AuthorsDen.com   Join (Free!) | Login  

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  Stephen Cafaro, iGayle Martin, iRita Hestand, iElisabeth Barstowe, iMel Hathorn, iGreg Pendleton, iKevin Weeks, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Jim Bondy

· Become a Fan
· Contact me
· Books
· Blog
· 1 Titles
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: Dec, 2009

Jim Bondy, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.


Featured Book
Trading Faces
by Ann Herrick

An "Ugly Betty" and a Popular Beauty wind up trading faces—and lives—and the situation is not what either one expected! When 15-year-old Darcy Doane wakes up as..  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members










Blogs by Jim Bondy

Excerpt from my book Friday on the Trail
3/28/2010 3:09:50 PM
“Hey do you guys want to save a lot of climbing?” Jeff queried. “Look over there… looks like a bridge or something.”
“You know that would really save our legs. Lets go take a look at it. What do you think Kim?” I said.
“Hey I’m all for that,” Kim replied.
So off we went. It was around a half kilometer away through some pretty rough topography. We had to make our own path through the brush, but it was a lot better that the long trek down to the rushing river, then spanning it and climbing our way back up the other side. When we got to the trestle there were signs warning us to not trespass, but the temptation was overwhelming. There were workers from the train company doing some repairs near the beginning of the traverse. We asked them if they knew that there would be a train coming soon. This darn thing was narrow. It was only wide enough for the tracks and about a foot on each side… and that was it! There would be nowhere to go except down.
“No no. Don’t worry. Won’t no train be on dis trak today. Go head don’ worry,” A couple of them chanted.
Wow this was great. No possibility of trains and a great shortcut to boot. We commenced going across the bridge. Life is good. Then the ground disappeared from under the tracks. We had to leap from railroad tie to railroad tie for the whole length of the chasm. If we misjudged, it looked like a person could probably fall through between the ties. Kim and I were not the greatest with unsafe heights and were drawing from our full concentration trying to keep our composure. The void was probably about 20 stories deep with a hastily speeding river at its base, to help amplify the phobic dilemma.
“Oh my god… Oh crap… Oh… Oh boy… Oh boy.” Every vault to each rung was an adventure. Our hearts were racing. Our adrenalin flowing. Suddenly, Kim and I heard what seemed to be a train whistle when we were half way across…

Jim Bondy
Author of Friday on the Trail
A book about our backpacking adventures in Ontario Canada
http://jimbondy.webs.com
effexus3.yahoo.com


Post a Comment

More Blogs by Jim Bondy
• Finally the Wedding - Thursday, October 20, 2011
• My New Fantasy Adventure Book - Saturday, October 08, 2011
• More Crazy Jimmy - Thursday, May 19, 2011
• Crazy Jimmy - Friday, May 13, 2011
• Crazy Movie - Tuesday, May 03, 2011
• hypothermia - Wednesday, March 23, 2011
• The bully - Tuesday, March 15, 2011
• New Publisher - Sunday, March 13, 2011
• Canadian Publisher - Monday, February 07, 2011
• Blast Off - Wednesday, November 10, 2010
• Count down - Wednesday, November 03, 2010
• Book Signing at Indigo - Thursday, October 21, 2010
• Cheese it! The cops! - Sunday, October 10, 2010
• First Autograph - Friday, October 01, 2010
• About some of the characters in my book: Friday on the Trail - Monday, September 13, 2010
• Why I bought the weird tent - Tuesday, September 07, 2010
• Social Networking - Sunday, August 29, 2010
• Friday on the Trail - Saturday, August 21, 2010
• The Perching Skull - Monday, August 16, 2010
• I was saved from YouTube - Monday, August 09, 2010
• Lost at Mono Cliffs (Final) - Friday, July 30, 2010
• Mono Cliffs (Continuation) - Tuesday, July 06, 2010
• Lost at Mono Cliffs - Monday, June 28, 2010
• Mono Cliffs walkabout - Monday, June 21, 2010
• Blustery Point - Tuesday, May 11, 2010
• Medieval Times - Thursday, April 29, 2010
• Grand Bend continuation - Monday, April 12, 2010
• Grand Bend Trip - Tuesday, April 06, 2010
•  Excerpt from my book Friday on the Trail - Sunday, March 28, 2010  
• Healthy Habits for Adventure - Tuesday, March 23, 2010
• Kids Backpacking - Friday, March 12, 2010
• Workin" Out - Friday, March 05, 2010
• Bushwhacking - Sunday, February 28, 2010
• Mentor - Friday, February 19, 2010
• Backpacking with Super Bowl - Saturday, February 13, 2010
• Short story contest in Toronto - Monday, February 08, 2010
• Spring's here soon. Get your pack ready - Thursday, February 04, 2010
• Favorite Music - Saturday, January 30, 2010
• Play the game - Wednesday, January 27, 2010
• My Book in the Libraries - Saturday, January 23, 2010
• Friday on the Trail - Tuesday, January 12, 2010


Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.