AuthorsDen.com   Join Free! | Login    
Happy 4th of July!
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  Myles Saulibio, iLaurie Conrad, iBrian Hill, iGina McKnight, iRichard Rydon, iRoxanne Howe-Murphy, iBurton Wolfe, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Joel Arnold

· + Follow Me
· Contact Me
· Books
· Poetry
· News
· Stories
· Blog
· 16 Titles
· 2 Reviews
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: May, 2010

Joel Arnold, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.







Blogs by Joel Arnold

Tragedy - now with 50% more pathos!
11/9/2010 1:29:58 PM    [ Flag as Inappropriate ]

One of the "benefits" of being a writer is the ability to put personal tragedy to use in creative ways. Of course, this counts for other types of art as well. I mean, what would the blues be without, you know, people having experienced the blues? For example, encountering some asshole who treats me like crap; after my initial anger subsides, I later think 'This person would make a great character in a story' or 'the mechanics/feelings/maneuverings/emotional jockeying of that incident would be really useful in this scene I'm writing.'

Pretty much all the really dumb things I did when younger are great sources of fodder for my writing (and believe me, that's a lot of fodder!) When I hear of the tragedies that have happened with others I know (and I don't mean fresh tragedy - I mean after a good deal of time and emotional distance has passed) I often think what great story material!

I know that may sound cold, like I'm getting off on the tragedy and drama of others, but I feel many of these very personal stories are important to share - either in a biographical-yet-fictional context (w/ the person's permission and/or 'the names have been changed, etc') or fictionalized to the point where it's mainly the emotional resonance I'm trying to get at. I think the more we learn that others have survived through tragedy, or at least experienced these tragedies, then that's more reason for people to not worry so much about being 'burdened with terrible secrets' - or at least realize that they're not the only ones to have gone through such tragedy - perhaps relieving them of some of the loneliness, the self-loathing by having characters they can relate to in their own way.

Does that make sense?


Post a Comment

More Blogs by Joel Arnold
• The Sucking Suckathon of Suckiness - Monday, May 21, 2012
• Mississippi Pearls and a Car Biding Its Time on the Ice 'til Spring - Thursday, December 29, 2011
• One Decade, One Story - or how One Thing Leads to Another - Wednesday, December 28, 2011
• Racing Minnesota-style! - Wednesday, December 28, 2011
• This Here Minnesota Horror Author was a Big Old Scaredy-Cat - Thursday, December 22, 2011
• Jack the Blob Killer - Monday, December 19, 2011
• Death Rhythm - Tuesday, September 20, 2011
• More Writing What You Know - Monday, September 19, 2011
• How I Interpret 'Write What You Know' - Wednesday, August 03, 2011
• Blessings - or - What I write after having one too many... - Wednesday, August 03, 2011
• 120 Miles in a Canoe - Monday, June 27, 2011
• On Stephen King - Thursday, June 23, 2011
• Why Horror? - Wednesday, June 22, 2011
• Zen & the Art of Swearing - Friday, June 10, 2011
• If Coffee Shops were Run by Airlines - Thursday, May 12, 2011
• Trying to Figure Out What Scares Me - Monday, March 21, 2011
• My Confession - Tuesday, March 08, 2011
• Going Indie with my novel Northwoods Deep - Friday, March 04, 2011
• How I Envision Conflict When Writing - Thursday, March 03, 2011
• Wall Drug - why it's one of my favorite places - Wednesday, February 02, 2011
• Jonesing for a Road Trip - Wednesday, February 02, 2011
• Snowmapocalyptopalooza - Tuesday, February 01, 2011
• How Do You Remember? - Thursday, January 20, 2011
• When your parents are librarians... - Tuesday, January 18, 2011
• The genesis of a novel - the first 6 days - Tuesday, January 04, 2011
• Searching for Truth - Characterization - Thursday, December 16, 2010
• Control - and a little more about Northwoods Deep - Monday, December 13, 2010
• Bukowski - Wednesday, December 08, 2010
• Flies, Flies, Spam, and Flies - Friday, December 03, 2010
• Naivete and the Young Writer - Thursday, December 02, 2010
• For Writers looking for some Adventure - Wednesday, December 01, 2010
• My usual rider for family/friend appearances - Tuesday, November 23, 2010
• Writing and Me - a dramatization - Wednesday, November 17, 2010
• Writing Tip o' the Day (now with vitamin C!) - Tuesday, November 16, 2010
• The Power of Music - Tuesday, November 16, 2010
• To All the Bookstores I've Loved Before - Monday, November 15, 2010
• The Care and Feeding of Writers - Sunday, November 14, 2010
• Rudiments - Thursday, November 11, 2010
• Writing Tip o' the Day - Wednesday, November 10, 2010
•  Tragedy - now with 50% more pathos! - Tuesday, November 09, 2010  
• Perspective - Monday, November 08, 2010
• The Daunting Dauntiness of Tweeting on Twitter - Saturday, November 06, 2010


Grieving a Soulmate: The Love Story Behind Till Death Do Us Part by Robert Orfali

An in-depth analysis of the deep pain of grief associated with losing a soulmate...  
Featured BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members



Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.