AuthorsDen.com   Join | Login  

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  James Milward, iThomas Neviaser, icarlton davis, iKaylin kaylin@kaylinmcfarren.com, iDilip Dahanukar, iRoxanne Bland, iMichele Poague, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Stephanie S. Sawyer

· Become a Fan
· Contact me
· Success story
· Books
· Articles
· Poetry
· News
· Stories
· Blog
· Messages
· 26 Titles
· 110 Reviews
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: Nov, 2002

Stephanie S. Sawyer, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.


Featured Book
Fourteen Pieces of Gold
by Charlene Tess

A short story of mine was included in an anthology of short fiction by fourteen of Port Town Publishing Company's authors. It is out of print and no longer available exce..  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members










Blogs by Stephanie S. Sawyer

Difficult Christmas Season
12/18/2008 12:42:18 PM    [ Flag as Spam or Inappropriate ]

This is a difficult Christmas season for many...
Watching the news, being attentive to the world at large, and knowing the course of events in my own life, I can easily state that this is a difficult Christmas season for many. Those who would easily shop with generous hearts are now tightening their purses if they even still have a purse to hang onto with a lasting job. Many who took shopping for granted at Christmas as a pure delight are suddenly facing choices that may shake their pride and regular rituals of gift giving as the economy has plummeted and job loss prevails. I, for one, have had to draw back as I suddenly have had both cars maintenanced - heavy sigh - and have had other factors add to the already increased economic burden of only a part-time job.

Then suddenly I thought of Mary.

I hesitate right here and now to go so far as to write about Mary, but thoughts of her are exactly what pulled me out of my downward spiral. I considered her ever expanding womb in her betrothed state along with the lack of a home envinronmet for bringing a baby into the world. Mary had the utmost of loss of control that any woman can consider. Preparing to give birth to God's holy son with no home to call her own is a troubling state for such a pregnant being.

Mary gave birth in a stall, a stable, and laid her newborn son in a manger in a bed of hay amidst the cattle and sheep. And I am worried about not having enough gifts for those I would endow more!? For every mother out there: Think of the every increasing consideration to sanitation running through this society so prevalent.

At present, I am sitting in front of my monitor with a T-shirt stating "Christ is Christmas".......
Let the world (and me) get back to what all this gift giving truly is about, letting Jesus into our hearts.... thanking God for His wonderful gift in Jesus Christ, His Son, our savior. Then, we would not worry so much about the material - who gets what - for Christmas. We would go back to the true message of Christmas. A savior is born for us this day, and He has been born of Mary.


Comments (1)

More Blogs by Stephanie S. Sawyer
•  Difficult Christmas Season - Thursday, December 18, 2008  
• Death and a Closed Door - Saturday, November 22, 2008
• Happy News - Friday, October 10, 2008
• The Wisdom of Homelessness - Thursday, October 09, 2008
• Without Communication - Monday, September 15, 2008
• The Day After Ike - Sunday, September 14, 2008
• IKE affects TOMBALL, TX - Sunday, September 14, 2008
• AFter the Storm - Saturday, September 13, 2008
• Ike is headed toward me. - Friday, September 12, 2008
• Second Round - Saturday, September 06, 2008
• Fully Satisfied - Wednesday, September 03, 2008
• An Obstacle Too Big for Me - Saturday, August 23, 2008
• Completely Won Over - Sunday, August 10, 2008
• Life is Good in Tomball, Texas - Sunday, July 13, 2008
• Giving it away again - Wednesday, July 09, 2008
• Candid level experiences - Monday, May 05, 2008
• A New Found Freedom - Wednesday, April 16, 2008
• Truth and Honorable Course of Action - Saturday, March 29, 2008
• Determination - Monday, March 17, 2008
• I did it! - Sunday, March 09, 2008
• Old Main - Friday, February 15, 2008
• People to Count On - Sunday, February 10, 2008
• God bless Aunt Blanche! - Sunday, February 10, 2008
• Death at the Door Step - Friday, February 08, 2008
• Love is Stronger - Sunday, February 03, 2008
• It's God's Grace in My Message - Friday, February 01, 2008
• Sold Out! - Monday, January 07, 2008
• Public treatment of epilepsy - Thursday, January 03, 2008
• Defeat and disease conquered - Saturday, December 29, 2007
• Sunday School List - Sunday, December 23, 2007
• A gift of hope to everyone who reads it" - Sunday, December 16, 2007
• All I Want for Christmas - Friday, December 14, 2007
• Wisdom from a Homeless Man - Wednesday, December 12, 2007
• The Hard Way.... or Not - Wednesday, December 05, 2007
• Breaking Stereotypes - Saturday, December 01, 2007
• Tribute to my Husband - Tuesday, November 27, 2007
• the Scariest will Bless - Thursday, November 22, 2007
• Deep Marks on my Heart - Thursday, November 15, 2007
• my silence - Tuesday, November 13, 2007
• all wrapped up - Saturday, November 10, 2007
• Watch out where you go - Monday, October 29, 2007
• A True Winner - Thursday, October 18, 2007
• Stand Up! - Tuesday, October 16, 2007
• The Pew: an Imprint - Monday, October 15, 2007
• Goosebumps on the arms - Friday, October 05, 2007
• God's special touches - Tuesday, September 25, 2007
• No anxiety here - Wednesday, September 19, 2007
• Heritage - Sunday, September 16, 2007
• Only one thing to do - Monday, September 10, 2007
• Family Customs - Sunday, September 09, 2007
• A Split Focus - Tuesday, September 04, 2007
• Wonderful victories in my life - and a ring - Monday, August 20, 2007
• new book on the way... - Saturday, August 18, 2007


Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.