AuthorsDen.com   Join Free! | Login    
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  James McClelland, iOralya Ueberroth, iBonnie Milani, iNickolaus Pacione, iWalt Hardester, iDanae Wilkin, iAmy Sellers, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Joel Arnold

· + Follow Me
· Contact Me
· Books
· Poetry
· News
· Stories
· Blog
· 16 Titles
· 2 Reviews
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: May, 2010

Joel Arnold, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.







Blogs by Joel Arnold

Bukowski
12/8/2010 1:57:37 PM

I'm a fan of Charles Bukowski's poetry. I'm not an expert on it by any means, but I've read maybe three or four of his collections - my favorite being Love is a Dog from Hell (which contains one of my favorite poems of all time called 'Writing 101' if my memory serves correctly.) I also loved the movie Barfly (with Micky Rourke playing Hank - the character modeled after Bukowski.)

I don't think I would've liked Bukowski himself if I would've met him. He seemed like an asshole - a belligerent, drunken lout, quick to anger and get in fights. I saw a YouTube video where he got really abusive with his girlfriend, and it was rather despicable. If I would've hung out with him at a bar, I would've been uncomfortable - worried about saying the wrong thing that might set him off, worried about laughing at the right jokes, nodding at the right points during his pontifications.

But damn, I love his poetry. And I don't really think it could've come from someone who hadn't lived the way Bukowski had. I don't think it could've come from someone who wasn't a belligerent, abusive drunken asshole. His poetry is raw, crude, and brutal and at times sublime - like the man. But the man I could do without. The poetry - not so much.

What's the lesson there? Is there any? Does there need to be one? I don't know. But I do know that his poetry has shown me the beauty that can arise from the most painful and honest of words, sentences, and stories. Maybe that's lesson enough.


Post a Comment

More Blogs by Joel Arnold
• The Sucking Suckathon of Suckiness - Monday, May 21, 2012
• Mississippi Pearls and a Car Biding Its Time on the Ice 'til Spring - Thursday, December 29, 2011
• One Decade, One Story - or how One Thing Leads to Another - Wednesday, December 28, 2011
• Racing Minnesota-style! - Wednesday, December 28, 2011
• This Here Minnesota Horror Author was a Big Old Scaredy-Cat - Thursday, December 22, 2011
• Jack the Blob Killer - Monday, December 19, 2011
• Death Rhythm - Tuesday, September 20, 2011
• More Writing What You Know - Monday, September 19, 2011
• How I Interpret 'Write What You Know' - Wednesday, August 03, 2011
• Blessings - or - What I write after having one too many... - Wednesday, August 03, 2011
• 120 Miles in a Canoe - Monday, June 27, 2011
• On Stephen King - Thursday, June 23, 2011
• Why Horror? - Wednesday, June 22, 2011
• Zen & the Art of Swearing - Friday, June 10, 2011
• If Coffee Shops were Run by Airlines - Thursday, May 12, 2011
• Trying to Figure Out What Scares Me - Monday, March 21, 2011
• My Confession - Tuesday, March 08, 2011
• Going Indie with my novel Northwoods Deep - Friday, March 04, 2011
• How I Envision Conflict When Writing - Thursday, March 03, 2011
• Wall Drug - why it's one of my favorite places - Wednesday, February 02, 2011
• Jonesing for a Road Trip - Wednesday, February 02, 2011
• Snowmapocalyptopalooza - Tuesday, February 01, 2011
• How Do You Remember? - Thursday, January 20, 2011
• When your parents are librarians... - Tuesday, January 18, 2011
• The genesis of a novel - the first 6 days - Tuesday, January 04, 2011
• Searching for Truth - Characterization - Thursday, December 16, 2010
• Control - and a little more about Northwoods Deep - Monday, December 13, 2010
•  Bukowski - Wednesday, December 08, 2010  

• Flies, Flies, Spam, and Flies - Friday, December 03, 2010
• Naivete and the Young Writer - Thursday, December 02, 2010
• For Writers looking for some Adventure - Wednesday, December 01, 2010
• My usual rider for family/friend appearances - Tuesday, November 23, 2010
• Writing and Me - a dramatization - Wednesday, November 17, 2010
• Writing Tip o' the Day (now with vitamin C!) - Tuesday, November 16, 2010
• The Power of Music - Tuesday, November 16, 2010
• To All the Bookstores I've Loved Before - Monday, November 15, 2010
• The Care and Feeding of Writers - Sunday, November 14, 2010
• Rudiments - Thursday, November 11, 2010
• Writing Tip o' the Day - Wednesday, November 10, 2010
• Tragedy - now with 50% more pathos! - Tuesday, November 09, 2010
• Perspective - Monday, November 08, 2010
• The Daunting Dauntiness of Tweeting on Twitter - Saturday, November 06, 2010


Lovely Little Liar by Gloria Gay

Abigail Westcoate struggles to survive after being jilted at the altar and losing her income...  
Featured BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members



Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.