AuthorsDen.com   Join Free! | Login    
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  Sharon Burton, iSheri Hoff, iSam Penny, iPatrick Granfors, iFrances Seymour, iDr. Stanley Crawford, iAlan Brenham, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Joel Arnold

· + Follow Me
· Contact Me
· Books
· Poetry
· News
· Stories
· Blog
· 16 Titles
· 2 Reviews
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: May, 2010

Joel Arnold, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.







Blogs by Joel Arnold

Jonesing for a Road Trip
2/2/2011 7:04:46 AM

If I could afford it, I'd take a road trip nearly every weekend. I love planning the trip; studying the atlas, Googling the different points along the way. I'm delighted by little things; stopping at a gas station to stock up on treats, pulling over to read the historical markers along the way, taking pics of whatever giant statue a town might have. I love seeing the old broken-down barns - the ones deemed cheaper to just let sit and decay instead of having them hauled away. I love the old houses, too, the ones now barren and falling apart - I can't help but wonder what went on there. Who lived there? What secrets do they hold? If you listen carefully, can you hear the whisper of past lives long ago absorbed into the yellowing, curling wallpaper?

What is it about a road trip? The farms, the forests, the small towns whipping by...because a proper road trip must be taken on the older roads. Not the Interstate. An Interstate is a tool to get someone from one place to the other as quickly and unobtrusively as possible. On a proper road trip, I want to saunter and soak up the countryside, the kitsch, the uniqueness that is often sorely lacking along the Interstate. I want to be able to pull over on a gravelly, weed-strewn shoulder of a quiet country road if the urge arises and breathe in the air and listen to the chirruping frogs and cicadas.

Besides, what better place to get rid of the bodies? (rim-shot, please!)

But seriously, I think it's because this winter has really tired me out and I'm looking forward to spring like I haven't in a long time. Besides, spring, in my opinion, is the best season for a road trip. We tire of the cocoon of winter and long for the wings brought by spring.


Post a Comment

More Blogs by Joel Arnold
• The Sucking Suckathon of Suckiness - Monday, May 21, 2012
• Mississippi Pearls and a Car Biding Its Time on the Ice 'til Spring - Thursday, December 29, 2011
• One Decade, One Story - or how One Thing Leads to Another - Wednesday, December 28, 2011
• Racing Minnesota-style! - Wednesday, December 28, 2011
• This Here Minnesota Horror Author was a Big Old Scaredy-Cat - Thursday, December 22, 2011
• Jack the Blob Killer - Monday, December 19, 2011
• Death Rhythm - Tuesday, September 20, 2011
• More Writing What You Know - Monday, September 19, 2011
• How I Interpret 'Write What You Know' - Wednesday, August 03, 2011
• Blessings - or - What I write after having one too many... - Wednesday, August 03, 2011
• 120 Miles in a Canoe - Monday, June 27, 2011
• On Stephen King - Thursday, June 23, 2011
• Why Horror? - Wednesday, June 22, 2011
• Zen & the Art of Swearing - Friday, June 10, 2011
• If Coffee Shops were Run by Airlines - Thursday, May 12, 2011
• Trying to Figure Out What Scares Me - Monday, March 21, 2011
• My Confession - Tuesday, March 08, 2011
• Going Indie with my novel Northwoods Deep - Friday, March 04, 2011
• How I Envision Conflict When Writing - Thursday, March 03, 2011
• Wall Drug - why it's one of my favorite places - Wednesday, February 02, 2011
•  Jonesing for a Road Trip - Wednesday, February 02, 2011  

• Snowmapocalyptopalooza - Tuesday, February 01, 2011
• How Do You Remember? - Thursday, January 20, 2011
• When your parents are librarians... - Tuesday, January 18, 2011
• The genesis of a novel - the first 6 days - Tuesday, January 04, 2011
• Searching for Truth - Characterization - Thursday, December 16, 2010
• Control - and a little more about Northwoods Deep - Monday, December 13, 2010
• Bukowski - Wednesday, December 08, 2010
• Flies, Flies, Spam, and Flies - Friday, December 03, 2010
• Naivete and the Young Writer - Thursday, December 02, 2010
• For Writers looking for some Adventure - Wednesday, December 01, 2010
• My usual rider for family/friend appearances - Tuesday, November 23, 2010
• Writing and Me - a dramatization - Wednesday, November 17, 2010
• Writing Tip o' the Day (now with vitamin C!) - Tuesday, November 16, 2010
• The Power of Music - Tuesday, November 16, 2010
• To All the Bookstores I've Loved Before - Monday, November 15, 2010
• The Care and Feeding of Writers - Sunday, November 14, 2010
• Rudiments - Thursday, November 11, 2010
• Writing Tip o' the Day - Wednesday, November 10, 2010
• Tragedy - now with 50% more pathos! - Tuesday, November 09, 2010
• Perspective - Monday, November 08, 2010
• The Daunting Dauntiness of Tweeting on Twitter - Saturday, November 06, 2010


Venice, Empress of the Seas by Albert Russo

Venice, the Lido, the historical regatta and the film festival..  
Featured BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members



Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.