AuthorsDen.com   Join (Free!) | Login  

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  WhiteWolfSpiritBear, iHenry Miranda, iKate Saundby, iCheryl Sellers, iGerald Grantham, iBob Meade, iScott Knutson, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Linda Watson

· Become a Fan
· Contact me
· Sponsor Me!
· Books
· Articles
· Poetry
· News
· Blog
· 21 Titles
· 20 Reviews
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: Apr, 2010

Linda Watson, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.


Featured Book
Scent of a Mystery...A Citrus Beach Mystery
by Victoria Williams

Hurricanes, Mystery Men, Smuggling and Kidnapping; Megan and Barney face it all in book 2 of this cozy mystery series...  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members










Blogs by Linda Watson

Low Arvie first!
11/1/2010 11:43:06 PM
Hi

Just when I thought we had seen it all here at Low Arvie, we have another 'first'!

Yesterday R went out to tag the newest calf - Zinnia's new daughter Lady Zola - and he wasn't careful about where he caught the calf to put the tag in - right next to one of the most boggy places in the field. Zinnia is our oldest cow (14 years) and she had just calved the previous day. She came over to see what he was doing and waded up to her belly in the peat bog and became firmly stuck. What to do about that? We rang a friend who has a crane and a winch but couldn't get hold of him and so in desperation I rang the Fire Brigade. (I had heard Morgan tell stories of going to release animals.)

Well, within ten minutes we had the New Galloway fire engine and five hefty young men and one very pretty young lady here. They immediately began to make preparations to go down and help poor Zinnia and I began to feel that with such muscle power she would soon be free. Imagine my surprise when five minutes later the Castle Douglas fire engine with four more powerful men and two pretty girls arrived. Now we had twelve helpers! Three minutes later the Dumfries rescue appliance arrived with four more firemen aboard and finally a car with blue lights flashing drove into the yard - this was the big boss! Seventeen firemen at Low Arvie within twenty minutes of our call and us living out here 10 miles from New Galloway, twelve miles from Castle Douglas and sixteen miles from Dumfries! and all for Zinnia. Ten minutes later our friend arrived with his ropes and slings and they all trooped off down to the bog.

It's no surprise that with so many helpers Zinnia was soon free - a bit lame and very muddy and off she hobbled unconcernedly with her calf following behind leaving some peat covered humans to clear up.

Throughout the whole operation, she had been the least worried of them all and had just remained calmly stuck until they had freed her.

My problem then was to find enough cups and to boil enough water to make the rewarding cup of tea for all our helpers! But what could have been a disaster, turned out to be a very interesting morning at Low Arvie with a happy outcome for all concerned!

Picture will be on my website blog as soon as I have had time to upload it - www.low-arvie.co.uk.

Take care,

Lxx



Post a Comment

More Blogs by Linda Watson
• Low Arvie winter returns - Sunday, January 09, 2011
• Low Arvie news - Thursday, December 23, 2010
• Low Arvie woes! - Sunday, December 12, 2010
• Low Arvie winter - Sunday, December 05, 2010
• Low Arvie interview - Monday, November 29, 2010
• Low Arvie on the radio - Saturday, November 27, 2010
• Low Arvie in bookstore - Monday, November 22, 2010
• Low Arvie winter work - Sunday, November 21, 2010
• Low Arvie winter preparations - Saturday, November 13, 2010
• Low Arvie calving report - Saturday, November 06, 2010
•  Low Arvie first! - Monday, November 01, 2010  
• New Low Arvie website - Wednesday, October 27, 2010
• Low Arvie woes - Sunday, October 17, 2010
• A sad week at Low Arvie - Monday, October 11, 2010
• Low, Arvie, Americans and the Ryder Cup! - Sunday, October 03, 2010
• `Low Arvie update - Wednesday, September 22, 2010
• No swallows at Low Arvie - Monday, September 13, 2010
• New arrivals at Low Arvie - Tuesday, September 07, 2010
• New Low Arvie website - Sunday, September 05, 2010
• Low Arvie silage - Done! - Wednesday, September 01, 2010
• Low Arvie -Smashwords news! - Sunday, August 29, 2010
• Low Arvie -Smashwords news! - Sunday, August 29, 2010
• 'The Ladies' updcate - Friday, August 27, 2010
• The Ladies - Authonomy comments - Saturday, August 21, 2010
• Low Arvie 'boy' racer! - Thursday, August 19, 2010
• Low Arvie and the 'thrill' of free publicity - Wednesday, August 11, 2010
• Back at Low Arvie - Tuesday, August 10, 2010
• Sad time at Low Arvie - Thursday, August 05, 2010
• New Low Arvie blog - Sunday, August 01, 2010
• Low Arvie -emarketing - Wednesday, July 28, 2010
• Low Arvie news - Monday, July 26, 2010
• Low Arvie Video - Friday, July 23, 2010
• Low Arvie Rainmaker! - Monday, July 19, 2010
• Low Arvie feature - Tuesday, July 13, 2010
• Back to Low Arvie - Friday, July 09, 2010
• Poor Tabitha - Tuesday, July 06, 2010
• Happy 4th July! - Saturday, July 03, 2010
• Low Arvie Ladies on the loose! - Thursday, July 01, 2010
• Low Arvie - a new skill? - Monday, June 28, 2010
• Bring back the rain! - Sunday, June 27, 2010
• Friday again at Low Arvie! - Thursday, June 24, 2010
• Drama at Low Arvie - Tuesday, June 22, 2010
• Low Arvie news - Tuesday, June 22, 2010
• A new Lady of Low Arvie - Saturday, June 19, 2010
• Low Arvie worries - Thursday, June 17, 2010
• Low Arvie Nature News - Tuesday, June 15, 2010
•  Low Arvie News - Monday, June 14, 2010
• Low Arvie welcomes new arrivals - Thursday, June 10, 2010
• Linda's wedding yesterday - Sunday, June 06, 2010
• Warwick and Low Arvie - two exciting events! - Saturday, June 05, 2010
• Little Bo Richard! - Thursday, June 03, 2010
• Botox and Low Arvie update - Tuesday, June 01, 2010
• A wonderful Friday in SW Scotland! - Friday, May 28, 2010
• Summer in Galloway - Monday, May 24, 2010
• Back at Low Arvie - Saturday, May 22, 2010
• More reviews - Friday, May 21, 2010
• More Reviews - Wednesday, May 19, 2010
• Spots - Wednesday, May 19, 2010
• Procrastination - Monday, May 17, 2010
• Good news and bad news - Sunday, May 16, 2010
• Verdict! - Sunday, May 16, 2010
• Life part 2 - Saturday, May 15, 2010
• A new outlet - Thursday, May 13, 2010
• Frosty weather, migraine and Arizona - Thursday, May 13, 2010
• Happy Day! - Wednesday, May 12, 2010
• Goodbye and good riddance to Mandelson!! - Tuesday, May 11, 2010
• Bliss! - Monday, May 10, 2010
• Sunday in Scotland - Saturday, May 08, 2010
• Low Arvie - Friday, May 07, 2010
• Low Arvie - Wednesday, April 28, 2010


Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.