AuthorsDen.com   Join Free! | Login  

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  William Wright, iDavid Page, iFumiko Takahashi, iD. Wayne Dworsky, iRM DAmato, iKaren Dunn, iOdin Roark, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Jennie Marsland

· Become a Fan
· Contact me
· Books
· Poetry
· News
· Stories
· Blog
· 6 Titles
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: Mar, 2010

Jennie Marsland, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.


Featured Book
Web Craze
by Ron Cox

A teenage Internet hacker puts a computer virus on the Internet with the intention to destroy hard drives. Instead, it somehow comes alive in the vast expanse of cybe..  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members










Blogs by Jennie Marsland

Tragedy in Romance
7/25/2010 9:47:32 AM    [ Flag as Spam or Inappropriate ]

Blog Post from jenniemarsland.blogspot.com



Iím only on Chapter 3 in Shattered, and Iím already dreading the inevitable: Someone has got to die. But how many, and who?

My characters live in St. Josephís Parish in Halifaxís North End, right in the middle of Richmond, the area hardest hit by the Explosion. St. Josephís lost 400 parishioners that day, roughly half its membership, not to mention the church itself. It wasnít rebuilt for forty years. Not only would it be unrealistic to have every one of my characters miraculously survive, Iíd feel somehow disrespectful to all the real folks who didnít.

But who to kill? Not my hero or heroine. That isnít the kind of book I want to write. Nolan, Liamís older brother, with his black Irish good looks and deep love for his family? Nolanís a harbour pilot, so he would have been out on the water that morning, right in the path of danger. His wife, Annie, with her easy smile? Their children, Drew and Emily? There were plenty of children lost, one only six days old. Then thereís Aliceís family, the OíNeills. What about Georgie, with her zest for life, or Carl, her troubled brother? He would be an easy choice, but why go with the easy choice?

You see my dilemma. One of the main reasons I read romance is the HEA, but the background of this story is all tragedy. That can make for some powerful, wrenching scenes, but it has to be balanced with a measure of hope at the end. No Cold Mountain for me! I know Iíll cry when I do the awful deed. I can only hope I do it well enough to make readers cry, too.

How do you feel about tragedy in romance?



Post a Comment

More Blogs by Jennie Marsland
• Music is the food of love - Monday, February 14, 2011
• This Weird and Wonderful Language - Friday, January 21, 2011
• News Flash! - Thursday, January 13, 2011
• New Year's Musings - Monday, January 03, 2011
• McShannon's Heart Holiday Contest - Friday, December 17, 2010
• McShannon's Heart is Available! - Wednesday, December 15, 2010
• Dialogue and Layering and Stuff - Wednesday, October 27, 2010
• Folk Friday - Wild Women and Inspiration - Sunday, October 24, 2010
• Fall Flavours - Tuesday, September 28, 2010
• Folk Friday and thoughts on Canine Grammar - Sunday, September 26, 2010
• A Few Days Out of Time - Thursday, September 02, 2010
• Some Thoughts on Dialogue - Tuesday, August 10, 2010
• Folk Friday #2 - Friday, July 30, 2010
•  Tragedy in Romance - Sunday, July 25, 2010  
• A shattered City - Wednesday, July 21, 2010
• Folk Friday #1 - Friday, July 09, 2010
• McShannon's Heart Update - Tuesday, July 06, 2010
• A Different Flavour - Thursday, July 01, 2010
• Echo's Excellent Adventure - Monday, June 21, 2010
• Summertime, and the livin' is easy - Friday, June 11, 2010
• A Visit with Trey McShannon - Thursday, June 10, 2010
• A Musical Push - Tuesday, June 08, 2010
• Review: Naked Edge by Pamela Clare - Friday, May 28, 2010
• Words and Music - Thursday, May 20, 2010
• Revisions, revisions - Wednesday, May 12, 2010
• Review: Highland Rebel by Judith James - Thursday, May 06, 2010
• What's In a Name? - Friday, April 30, 2010
• My Take on Description 2: Setting - Sunday, April 25, 2010
• MyTake on Character Description - Saturday, April 24, 2010
• Contest Time! - Saturday, April 24, 2010
• A Family Divided - Saturday, April 24, 2010
• Second Book Syndrome - Saturday, April 24, 2010


Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.