AuthorsDen.com   Join Free! | Login    
USA Independence Day
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  James Steffes, iBetty Jo Tucker, iJoyce Scarbrough, iA. Bell, iTheodore Soderberg, iRichard French, iEdward Patterson, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Linda Watson

· + Follow Me
· Contact Me
· Sponsor Me!
· Books
· Articles
· Poetry
· News
· Blog
· 21 Titles
· 20 Reviews
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: Apr, 2010

Linda Watson, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.







Blogs by Linda Watson

Low Arvie winter preparations
11/13/2010 11:42:06 PM    [ Flag as Inappropriate ]

Getting ready for winter
Posted on November 14, 2010 by Low Arvie

We had one very busy day last week getting ready for the winter. We now have to have our herd tested for BVD, a viral disease which they are trying to eradicate from Scotland, and for this year there is a grant towards the cost of the testing. The vet takes blood samples from several animals which are then sent to the lab for analysis. Since the vet was coming to do this testing we lined up a few more jobs for him while he was here. Baron the bull had gone lame a few days before and the vet found a very deep seated abcess in his foot which he was able to lance and clear, making Baron a lot happier. There were also the new bull calves to castrate. That job is a lot easier and safer to do when the calves are small and they don’t seem to notice, so that was done.

He also checked out Zinnia after her ordeal in the peat bog and found that she has a problem with the stifle joint of her right back leg. There was no treatment for this, but he said just to let her do her own thing and walk as she wanted to. We have put her into the little end of the new shed with Zola, her calf and Bella the orphan and they are living together quite happily. Zinnia is lame but is eating well and has a warm shed to sleep in out of the wind. They also have the Upper Inbye field to wander in when they want to and all is well there for the moment.

Baron has now gone back to the other Ladies after his few days recuperation from the abcess and life has settled back down to its normal winter pattern of feeding and watering.

We have to have the herd tested for TB this month – you have to do this every four years – so there will be a further two vet visits for this before we can finally ‘batten down the hatches’ and really settle into winter.

Baron will stay for a few more weeks and a month after he leaves we will have the Ladies PDed (Pregnancy Diagnosed) and that will tell us how many new calves there will be next year and allow us to plan what to do with the 5 yearling heifers. If all the cows are in calf we may sell 2 or 3 of the young ones.

The year goes by so quickly and each season brings its own particular routine and planning problems, but it keeps us on our (now quite elderly) toes.

Take care,

Lxx

PS 37 years ago today I was involved in an altogether different activity – giving birth myself!!


Post a Comment

More Blogs by Linda Watson
• Low Arvie winter returns - Sunday, January 09, 2011
• Low Arvie news - Thursday, December 23, 2010
• Low Arvie woes! - Sunday, December 12, 2010
• Low Arvie winter - Sunday, December 05, 2010
• Low Arvie interview - Monday, November 29, 2010
• Low Arvie on the radio - Saturday, November 27, 2010
• Low Arvie in bookstore - Monday, November 22, 2010
• Low Arvie winter work - Sunday, November 21, 2010
•  Low Arvie winter preparations - Saturday, November 13, 2010  
• Low Arvie calving report - Saturday, November 06, 2010
• Low Arvie first! - Monday, November 01, 2010
• New Low Arvie website - Wednesday, October 27, 2010
• Low Arvie woes - Sunday, October 17, 2010
• A sad week at Low Arvie - Monday, October 11, 2010
• Low, Arvie, Americans and the Ryder Cup! - Sunday, October 03, 2010
• `Low Arvie update - Wednesday, September 22, 2010
• No swallows at Low Arvie - Monday, September 13, 2010
• New arrivals at Low Arvie - Tuesday, September 07, 2010
• New Low Arvie website - Sunday, September 05, 2010
• Low Arvie silage - Done! - Wednesday, September 01, 2010
• Low Arvie -Smashwords news! - Sunday, August 29, 2010
• Low Arvie -Smashwords news! - Sunday, August 29, 2010
• 'The Ladies' updcate - Friday, August 27, 2010
• The Ladies - Authonomy comments - Saturday, August 21, 2010
• Low Arvie 'boy' racer! - Thursday, August 19, 2010
• Low Arvie and the 'thrill' of free publicity - Wednesday, August 11, 2010
• Back at Low Arvie - Tuesday, August 10, 2010
• Sad time at Low Arvie - Thursday, August 05, 2010
• New Low Arvie blog - Sunday, August 01, 2010
• Low Arvie -emarketing - Wednesday, July 28, 2010
• Low Arvie news - Monday, July 26, 2010
• Low Arvie Video - Friday, July 23, 2010
• Low Arvie Rainmaker! - Monday, July 19, 2010
• Low Arvie feature - Tuesday, July 13, 2010
• Back to Low Arvie - Friday, July 09, 2010
• Poor Tabitha - Tuesday, July 06, 2010
• Happy 4th July! - Saturday, July 03, 2010
• Low Arvie Ladies on the loose! - Thursday, July 01, 2010
• Low Arvie - a new skill? - Monday, June 28, 2010
• Bring back the rain! - Sunday, June 27, 2010
• Friday again at Low Arvie! - Thursday, June 24, 2010
• Drama at Low Arvie - Tuesday, June 22, 2010
• Low Arvie news - Tuesday, June 22, 2010
• A new Lady of Low Arvie - Saturday, June 19, 2010
• Low Arvie worries - Thursday, June 17, 2010
• Low Arvie Nature News - Tuesday, June 15, 2010
• Low Arvie News - Monday, June 14, 2010
• Low Arvie welcomes new arrivals - Thursday, June 10, 2010
• Linda's wedding yesterday - Sunday, June 06, 2010
• Warwick and Low Arvie - two exciting events! - Saturday, June 05, 2010
• Little Bo Richard! - Thursday, June 03, 2010
• Botox and Low Arvie update - Tuesday, June 01, 2010
• A wonderful Friday in SW Scotland! - Friday, May 28, 2010
• Summer in Galloway - Monday, May 24, 2010
• Back at Low Arvie - Saturday, May 22, 2010
• More reviews - Friday, May 21, 2010
• More Reviews - Wednesday, May 19, 2010
• Spots - Wednesday, May 19, 2010
• Procrastination - Monday, May 17, 2010
• Good news and bad news - Sunday, May 16, 2010
• Verdict! - Sunday, May 16, 2010
• Life part 2 - Saturday, May 15, 2010
• A new outlet - Thursday, May 13, 2010
• Frosty weather, migraine and Arizona - Thursday, May 13, 2010
• Happy Day! - Wednesday, May 12, 2010
• Goodbye and good riddance to Mandelson!! - Tuesday, May 11, 2010
• Bliss! - Monday, May 10, 2010
• Sunday in Scotland - Saturday, May 08, 2010
• Low Arvie - Friday, May 07, 2010
• Low Arvie - Wednesday, April 28, 2010


Kira, Daughter of the Moon by Beth Trissel

With the terror of the French and Indian War fresh in her mind, can Kira love a white warrior? ..  
Featured BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members



Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.