Join Free! | Login    
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!


Featured Authors:  A. Colin Wright, ijd young, iJay Dubya, iDebby & Gordon Rosenberg, iKarin Fleischhaker-Griffin, iLonnie Hicks, iOralya Ueberroth, i

  Home > Fantasy > Articles Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Rebekah S Armusik

· + Follow Me
· Contact Me
· Books
· Articles
· 8 Titles
· 2 Reviews
· Save to My Library
· Share with Friends!
Member Since: Aug, 2010

Rebekah S Armusik, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.

Featured Book
Desert Dreams
by Gracie McKeever

"Old World Evil vs New Age Passion" ... A centuries old djinni betrayed...A modern career woman and wife bereft...Can this thoroughly mismatched couple find com..  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members

‘Gothic Memoirs’ not your average bloodsuckers
by Rebekah S Armusik   
Rated "PG13" by the Author.
Last edited: Sunday, May 13, 2012
Posted: Sunday, May 13, 2012

  Print   Save    Follow    Share 

Recent articles by
Rebekah S Armusik

Memoirs of a Gothic Soul Review - Gothic Beauty Magazine Issue #37
Review: Lucifer Rising by Rebekah Armusik
W-B Roots Inspre Author
Rebekah and Eric Armusik - Love Can Be Eternal
           >> View all

Review of Rebekah's Gothic Memoirs series and the release of Book 3: Lucifer Rising


2:45 am

Story Tools
PrintPrint | E-MailEMail | View Story As PDFPDF | SaveSave | Hear

What: “Lucifer Rising,” book 3 in the “Gothic Memoirs” series

Author: Rebekah Armusik

Publisher: Lady Noir

It’s no secret the supernatural has grabbed hold of society lately, with much of the focus falling on vampires. While Rebekah Armusik’s tales are laden with the bloodsuckers, labeling them as strictly “vampire fiction” would not be right.

“There’s nothing so trite and boring and formulaic about it,” Armusik said. “It’s not like anything you’ve ever read before.”

The Wilkes-Barre native, who now resides in Hamburg, is in the midst of a 13-book “Gothic Memoirs” series. The first two works, “Memoirs of a Gothic Soul” and “Mariposa,” have been out, with “Lucifer Rising” released this month and “Vlkolak King” coming out around Halloween.

The series focuses on Nadija, a college graduate who travels to Prague to research her Slavic ancestors. What she finds is a world of fallen angels, vampires and Guardians, a group of protectors whose bloodline goes back to Adam’s first wife, Lilith. Much to Nadija’s surprise, she’s actually a key component in such a world.

The rich story, much of which is based on Slavic folklore and Judeo-Christian mysticism, is a major draw for those willing to pay attention throughout. Not only that, but Armusik presents a character that anyone from Northeastern Pennsylvania could have easily gone to high school with or lived next door to. It makes sense, as Nadija is very much Armusik herself.

“I started writing the series when I was in school at King’s College and wanted it to be an autobiographical work about growing up in a Slavic home and the tales my grandmother would tell me,” Armusik said.

She soon realized she wanted to put a character into those stories, to actually live them. She not only modeled Nadija after herself but many of the characters and settings after those she experienced in Wilkes-Barre.

“The characters are all based on real people, so at one point some of those conversations actually happened. I think that’s why this series resonates with people, because they don’t see it as something contrived or manufactured.”

Whether readers are familiar with the area or not, Armusik said the emotion behind the events draws readers in.

“What do I have in common with the housewife, the 18-year-old kid?” she said. “The commonality of my book is that it’s about real feelings, real life, real emotions. Human experience is the glue that binds this whole story together. It’s about suffering, love, redemption; someone trying to find themselves in a time where it’s hard to define people at all.”

The “Gothic Memoirs” series will top out with 13 books but won’t stop there. Armusik plans to write an additional 13 books, set before the “Memoirs” collection, that will explain the story behind the major players and themes in “Memoirs,” such as Lilith and the angels. The series will conclude with four books that return to the “Memoirs” series, wrapping up with a total of 30 works.

© The Times Leader Newspaper 2012

Want to review or comment on this article?
Click here to login!

Need a FREE Reader Membership?
Click here for your Membership!

Popular Fantasy Articles
  1. All About Angels

The Third Peregrination by Edward Patterson

Book Two of The Jade Owl Legacy Series..  
BookAds by Silver, Gold and Platinum Members

The Mythical Emblems of Gragodon - Volume 5 by Venkataraman Gopalakrishnan

The realm of departed souls opens up mysteriously and a host of nether-world creatures make their appearance upon the world of mortal folk...  
BookAds by Silver, Gold and Platinum Members

Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us

Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.