AuthorsDen.com   Join Free! | Login    
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  Ron Cox, iGeorge Carroll, iOdyssia Learning, iRichard Harris, iSophie Davis, iMark Seltman, iPatrick Granfors, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Jean Sheldon

· + Follow Me
· Contact Me
· Books
· Poetry
· News
· Stories
· Blog
· 9 Titles
· 13 Reviews
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: May, 2007

Jean Sheldon, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.







Blogs by Jean Sheldon

Go Complacently into the Night
7/26/2007 6:16:41 AM    [ Flag as Inappropriate ]

I have a 1991 Honda. Yes, this is 2007, but my little car has served me well. I’ll admit, she is beginning to look her age, and the desert sun has altered her color and removed the glossy shine we lovingly buffed. She is also beginning to act her age, I’m afraid, but it’s not easy to end a relationship that old.

Last week, my little car and I went to the gas station for a fill up. We pulled in front of a pump as a Hummer pulled out. He must have been there for a while because the meter read $80. 'Yikes!' I thought. 'If I had just spent $80 on gasoline, I would have been on my knees, beating the pavement with my fists in protest to the evil gasoline gods.' I don’t think I need name them.

Even as gas prices rise, and the news of our quickly dissolving environment grows worse, I see more of these armored vehicles on the road. Why would a person buy a vehicle that is so destructive? Why would a manufacturer make such a vehicle and advertise it as something wonderful? Silly Jean, ‘the bottom line’ of course.

People think they look pretty cool driving those things. I think they look silly. Although I have noticed a few stares at my aged car and I. Car manufacturers like to make money. Lot’s and lot’s of money. The same mentality that sells a Hummer sells a war to keep those babies running and that’s downright scary.

Complaining about anything these days somehow equates to being unpatriotic. The people who control the price of gasoline control the price of everything affected by it. It's getting more difficult to afford groceries because prices have risen with gas prices. Groceries, however, never go back down when the price of gas goes down, and that’s true of all other consumer goods. We’re not supposed to be upset.

Someday soon, I suspect I’ll simply lose it. I’ll stand at a gas pump and my heart will try to keep up with the flipping of those little numbers as I fill the tank. I’ll fall to my knees screaming and beat the pavement with my fists until someone calls 911 to stop me. They’ll probably send one of the new ambulances from the cities fleet of Hummers.


Post a Comment

More Blogs by Jean Sheldon
•  Go Complacently into the Night - Thursday, July 26, 2007  
• An Uncommon Magpie born on the Common - Thursday, July 26, 2007
• Responsibility - Tuesday, July 24, 2007
• Reality Check - Sunday, July 22, 2007
• Priorities - Thursday, July 19, 2007
• Selling Yourself—Selling Your Books - Monday, July 16, 2007
• Okay, call me a Hypocrite - Sunday, July 15, 2007
• You Find Life When You Live It - Saturday, July 14, 2007
• Make some Room for the Rest of Us - Thursday, July 12, 2007
• Ego - Wednesday, July 11, 2007
• How do you Stay Calm in the Chaos? - Monday, July 09, 2007
• Twilight Zoned - Sunday, July 08, 2007
• Take Two Books and Call me in the Morning - Thursday, July 05, 2007
• Survival of the Considerate - Monday, July 02, 2007
• Listless on the DorothyL Listserve - Thursday, June 28, 2007
• Which way do you think our feet are facing? - Wednesday, June 27, 2007
• Always - Monday, June 25, 2007
• Upstaged by a Pigeon - Saturday, June 23, 2007
• Me and Julio Down by the Schoolyard - Friday, June 22, 2007
• The Boundaries we call Safe - Monday, June 18, 2007
• Only You Know What you Want to Achieve - Friday, June 15, 2007
• Buy my book—too subtle? - Monday, June 11, 2007
• The Great Albuquerque Mouse Tragedy - Sunday, June 10, 2007
• When are you the Most Creative? - Thursday, June 07, 2007
• I Love My Socks - Thursday, June 07, 2007
• One Man’s Peace is Another Man’s War - Tuesday, June 05, 2007
• Writer’s Block—you have the right to remain silent - Saturday, June 02, 2007
• Creating can be Scary - Wednesday, May 30, 2007
• If you can’t say something nice…say something - Monday, May 28, 2007
• How far do you go? - Thursday, May 24, 2007
• Sociably Shy - Wednesday, May 23, 2007
• Grist for the idea mill - Monday, May 21, 2007
• A Sense of Community - Wednesday, May 16, 2007
• Some Thoughts on Self-publishing - Monday, May 14, 2007


Dragon Rider's Gift - A Portal's of Destiny Tale by KH LeMoyne

Adult Fantasy Romance - One dragon, one rider, and princess bound by destiny...  
Featured BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members



Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.