AuthorsDen.com   Join (Free!) | Login  

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  Richard Hardie, iSteven Ulmen, iKathleen Morris, iFrances Seymour, iWilliam Pusey, iIan Thorpe, iGary Rodriguez, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Linda Watson

· Become a Fan
· Contact me
· Sponsor Me!
· Books
· Articles
· Poetry
· News
· Blog
· 21 Titles
· 20 Reviews
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: Apr, 2010

Linda Watson, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.


Featured Book
The Handyman's Guide To Profit
by Bill Benitez

With unemployment and foreclosures still at record levels, operating a one-person handyman business is an attractive opportunity. The Handymanís Guide To Profit contains ..  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members










Blogs by Linda Watson

Low Arvie Ladies on the loose!
7/1/2010 9:50:50 PM
An exciting event occurred here at Low Arvie last night! On Tuesday Richard had moved the Ladies and their calves into the silage fields for a couple of days to eat the standing grass around the edges. Yesterday he opened the gates for them to find their way back to Eastside to let the mown grass grow for a week or two before moving them permanently.

Thursday night is our weeklly date with Graham for a meal at Pringles pub (both books) and when we had eaten I left the men there to yarn about farming and I came home to bath and bed to relax in front of the television. Richard was to walk home later.

I had just got nicely settled after a leaisurely hot bath, in my comfy bed, nice clean sheets, good book and a few good TV progammes, when I heard the Ladies bellowing. 'Oh, I thought, 'that's the Ladies back.' But I wasn't concerned as all the appropriate gates were open and they would find their way through to the lush grass in Eastside. I continued watching and reading.

About ten minutes later, I became aware that the bellowing had increased and idly wondered why. I got up and looked out of the window to see two Ladies wandering around the garden and, running to the bathroom, I saw another three walking about the farm yard. With the gate to the driveway and the road open, I had to get out there fast before they decided to investigate any further. No time to dress, so in my nighty and wellies, I ran out of the door and met Beauty just coming round the corner of the house from her wander in the garden. I'm glad it was her because she is so intelligent and just needs a word to send her in the right direction back to the field gate which Richard had forgotten to close, when he had opened all the others. I ran and closed the drive gate. Now at least they were confined on the farm and I prayed that no one had already made their way down to the road.

I continued on to the old byre where I found six Ladies munching away at our emergency bale of hay and two others mooching round the trailers and, of course, dropping large deposits everywhere. I had to work my way round to the back of the shed, not easy in the confined space to push past eight large cows, but I managed it and then tried to 'persuade' them to leave the hay and go back to the others who, happily had followed Beauty back to their correct side of the gate. I shouted at them and flapped my arms and urged them out of the byre. But they just stood looking at me and munching away. My feeble strength was as nothing as I vainly plied all my weight to the nearest back end, slipping and sliding in cow poo, and I'm afraid the £40 hay bale got pretty well demolished before they decided to comply with my wishes.

However, they did take pity on me in the end and meandered back to the gate and I was able to close it behind them and go back to bed!

Take care,

Lxx

PS. Forgot to say that its back to Warwick tomorrow (see previous blogs and LwtLoLA) and a reacquaintance with Tabitha and Michael. Let's see where did I leave them three weeks ago. Oh, yes, she's decided not to go but has just gone to say goodbye, he's sitting in the van with the engine running. Wonder how many chapters I'll get done next week!

Lxx







Post a Comment

More Blogs by Linda Watson
• Low Arvie winter returns - Sunday, January 09, 2011
• Low Arvie news - Thursday, December 23, 2010
• Low Arvie woes! - Sunday, December 12, 2010
• Low Arvie winter - Sunday, December 05, 2010
• Low Arvie interview - Monday, November 29, 2010
• Low Arvie on the radio - Saturday, November 27, 2010
• Low Arvie in bookstore - Monday, November 22, 2010
• Low Arvie winter work - Sunday, November 21, 2010
• Low Arvie winter preparations - Saturday, November 13, 2010
• Low Arvie calving report - Saturday, November 06, 2010
• Low Arvie first! - Monday, November 01, 2010
• New Low Arvie website - Wednesday, October 27, 2010
• Low Arvie woes - Sunday, October 17, 2010
• A sad week at Low Arvie - Monday, October 11, 2010
• Low, Arvie, Americans and the Ryder Cup! - Sunday, October 03, 2010
• `Low Arvie update - Wednesday, September 22, 2010
• No swallows at Low Arvie - Monday, September 13, 2010
• New arrivals at Low Arvie - Tuesday, September 07, 2010
• New Low Arvie website - Sunday, September 05, 2010
• Low Arvie silage - Done! - Wednesday, September 01, 2010
• Low Arvie -Smashwords news! - Sunday, August 29, 2010
• Low Arvie -Smashwords news! - Sunday, August 29, 2010
• 'The Ladies' updcate - Friday, August 27, 2010
• The Ladies - Authonomy comments - Saturday, August 21, 2010
• Low Arvie 'boy' racer! - Thursday, August 19, 2010
• Low Arvie and the 'thrill' of free publicity - Wednesday, August 11, 2010
• Back at Low Arvie - Tuesday, August 10, 2010
• Sad time at Low Arvie - Thursday, August 05, 2010
• New Low Arvie blog - Sunday, August 01, 2010
• Low Arvie -emarketing - Wednesday, July 28, 2010
• Low Arvie news - Monday, July 26, 2010
• Low Arvie Video - Friday, July 23, 2010
• Low Arvie Rainmaker! - Monday, July 19, 2010
• Low Arvie feature - Tuesday, July 13, 2010
• Back to Low Arvie - Friday, July 09, 2010
• Poor Tabitha - Tuesday, July 06, 2010
• Happy 4th July! - Saturday, July 03, 2010
•  Low Arvie Ladies on the loose! - Thursday, July 01, 2010  
• Low Arvie - a new skill? - Monday, June 28, 2010
• Bring back the rain! - Sunday, June 27, 2010
• Friday again at Low Arvie! - Thursday, June 24, 2010
• Drama at Low Arvie - Tuesday, June 22, 2010
• Low Arvie news - Tuesday, June 22, 2010
• A new Lady of Low Arvie - Saturday, June 19, 2010
• Low Arvie worries - Thursday, June 17, 2010
• Low Arvie Nature News - Tuesday, June 15, 2010
•  Low Arvie News - Monday, June 14, 2010
• Low Arvie welcomes new arrivals - Thursday, June 10, 2010
• Linda's wedding yesterday - Sunday, June 06, 2010
• Warwick and Low Arvie - two exciting events! - Saturday, June 05, 2010
• Little Bo Richard! - Thursday, June 03, 2010
• Botox and Low Arvie update - Tuesday, June 01, 2010
• A wonderful Friday in SW Scotland! - Friday, May 28, 2010
• Summer in Galloway - Monday, May 24, 2010
• Back at Low Arvie - Saturday, May 22, 2010
• More reviews - Friday, May 21, 2010
• More Reviews - Wednesday, May 19, 2010
• Spots - Wednesday, May 19, 2010
• Procrastination - Monday, May 17, 2010
• Good news and bad news - Sunday, May 16, 2010
• Verdict! - Sunday, May 16, 2010
• Life part 2 - Saturday, May 15, 2010
• A new outlet - Thursday, May 13, 2010
• Frosty weather, migraine and Arizona - Thursday, May 13, 2010
• Happy Day! - Wednesday, May 12, 2010
• Goodbye and good riddance to Mandelson!! - Tuesday, May 11, 2010
• Bliss! - Monday, May 10, 2010
• Sunday in Scotland - Saturday, May 08, 2010
• Low Arvie - Friday, May 07, 2010
• Low Arvie - Wednesday, April 28, 2010


Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.