AuthorsDen.com   Join Free! | Login  

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  Dominic Caruso, iGary Caplan, iShoma Mittra, iRon Cox, iKathleen Morris, iPaul Kyriazi, iJeff Mason, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Joel Arnold

· Become a Fan
· Contact me
· Books
· Poetry
· News
· Stories
· Blog
· 16 Titles
· 2 Reviews
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: May, 2010

Joel Arnold, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.


Featured Book
All Over the Map
by Morgan McFinn

McFinn travels to India, Greece, Morocco, Thailand and Phnom Penh, Cambodia where he engages in some philanthropic activities. As always with him, humor prevails.....  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members










Blogs by Joel Arnold

Snowmapocalyptopalooza
2/1/2011 5:58:48 AM    [ Flag as Spam or Inappropriate ]

This year has brought more snow than I can remember in a long time. Certainly a good winter to be a kid in Minnesota - huge mountains of snow to climb, plenty of raw material for snow forts, and nearly always a fresh dusting (or fresh dumping) on which to bring another snow angel to life.

When I was a kid, the heaped-up corners on the boulevard at the end of the driveway was often utilized for snow forts. The pile of snow was already there from the plowed road and shoveled driveway, so all you had to do was hollow it out. And when you were done, it was a fine place to hang out. There was a feeling of contentment, just sitting there in the snowy silence as the outside light filtered through the icy walls. It was like having a place of your own for the first time. Remember moving into your first dorm room or apartment? The first time you moved away from home? It was a sneak preview of that; the sparseness, the lack of amenities didn't matter - it was yours.

But that was then and while I hope my kids are having as much fun this winter as I had in the winters of my youth, I'm getting to be a bit of an old duffer, and I'm quite tired of this winter, this Snowmapocalyptopalooza, and I'm ready for spring.


Post a Comment

More Blogs by Joel Arnold
• The Sucking Suckathon of Suckiness - Monday, May 21, 2012
• Mississippi Pearls and a Car Biding Its Time on the Ice 'til Spring - Thursday, December 29, 2011
• One Decade, One Story - or how One Thing Leads to Another - Wednesday, December 28, 2011
• Racing Minnesota-style! - Wednesday, December 28, 2011
• This Here Minnesota Horror Author was a Big Old Scaredy-Cat - Thursday, December 22, 2011
• Jack the Blob Killer - Monday, December 19, 2011
• Death Rhythm - Tuesday, September 20, 2011
• More Writing What You Know - Monday, September 19, 2011
• How I Interpret 'Write What You Know' - Wednesday, August 03, 2011
• Blessings - or - What I write after having one too many... - Wednesday, August 03, 2011
• 120 Miles in a Canoe - Monday, June 27, 2011
• On Stephen King - Thursday, June 23, 2011
• Why Horror? - Wednesday, June 22, 2011
• Zen & the Art of Swearing - Friday, June 10, 2011
• If Coffee Shops were Run by Airlines - Thursday, May 12, 2011
• Trying to Figure Out What Scares Me - Monday, March 21, 2011
• My Confession - Tuesday, March 08, 2011
• Going Indie with my novel Northwoods Deep - Friday, March 04, 2011
• How I Envision Conflict When Writing - Thursday, March 03, 2011
• Wall Drug - why it's one of my favorite places - Wednesday, February 02, 2011
• Jonesing for a Road Trip - Wednesday, February 02, 2011
•  Snowmapocalyptopalooza - Tuesday, February 01, 2011  
• How Do You Remember? - Thursday, January 20, 2011
• When your parents are librarians... - Tuesday, January 18, 2011
• The genesis of a novel - the first 6 days - Tuesday, January 04, 2011
• Searching for Truth - Characterization - Thursday, December 16, 2010
• Control - and a little more about Northwoods Deep - Monday, December 13, 2010
• Bukowski - Wednesday, December 08, 2010
• Flies, Flies, Spam, and Flies - Friday, December 03, 2010
• Naivete and the Young Writer - Thursday, December 02, 2010
• For Writers looking for some Adventure - Wednesday, December 01, 2010
• My usual rider for family/friend appearances - Tuesday, November 23, 2010
• Writing and Me - a dramatization - Wednesday, November 17, 2010
• Writing Tip o' the Day (now with vitamin C!) - Tuesday, November 16, 2010
• The Power of Music - Tuesday, November 16, 2010
• To All the Bookstores I've Loved Before - Monday, November 15, 2010
• The Care and Feeding of Writers - Sunday, November 14, 2010
• Rudiments - Thursday, November 11, 2010
• Writing Tip o' the Day - Wednesday, November 10, 2010
• Tragedy - now with 50% more pathos! - Tuesday, November 09, 2010
• Perspective - Monday, November 08, 2010
• The Daunting Dauntiness of Tweeting on Twitter - Saturday, November 06, 2010


Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.