AuthorsDen.com   Join (Free!) | Login  

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  J.S. Bradford, iBeverly Mahone, iAnthony Dalton, iSteven Ulmen, iKevin Weeks, iSophie Davis, iC Schutter, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Jim Bondy

· Become a Fan
· Contact me
· Books
· Blog
· 1 Titles
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: Dec, 2009

Jim Bondy, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.


Featured Book
Bluff (Hardcover Edition)
by John DeDakis

Lark Chadwick is back in the sequel to Fast Track..  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members










Blogs by Jim Bondy

Medieval Times
4/29/2010 4:00:20 PM
Went to Jeffery’s last weekend and had the most wonderful time. The twins were just too cute and Matt was there and beaming. We hadn’t seen him in a while, so it was a big treat for all of us. The best thing about growing old is our grandsons. Bedtime came for Josh & Caleb so Jeff, Matt and I started discussing our next backpacking trip in May with Kim. Now since Jeff is from the Niagara area and we’re from the Windsor area, we were thinking of meeting just North of Toronto and taking one vehicle up highway 10 to our destination. We figured that it would save us some time but there is one small problem. For us to meet at this area Kim and I would have to leave home at around 3:00 AM to meet Jeff at 7:00 AM then drive for a couple of hours then hike for about 8 more. Now the key phrase here is ‘to leave home around 3:00 AM’. This means getting up at 2 and making a long, hard, deadening day. None of this makes any sense. What we will do is go to Jeffs’ on Friday night and leave from there at 6:30AM…Much better. Matt’s 12 years old and will join us on a special trek this summer during his vacation. He’s pretty excited.
Anyway Pam, Jeff and myself brought Matt to Medieval Times. Jayne had tickets too but got sick on the day of the show and couldn’t make it. We tried to sell her ticket at half price at the door but it seemed like everyone purchased them online…like ourselves. Medieval Times is the dinner theatre that’s the end all of dinner theatres. You are in a coliseum with long banquet tables all around. In the center you are in the midst of the King Arthur days. Knights have several challenges with jousting competitions, sword fighting, all of the medieval weapons are used. You wonder how no one gets hurt, as they violently have their gladiator-like skirmishes. You place yourself in the setting of this olden time. All of this is done while you gorge yourself with a fantastic dinner that starts with garlic bread and dragon soup. Next the half chicken comes with baked potato and ribs dripping in rib sauce. Did I mention that there is no cutlery? Oh…there’s no cutlery. You eat with your hands, while you cheer on your favorite knight…waving your huge chicken leg. Coffee and dessert follow. You can have drinks from the bar if you want.
You feel like you’re back in time. The crashing of the mace on the shield makes you jump. The actors are well practiced and convincing. Matts’ eyes grew like copper pennies as the ball and chain flung across and caught the knights sword. Being the perfect age was to his advantage. He will not soon forget the show this time. The exhibition was exhilarating and the story line was easy to follow. You will find a plethora of souvenirs that mostly are reasonably priced. Matt recommends this place as do I and Pam and Jeff.
Jim Bondy
Author of: Friday on the Trail
A book about our backpacking adventures in Ontario Canada
http://jimbondy.webs.com
effexus3.yahoo.com


Post a Comment

More Blogs by Jim Bondy
• Finally the Wedding - Thursday, October 20, 2011
• My New Fantasy Adventure Book - Saturday, October 08, 2011
• More Crazy Jimmy - Thursday, May 19, 2011
• Crazy Jimmy - Friday, May 13, 2011
• Crazy Movie - Tuesday, May 03, 2011
• hypothermia - Wednesday, March 23, 2011
• The bully - Tuesday, March 15, 2011
• New Publisher - Sunday, March 13, 2011
• Canadian Publisher - Monday, February 07, 2011
• Blast Off - Wednesday, November 10, 2010
• Count down - Wednesday, November 03, 2010
• Book Signing at Indigo - Thursday, October 21, 2010
• Cheese it! The cops! - Sunday, October 10, 2010
• First Autograph - Friday, October 01, 2010
• About some of the characters in my book: Friday on the Trail - Monday, September 13, 2010
• Why I bought the weird tent - Tuesday, September 07, 2010
• Social Networking - Sunday, August 29, 2010
• Friday on the Trail - Saturday, August 21, 2010
• The Perching Skull - Monday, August 16, 2010
• I was saved from YouTube - Monday, August 09, 2010
• Lost at Mono Cliffs (Final) - Friday, July 30, 2010
• Mono Cliffs (Continuation) - Tuesday, July 06, 2010
• Lost at Mono Cliffs - Monday, June 28, 2010
• Mono Cliffs walkabout - Monday, June 21, 2010
• Blustery Point - Tuesday, May 11, 2010
•  Medieval Times - Thursday, April 29, 2010  
• Grand Bend continuation - Monday, April 12, 2010
• Grand Bend Trip - Tuesday, April 06, 2010
• Excerpt from my book Friday on the Trail - Sunday, March 28, 2010
• Healthy Habits for Adventure - Tuesday, March 23, 2010
• Kids Backpacking - Friday, March 12, 2010
• Workin" Out - Friday, March 05, 2010
• Bushwhacking - Sunday, February 28, 2010
• Mentor - Friday, February 19, 2010
• Backpacking with Super Bowl - Saturday, February 13, 2010
• Short story contest in Toronto - Monday, February 08, 2010
• Spring's here soon. Get your pack ready - Thursday, February 04, 2010
• Favorite Music - Saturday, January 30, 2010
• Play the game - Wednesday, January 27, 2010
• My Book in the Libraries - Saturday, January 23, 2010
• Friday on the Trail - Tuesday, January 12, 2010


Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.