AuthorsDen.com   Join (Free!) | Login  

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  M. Andrew Sprong, iNancy Neville, iGina McKnight, iFumiko Takahashi, iGary Caplan, iTygo Lee, iD. Enise, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Linda Watson

· Become a Fan
· Contact me
· Sponsor Me!
· Books
· Articles
· Poetry
· News
· Blog
· 21 Titles
· 20 Reviews
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: Apr, 2010

Linda Watson, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.


Featured Book
The Unlikely Heroine - book ii
by Kathy L Wheeler / Kae Elle Wheeler

Lady Pricilla is one damsel who does not need rescuing by a Prince Charming unlike her sister, Cinderella. She has brains and intends to use them!..  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members










Blogs by Linda Watson

Low Arvie news
12/23/2010 2:24:25 AM
Hi

A very, very testing two weeks here at Low Arvie. The weather has been arctic and below freezing continuously for all that time now. We are very lucky not to have had much snow - still only about 3 centimetres but the low temperature means that it has stayed on the ground. The days have been beautiful, though, with clear blue skies and bright sunshine. We would have been enjoying the winter except for the freeze-up meaning that R has to carry buckets of water to the cattle as all the outside systems are frozen. Each morning and evening he takes about 30 trips with two buckets at a time to the young stock and Zinnia. Happily he has been able to keep the burn open for the cows and calves to drink, by driving the Matbro (6 tons)into it to break the ice and several times getting quite a way across before the Matbro broke through.

We had a sad, sad blow last week when the Governement announced the closure of the Forensic Science Service which has been Catherine's passion since joining ten or more years ago. She has just been through two hellish years of re-organisation and transformation and was just settling down to start her new job with Violent Crime and Homicide (she has 'done' drugs, burglaries and serious crime!) when this news hit like a bolt from the blue. If anyone out there can use an experienced and passionate Forensic Scientist, please let me know. What her future will be, we just don't know.

On a happier note, we have been waiting anxiously for our last calf to arrive. Lady Olga didn't get in calf to the bull and was AI'd in the Spring to a coffee coloured Dun Galloway bull called Globex Xplosive. We have been quite worried about the best thing to do - calve her in the warmer shed where there are germs or outside where it is clean but, at times, minus 16.5 degrees C. However, we needn't have worried our heads. She produced a beautiful silver heifer all by herself last evening and little Silver Bell is running around in minus 6 degrees of cold as if it were high summer. Mother Nature triumphs again!!

Well, I am off tomorrow to spend Christmas and New Year with Catherine. Morgan is working and we are going to have Christmas dinner in a Chinese restaurant in Northampton - well, that will be different. Richard and I celebrated our Christmas yesterday and I feel the C is in need of a mother's hugs at the moment. R doesn't mind at all and will be fine!

So, here's wishing you all a very Merry Christmas and the best of everything in 2011,

See you soon, take care,

Lxx


Post a Comment

More Blogs by Linda Watson
• Low Arvie winter returns - Sunday, January 09, 2011
•  Low Arvie news - Thursday, December 23, 2010  
• Low Arvie woes! - Sunday, December 12, 2010
• Low Arvie winter - Sunday, December 05, 2010
• Low Arvie interview - Monday, November 29, 2010
• Low Arvie on the radio - Saturday, November 27, 2010
• Low Arvie in bookstore - Monday, November 22, 2010
• Low Arvie winter work - Sunday, November 21, 2010
• Low Arvie winter preparations - Saturday, November 13, 2010
• Low Arvie calving report - Saturday, November 06, 2010
• Low Arvie first! - Monday, November 01, 2010
• New Low Arvie website - Wednesday, October 27, 2010
• Low Arvie woes - Sunday, October 17, 2010
• A sad week at Low Arvie - Monday, October 11, 2010
• Low, Arvie, Americans and the Ryder Cup! - Sunday, October 03, 2010
• `Low Arvie update - Wednesday, September 22, 2010
• No swallows at Low Arvie - Monday, September 13, 2010
• New arrivals at Low Arvie - Tuesday, September 07, 2010
• New Low Arvie website - Sunday, September 05, 2010
• Low Arvie silage - Done! - Wednesday, September 01, 2010
• Low Arvie -Smashwords news! - Sunday, August 29, 2010
• Low Arvie -Smashwords news! - Sunday, August 29, 2010
• 'The Ladies' updcate - Friday, August 27, 2010
• The Ladies - Authonomy comments - Saturday, August 21, 2010
• Low Arvie 'boy' racer! - Thursday, August 19, 2010
• Low Arvie and the 'thrill' of free publicity - Wednesday, August 11, 2010
• Back at Low Arvie - Tuesday, August 10, 2010
• Sad time at Low Arvie - Thursday, August 05, 2010
• New Low Arvie blog - Sunday, August 01, 2010
• Low Arvie -emarketing - Wednesday, July 28, 2010
• Low Arvie news - Monday, July 26, 2010
• Low Arvie Video - Friday, July 23, 2010
• Low Arvie Rainmaker! - Monday, July 19, 2010
• Low Arvie feature - Tuesday, July 13, 2010
• Back to Low Arvie - Friday, July 09, 2010
• Poor Tabitha - Tuesday, July 06, 2010
• Happy 4th July! - Saturday, July 03, 2010
• Low Arvie Ladies on the loose! - Thursday, July 01, 2010
• Low Arvie - a new skill? - Monday, June 28, 2010
• Bring back the rain! - Sunday, June 27, 2010
• Friday again at Low Arvie! - Thursday, June 24, 2010
• Drama at Low Arvie - Tuesday, June 22, 2010
• Low Arvie news - Tuesday, June 22, 2010
• A new Lady of Low Arvie - Saturday, June 19, 2010
• Low Arvie worries - Thursday, June 17, 2010
• Low Arvie Nature News - Tuesday, June 15, 2010
•  Low Arvie News - Monday, June 14, 2010
• Low Arvie welcomes new arrivals - Thursday, June 10, 2010
• Linda's wedding yesterday - Sunday, June 06, 2010
• Warwick and Low Arvie - two exciting events! - Saturday, June 05, 2010
• Little Bo Richard! - Thursday, June 03, 2010
• Botox and Low Arvie update - Tuesday, June 01, 2010
• A wonderful Friday in SW Scotland! - Friday, May 28, 2010
• Summer in Galloway - Monday, May 24, 2010
• Back at Low Arvie - Saturday, May 22, 2010
• More reviews - Friday, May 21, 2010
• More Reviews - Wednesday, May 19, 2010
• Spots - Wednesday, May 19, 2010
• Procrastination - Monday, May 17, 2010
• Good news and bad news - Sunday, May 16, 2010
• Verdict! - Sunday, May 16, 2010
• Life part 2 - Saturday, May 15, 2010
• A new outlet - Thursday, May 13, 2010
• Frosty weather, migraine and Arizona - Thursday, May 13, 2010
• Happy Day! - Wednesday, May 12, 2010
• Goodbye and good riddance to Mandelson!! - Tuesday, May 11, 2010
• Bliss! - Monday, May 10, 2010
• Sunday in Scotland - Saturday, May 08, 2010
• Low Arvie - Friday, May 07, 2010
• Low Arvie - Wednesday, April 28, 2010


Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.