by Robert Penner
Very cool poem. Such a taboo is politics when your a conservative thinker. I just joined authorsden and you are the first person I looked up. I downloaded your free book at smashwords. I look forward to reading it.
Reviewed by Glenn Thater
Leland,
Thanks for your comments, i'm happy to hear that you enjoyed it. I've had some rather unpleasant comments from liberals who did not appreciate it.
Reviewed by Leland Waldrip
Hi:
I enjoyed this well-written piece. I was once a Barry Goldwater fan but the Republican Party moved away from me. I can't find a home in the Democratic Party, yet I think it's time for the pendulum to swing their way for a while. Still, I hope they don't break down your library door. Book burners are atrocious, whatever their politics.
Best regards,
Leland
Popular Poetry (Political Science)
  1.  Change You Can Believe In
  2.  Workin' for the Jeb Man
  3.  Will Work for Pennies (900 billion)
  4.  Eight Days of Work

The Big Lie: How Our Government Hoodwinked the Public, Emptied the S.S by Allen Smith

A survey of how 30 years of government economic malpractice led to the 2008 financial meltdown and to the $15 trillion national debt...  
BookAds by Silver, Gold and Platinum Members

Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.