AuthorsDen.com   Join Free! | Login    
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  Gerald Grantham, iPeter Ralph, iJames McClelland, iDonna Lynch, iKevin Weeks, iThomas Neviaser, iG. Roscoe, i

  Home > Action/Thriller > Articles Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

WR Potter

· + Follow Me
· Contact Me
· Articles
· News
· Blog
· 29 Titles
· 4 Reviews
· Save to My Library
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: Sep, 2009

WR Potter, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.




Featured Book
The Savvy Businessperson's Guide to Property & Casualty Insu
by Karin Fleischhaker-Griffin

An Insurance Reference for Everyone from a Businessperson to a Student or anyone who wishes to excel in the Insurance Industry. Knowledge is Power - The information in t..  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members



The Missing Element by John L. Betcher
by WR Potter   
Rated "G" by the Author.
Last edited: Wednesday, May 12, 2010
Posted: Sunday, May 02, 2010

  Print   Save    Follow    Share 

Recent articles by
WR Potter

Book Review: The 19th Element by John L. Betcher
Book Review: Wyndano's Cloak by A.R. Silverberry
Book Review: Paris, Moi and the Gang: A Memoir of Sorts by Fran Gendlin
Poison Reality: A Symphony of Bittersweet by Nedyne Shorts-Nettles
Book Review: Breakup-enduring divorce by Leo Averbach
Book Review: First Light: Selected Poems by Alberto Romero
Book Review: The Haunting of Andrew Sharpai
           >> View all

The Missing Element is the story of James “Beck” Becker and his wife Elizabeth, who have returned to Beck’s childhood home in Red Wing, Minnesota to enjoy retirement from their covert government jobs. Of course, life is anything but quiet with Beck around.


CreateSpace (March 8, 2010)
978-1451512717
294 pages

The Missing Element is the story of James “Beck” Becker and his wife Elizabeth, who have returned to Beck’s childhood home in Red Wing, Minnesota to enjoy retirement from their covert government jobs. Of course, life is anything but quiet with Beck around.

When Katherine Whitson, a Minneapolis computer genius, disappears under mysterious circumstances, her husband George calls the local police. After receiving no help from police, George then solicits a Red Wing acquaintance to convince Beck to help find Katherine.

Beginning at Katherine’s luxury apartment in the Minneapolis Warehouse District, Author John L. Betcher puts his protagonist through a labyrinth of red herrings. Beck’s investigation starts with George as the unfaithful husband, and then moves to his lover, to Katherine’s work colleagues, and on through the ranks of an influential computer company, and into the overwhelming world of computer microprocessors before he can begin to find answers.

To solve the mystery of why Katherine was kidnapped—and to save her—Beck must draw on his resources with the FBI and their computer experts, as well as the expertise of his wife Elizabeth, the former CIA agent.

Betcher leads us into the world of advanced computer technology and international espionage with this captivating suspense thriller. As we follow Beck on his quest to locate Katherine, we are introduced to several colorful characters. There is the Ottawa County Sheriff’s Deputy, Doug Gunderson, and his wife, Connie, who enlist Beck’s help. The brawn in this story is provided by the enigmatic Terry “Bull” Red Feather. Bull is drawn into the story when Beck requests his assistance in dealing with the nefarious characters who try to stand in his way.

The Missing Element is well-written, the plot is intriguing, and the characters are interesting. Betcher draws you in from page one and holds your interest to the very last. Unlike many recent novels, Betcher takes his time tying up the loose ends and concluding the story. This book is obviously the beginning of an exciting new series of suspense novels for Betcher. The Missing Element is recommended for those who love to curl up with an entertaining mystery/suspense novel. It offers a little something for everyone: lively characters, espionage and cyber-technology, and of course the mystery of who took Katherine Whitson and why. Fans of Parker, Grisham, and Clancy will enjoy this first installment in the James Becker series.

Reviewed by Deb L. Baker for Reader’s Choice Book Reviews

The author holds a Bachelor’s Degree, cum laude, in English from St. Olaf College in Northfield, Minnesota and a Juris Doctorate from the University of Minnesota Law School in Minneapolis. He has practiced law for more than twenty-five years in the Mississippi River community of Red Wing, Minnesota. He has also been a long-time supporter and coach of youth volleyball there.

 

http://www.johnbetcher.com

 

Web Site: The Missing Element



Want to review or comment on this article?
Click here to login!


Need a FREE Reader Membership?
Click here for your Membership!


Popular Action/Thriller Articles
  1. John Carradine and Me. What a Surprise.
  2. The History of the Vampire (Vampyre)
  3. Narcissists, Social Media, and Porn
  4. Sandra Bullock Goes Dog Crazy for Dogs wit
  5. Adolf Hitler speaks…and humanity answers
  6. A Beautiful Mind, book review
  7. Did 007 Sleep with Moneypenny? She tells a
  8. Hidden Impact book review
  9. Fog From A Sailor's Perspective
  10. Jewish Exponent Interview