AuthorsDen.com   Join (Free!) | Login  

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  Jay Onwukwe, iKH LeMoyne, iBrian Hill, iAlfred Garrotto, iMargaret Doner, iErnie Heavin, iWilliam Wright, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Jerome Parisse

· Become a Fan
· Contact me
· Success story
· Books
· Articles
· News
· Blog
· 8 Titles
· 1 Reviews
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: May, 2010

Jerome Parisse, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.


Featured Book
The Wolf's Torment
by S Cardin

In this spine-tingling novel, the crown prince of Moldavia must fight demons that haunt his family and his country when a werewolf bites his best friend...  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members










Blogs by Jerome Parisse

The Ghost Writer - Date Night - Dragons et al
7/29/2010 10:12:23 PM
I have moved to Hong Kong. How exciting! I will be living here until October next year, at least. Hong Kong is a vibrant place, full of culture, good restaurants and very international crowds. Itís also centrally located in Asia, and I am planning to explore the region as much as possible. I will let you know how it all goes, of course. The flight from Sydney yesterday took about nine hours, which gave me plenty of time to catch up with movies I hadnít had time to see in the mad rush prior to the move.

The first inflight movie I watched was The Ghost Writer, with Ewan McGregor and Pierce Brosnan, directed by Roman Polanski. A writer is hired to fix the memoirs of a former British Prime Minister, following the (not so) accidental death of the previously hired ghost writer. While the former Prime Minister gets embroiled in an international scandal, the innocent writer discovers that the memoirs in question constitute highly sensitive material. I wonít say more, I donít want to spoil the story. I liked it. The plot is good, the acting fine, and you are kept guessing until the last minute about whom the real culprits are. The movie is based on a novel by Robert Harris.



The second inflight movie was lighter. Date Night, a comedy starring Steve Carell and Tina Fey. In New York City, a case of mistaken identity turns a bored married coupleís attempt at a glamorous and romantic evening into something more thrilling and dangerous. As I said, this is very light, and if you donít want to, or cannot, see it, you wonít be missing much. Enough said.



The last one I watched on the plane was How to train your dragon, the animation movie based on a novel by Cressida Cowell. A young Viking who aspires to hunt and kill dragons befriends a dangerous beast and discovers that everything the village thought they knew about dragons is entirely untrue. In his quest to convince his peers that dragons are not the dangerous creatures they are supposed to be, he fights the (evil) mother of all dragons and wins everlasting peace for his village. Of course, he gets a date in the process! This is a lovely story that will delight both children and adults. The dragons are actually a lot of fun, and the Scottish accent of some characters is to die for. Against my expectations, I really enjoyed it.



I have just finished reading Breath, by Tim Winton and will soon post a review. At the moment I am reading Blackwood Farm, by Anne Rice, and loving it. Watch this spaceÖ



Post a Comment

More Blogs by Jerome Parisse
• Body Swap Interview and Yunnan Trip... - Thursday, March 10, 2011
• The Corrections - Wednesday, March 09, 2011
• Buried - Wednesday, March 09, 2011
• Black Swan - Monday, March 07, 2011
• Educating Rita - Sunday, February 27, 2011
• Bidrman, by Mo hayder - Sunday, February 27, 2011
• The Insomnia of Stars - Wednesday, February 23, 2011
• If I Stay, by Gayle Forman - Wednesday, February 23, 2011
• Blacklands by Belinda bauer - Wednesday, February 16, 2011
• Where is Marc Levy's respect for his readers? - Saturday, February 12, 2011
• The Wings of Leo Spencer at $10 only! - Wednesday, February 09, 2011
• Boracay, twenty years later - Tuesday, February 08, 2011
• Hereafter - Tuesday, February 08, 2011
• Gone (Mo Hayder) - Tuesday, February 08, 2011
• Free e-books until 6 February! - Monday, January 31, 2011
• Two Brothers - Sunday, January 30, 2011
• Miserere - Saturday, January 29, 2011
• Shanghai - Saturday, January 22, 2011
• 3 e-books for free until 6 January! - Thursday, January 20, 2011
• A Spot of Bother - Thursday, January 20, 2011
• Sarah's Key - Wednesday, January 19, 2011
• The Tree - Tuesday, January 18, 2011
• Norwegian Wood - Tuesday, January 18, 2011
• The American - Tuesday, January 18, 2011
• Eat Pray Love - Saturday, January 08, 2011
• 50 literature ideas you really need to know, by John Sutherland - Saturday, January 08, 2011
• Aftershock - Thursday, January 06, 2011
• Room by Emma Donoghue - Tuesday, January 04, 2011
• Harry Potter and the Deahtly Hallows - Friday, December 17, 2010
• The art of happiness - Thursday, December 16, 2010
• The Scold's Bridle by Minette Walters - Wednesday, December 15, 2010
• Worst film ever? - Sunday, December 12, 2010
• Trailer for BODY SWAP - Friday, December 10, 2010
• Hong Kong Murders - Monday, December 06, 2010
• The kids are all right - Monday, December 06, 2010
• The Killing Fields - My Father's Guests - Tuesday, November 30, 2010
• Interview on Body Swap and publishing on Kindle by David Wisehart - Friday, November 26, 2010
• The Animated Version of the Riverside Scene at Qingming Festival - Monday, November 22, 2010
• What is it about Japan? - Saturday, November 13, 2010
• The Ice House - Sunday, November 07, 2010
• Body Swap - Wednesday, November 03, 2010
• Taipei: the city that reads... - Tuesday, November 02, 2010
• Free royalty-free music - Monday, October 25, 2010
• Trailer for THE WINGS OF LEO SPENCER - Saturday, October 23, 2010
• Reference Material for Learning Chinese - Saturday, October 23, 2010
• The worldís first text message adventure romance with the other side! - Wednesday, October 20, 2010
• Grease.... or a failed English test - Monday, October 18, 2010
• The jungle temples of Angkor, Cambodia - Wednesday, October 13, 2010
• A little lower than the angels - Wednesday, October 13, 2010
• 61 Hours by Lee Child - Friday, October 01, 2010
• The obsessions of Amelie Nothomb - Monday, September 27, 2010
• Kaohsiung, the friendly city - Sunday, September 26, 2010
• A concise history of Hong Kong - Tuesday, September 21, 2010
• Nicaragua, twenty years on... - Monday, September 20, 2010
• We all make mistakes, don't we? - Saturday, September 18, 2010
• Serena - Thursday, September 16, 2010
• Early works: Coben takes us for a ride - Tuesday, September 14, 2010
• Tokyo / The Devil of Nanking - Sunday, September 12, 2010
• Young and bold - Saturday, September 11, 2010
• Gay marriage anyone? - Thursday, September 09, 2010
• iPad anyone? - Wednesday, September 08, 2010
• Online book promotion: The French strike again! - Tuesday, September 07, 2010
• Blood Canticle - Monday, September 06, 2010
• More Vampires! Breaking Dawn and The Passage - Sunday, September 05, 2010
• Blackwood Farm - Wednesday, August 04, 2010
• Animal Kingdom - Wednesday, August 04, 2010
• Breath - Sunday, August 01, 2010
•  The Ghost Writer - Date Night - Dragons et al - Thursday, July 29, 2010  
• According to Kit - Friday, July 23, 2010
• Playtime - Wednesday, July 21, 2010
• It's all about words... - Monday, July 19, 2010
• Deed to Death - Friday, July 16, 2010
• The Art of Flying - Thursday, July 15, 2010
• A Gate a the Stairs - Wednesday, July 14, 2010
• Twitter: the art of (non) conversation? - Sunday, July 11, 2010
• City of Thieves - Saturday, July 10, 2010
• Gravity and Drift - Thursday, July 08, 2010
• Who says nobody is reading any more? - Wednesday, July 07, 2010
• Watercolours: the travelling artist - Wednesday, July 07, 2010
• Release of "My Sister's Choice" - Monday, July 05, 2010
• Eclipse: the movie vs the book - Saturday, July 03, 2010
• Three chocolate croissants, please! - Wednesday, June 30, 2010
• Paranormal romance: The list goes on - Sunday, June 27, 2010
• Sex and the City - Friday, June 25, 2010
• A great launch - Thursday, June 24, 2010
• Jackhammering, sniffles and gum chewing - Tuesday, June 22, 2010
• New Moon, Stephenie Meyer again - Monday, June 21, 2010
• Reilly: The case for literary fiction - Wednesday, June 16, 2010
• TWILIGHT - Tuesday, June 15, 2010
• Bedroom Farce - Wednesday, June 09, 2010
• Writing for the deaf and the hearing - Monday, June 07, 2010
• A kiss or three - Sunday, June 06, 2010
• Is - Wednesday, June 02, 2010
• A prolific writer - Tuesday, June 01, 2010
• Angels are the new vampires! - Tuesday, June 01, 2010
• The ebook epiphany! - Sunday, May 30, 2010
• Theatre Value Meal: Small, Medium, or Large? - Saturday, May 29, 2010
• Of the importance of detail - Friday, May 28, 2010
• Literary fiction or gothic horror? - Friday, May 28, 2010


Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.