AuthorsDen.com   Join Free! | Login    
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  Jeff Mason, iBelle Ami, iDenise Nowakowski, iKim Glassman, iElizabeth Weeks-Rowe, iReverend Dr. Linda De Coff, iKathy L Wheeler / Kae Elle Wheeler, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Stephanie S. Sawyer

· + Follow Me
· Contact Me
· Success story
· Books
· Articles
· Poetry
· News
· Stories
· Blog
· Messages
· 26 Titles
· 110 Reviews
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: Nov, 2002

Stephanie S. Sawyer, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.







Blogs by Stephanie S. Sawyer

The Pew: an Imprint
10/15/2007 10:40:40 AM

The character of a congregation plays itself out before the church service.
What would Jesus say about various church members insisting on sitting in 'their spot', preferential places in the congregation, week after week for every event in the church calendar? The partiality has gone so far as to cause gossip and disdain to other members who unknowingly sit in the reserved-by-member pew. Such is the case with my local church, and I have had it with the partiality, quite the opposite of the reason I go to church.

There seems to be among several of the front pews an observance of "This is So and So's spot." On numerous occasions, I have entered the church a few minutes in advance for quiet meditation, only to hear myself gossiped about a few minutes with hushed gawks because So and So did not get "My seat". The gossip continues with noises of the tongue and eye stares.

I am not one to play games so I stay where I am attempting to ignore this ridiculing partiality. Yet, the spirit of the congregation is evident. "What's mine is mine, and don't get near it."

What would Jesus say to this?

He would tell me to forgive.

I go to church to pray, to worship God, to learn more about Him, and hopefully, to be in a community of believers where I can further live out my Christian convictions. I believe we are meant to be a part of each other's lives deeply connected with each other as family in Christ.

Partiality does not lend itself to that.
Prefering each other does.

Service is something I feel strongly about. It's time I look for a congregation that also values that core commitment.


Post a Comment

More Blogs by Stephanie S. Sawyer
• Difficult Christmas Season - Thursday, December 18, 2008
• Death and a Closed Door - Saturday, November 22, 2008
• Happy News - Friday, October 10, 2008
• The Wisdom of Homelessness - Thursday, October 09, 2008
• Without Communication - Monday, September 15, 2008
• The Day After Ike - Sunday, September 14, 2008
• IKE affects TOMBALL, TX - Sunday, September 14, 2008
• AFter the Storm - Saturday, September 13, 2008
• Ike is headed toward me. - Friday, September 12, 2008
• Second Round - Saturday, September 06, 2008
• Fully Satisfied - Wednesday, September 03, 2008
• An Obstacle Too Big for Me - Saturday, August 23, 2008
• Completely Won Over - Sunday, August 10, 2008
• Life is Good in Tomball, Texas - Sunday, July 13, 2008
• Giving it away again - Wednesday, July 09, 2008
• Candid level experiences - Monday, May 05, 2008
• A New Found Freedom - Wednesday, April 16, 2008
• Truth and Honorable Course of Action - Saturday, March 29, 2008
• Determination - Monday, March 17, 2008
• I did it! - Sunday, March 09, 2008
• Old Main - Friday, February 15, 2008
• People to Count On - Sunday, February 10, 2008
• God bless Aunt Blanche! - Sunday, February 10, 2008
• Death at the Door Step - Friday, February 08, 2008
• Love is Stronger - Sunday, February 03, 2008
• It's God's Grace in My Message - Friday, February 01, 2008
• Sold Out! - Monday, January 07, 2008
• Public treatment of epilepsy - Thursday, January 03, 2008
• Defeat and disease conquered - Saturday, December 29, 2007
• Sunday School List - Sunday, December 23, 2007
• A gift of hope to everyone who reads it" - Sunday, December 16, 2007
• All I Want for Christmas - Friday, December 14, 2007
• Wisdom from a Homeless Man - Wednesday, December 12, 2007
• The Hard Way.... or Not - Wednesday, December 05, 2007
• Breaking Stereotypes - Saturday, December 01, 2007
• Tribute to my Husband - Tuesday, November 27, 2007
• the Scariest will Bless - Thursday, November 22, 2007
• Deep Marks on my Heart - Thursday, November 15, 2007
• my silence - Tuesday, November 13, 2007
• all wrapped up - Saturday, November 10, 2007
• Watch out where you go - Monday, October 29, 2007
• A True Winner - Thursday, October 18, 2007
• Stand Up! - Tuesday, October 16, 2007
•  The Pew: an Imprint - Monday, October 15, 2007  

• Goosebumps on the arms - Friday, October 05, 2007
• God's special touches - Tuesday, September 25, 2007
• No anxiety here - Wednesday, September 19, 2007
• Heritage - Sunday, September 16, 2007
• Only one thing to do - Monday, September 10, 2007
• Family Customs - Sunday, September 09, 2007
• A Split Focus - Tuesday, September 04, 2007
• Wonderful victories in my life - and a ring - Monday, August 20, 2007
• new book on the way... - Saturday, August 18, 2007


Take Me Now by Nancy Jardine

A fun contemporary romantic mystery based at a Scottish island castle from where Aela and Nairn travel to fabulous world destinations...  
Featured BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members



Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.