AuthorsDen.com   Join | Login  

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  Chynna Laird, iGraham whittaker, iTina Tessina, iDavid Page, iPaddy Bostock, iSheri Hoff, iEdie Batstone, i

  Home > Action/Thriller > Articles Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

WR Potter

· Become a Fan
· Contact me
· Articles
· News
· Blog
· 29 Titles
· 4 Reviews
· Save to My Library
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: Sep, 2009

WR Potter, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.




Featured Book
Recipes for Survival: Stories of Hope and Healing.
by Karen Wilson

This book is about surviving some of the most difficult childhood experiences imaginable...  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members


Featured Book
Harrington Manor
by James Milward

The story takes place in 1923, Orange County, CA, and is a family saga turned sour by greed. An LA homicide detective, Sidney Snipes, soon discovers the case has taken a ..  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members





   Recent articles by
WR Potter

• Book Review: The 19th Element by John L. Betcher
• Book Review: Wyndano's Cloak by A.R. Silverberry
• Book Review: Paris, Moi and the Gang: A Memoir of Sorts by Fran Gendlin
• Poison Reality: A Symphony of Bittersweet by Nedyne Shorts-Nettles
• Book Review: Breakup-enduring divorce by Leo Averbach
• Book Review: First Light: Selected Poems by Alberto Romero
• Book Review: The Haunting of Andrew Sharpai
• Victor and the Sun Orb by Amy Nielsen
• Best Western Movies by John Howard Reid
• Lor Mandela – Destruction From Twins by L. Carroll-A Book Review
• No Greater Sacrifice by John C. Stipa-A Book Review
• George Wilhite writes Supernatural and Dark Fantasy
           >> View all

The Missing Element by John L. Betcher
by WR Potter   
Rated "G" by the Author.
Last edited: Wednesday, May 12, 2010
Posted: Sunday, May 02, 2010

Share    Print   Save    Become a Fan


The Missing Element is the story of James “Beck” Becker and his wife Elizabeth, who have returned to Beck’s childhood home in Red Wing, Minnesota to enjoy retirement from their covert government jobs. Of course, life is anything but quiet with Beck around.


CreateSpace (March 8, 2010)
978-1451512717
294 pages

The Missing Element is the story of James “Beck” Becker and his wife Elizabeth, who have returned to Beck’s childhood home in Red Wing, Minnesota to enjoy retirement from their covert government jobs. Of course, life is anything but quiet with Beck around.

When Katherine Whitson, a Minneapolis computer genius, disappears under mysterious circumstances, her husband George calls the local police. After receiving no help from police, George then solicits a Red Wing acquaintance to convince Beck to help find Katherine.

Beginning at Katherine’s luxury apartment in the Minneapolis Warehouse District, Author John L. Betcher puts his protagonist through a labyrinth of red herrings. Beck’s investigation starts with George as the unfaithful husband, and then moves to his lover, to Katherine’s work colleagues, and on through the ranks of an influential computer company, and into the overwhelming world of computer microprocessors before he can begin to find answers.

To solve the mystery of why Katherine was kidnapped—and to save her—Beck must draw on his resources with the FBI and their computer experts, as well as the expertise of his wife Elizabeth, the former CIA agent.

Betcher leads us into the world of advanced computer technology and international espionage with this captivating suspense thriller. As we follow Beck on his quest to locate Katherine, we are introduced to several colorful characters. There is the Ottawa County Sheriff’s Deputy, Doug Gunderson, and his wife, Connie, who enlist Beck’s help. The brawn in this story is provided by the enigmatic Terry “Bull” Red Feather. Bull is drawn into the story when Beck requests his assistance in dealing with the nefarious characters who try to stand in his way.

The Missing Element is well-written, the plot is intriguing, and the characters are interesting. Betcher draws you in from page one and holds your interest to the very last. Unlike many recent novels, Betcher takes his time tying up the loose ends and concluding the story. This book is obviously the beginning of an exciting new series of suspense novels for Betcher. The Missing Element is recommended for those who love to curl up with an entertaining mystery/suspense novel. It offers a little something for everyone: lively characters, espionage and cyber-technology, and of course the mystery of who took Katherine Whitson and why. Fans of Parker, Grisham, and Clancy will enjoy this first installment in the James Becker series.

Reviewed by Deb L. Baker for Reader’s Choice Book Reviews

The author holds a Bachelor’s Degree, cum laude, in English from St. Olaf College in Northfield, Minnesota and a Juris Doctorate from the University of Minnesota Law School in Minneapolis. He has practiced law for more than twenty-five years in the Mississippi River community of Red Wing, Minnesota. He has also been a long-time supporter and coach of youth volleyball there.

 

http://www.johnbetcher.com

 

Web Site: The Missing Element



Want to review or comment on this article?
Click here to login!


Need a FREE Reader Membership?
Click here for your Membership!





The Painted King Roosters by Hank LeGrand

Barn yards are usually safe to walk through, but you better keep a close eye on two sets of eyes glaring in the shadows... This is base on a real live event that happened to me...  
Featured BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members


Purity by Arthur Jackson

In rural Pennsylvania East meets West and Middle East, as three global forces collide in their pursuit of a ground breaking chemical formula...  
Featured BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members

Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.