AuthorsDen.com   Join (Free!) | Login  

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  Kathy L Wheeler / Kae Elle Wheeler, iRobert Campbell, iSusan Lindsley, iRoger Vizi, iPhilip Hughes-Luing, iJennifer Chase, iC. Holcomb, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Paul Cuenco

· Become a Fan
· Contact me
· Books
· Poetry
· News
· Stories
· Blog
· 20 Titles
· 4 Reviews
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: Jun, 2010

Paul Cuenco, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.


Featured Book
Cats & Dogs Series (Complete+)
by Stan Law (aka Stanislaw Kapuscinski)

A collection of stories written from the point of view of man's best friends and other friends who rule our lives...  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members










Blogs by Paul Cuenco

Going Home
12/22/2011 11:16:05 PM
Iím going home tomorrow. Tomorrow night Iíll be arriving in Vallejo, preparing my bed and talking with mom, sis and Taylor. I will be laying my clothes out for the next dayís festivities Ė itís the family Christmas party Ė and later in the night, watching the olí TV. (The TV is always on when I go to sleep) Iím excited, you know, even though I have not prepared anything yet for the trip.

Going home should be flown. After all, that is over 600 miles away. Pia, my cousin, told me to do so. I was also looking forward to flying, but my two roundtrip tickets expired last June and there is no way to reinstate them. So, having limited funds, I opted to drive the car. Pia said that I was being cheap. Hahaha. In fact, she scheduled the event to be on the 17th. But I cannot make it then. I requested my vacation to be around the 24th or the 25th. So, she then rescheduled it the 24th since they have another family party they have to host the next day. Pia said that I was selfish! Of course she said this with amore propio (with love and care.)

Not that driving the car is tedious or boring. It is not! It gives me pleasure to see the panorama passing me by. The first exciting part is the Siskiyou by Canyonville. It rises to 2,000 feet above sea level. And there are four passes to it. I know this because it has been the road I have taken for years when I visited Portland from the Bay Area. This time, it is driving to the Bay Area from Portland. Then the land levels off after Grants Pass until such time as Ashland is within sight. The mountain highway rises to about 4,300 feet above sea level. It is a glorious rise because right down from it, you could see a giant lake. I always wonder what lake it is but itís huge. Again, it levels off to 3,000 feet above sea level. And the third one is Mt. Shasta. Mt. Shasta is over 14,000 feet above sea level but there is a mountain beside it. It is called Shastina. It is a small volcano wherein the highway skirts its side. The road from Ashland to the end of the Mt. Shasta Park is 2 hours. By the time, one hits the end of the road, its Redding and about 3 hours to Vallejo. If I would drive this long stretch of highway, straight, it would take me 10 hours. But I always give it about 12 hours because of the stop over.

It is more melodramatic when I wrote this piece in one of my books, ďA Cottage in Another CountryĒ. I wrote it because I have been trekking this highway for many, many times. I told the story from my own perspective where art meld with reality; and that the reader can have a feel of what I feel when I drive this highway.

It is indeed exciting to pack up and go. Itís been about 6 months now since I have seen my family and I truly miss them. So tonight, I shall finish my laundry and tomorrow, I shall shed things I use to carry in my car and replace them with the rocking chair, the loaf of bread I shopped for but did not finish, Nutella, clothes and the like. Oh boy, bread and clothes doesnít seem to go hand in hand; just to show, how frazzled I am.

Available in:
AuthorsDen.com/paulcuenco
paulcuenco.wordpress.com
predicament-paul.blogspot.com
www.BooksNovelsPoemsJournalsByPaul.com

Other literary work, search Paul Cuenco in:
Lulu.com
Kindle.com
Nook.com



Post a Comment

More Blogs by Paul Cuenco
• Predicament: Dave and Annette's Housewarming 2012 - Sunday, September 16, 2012
• Predicament: Portland Sands and its vicinity - Sunday, September 02, 2012
• Predicament: Mississippi Street Fair, Portland, Oregon - Saturday, August 25, 2012
• Predicament: Astoria, Oregon - Friday, August 17, 2012
• New Book for Father's Day! - Saturday, June 23, 2012
• Predicament: Saving Money - Wednesday, May 23, 2012
• Predicament: Old Haunts - Sunday, May 13, 2012
• Predicament: Courteous Portland Traffic - Wednesday, May 02, 2012
• Sorry - Wednesday, April 11, 2012
• Predicament: A Day at the Beach - Thursday, April 05, 2012
• Predicament: Dinner at a Deserted Restaurant - Tuesday, April 03, 2012
• Predicament: My Stroke and Writing - Monday, April 02, 2012
• Predicament: The World of the Bay Area - Sunday, April 01, 2012
• Predicament: A Competitor Indeed - Saturday, March 31, 2012
• Predicament: Democracy! - Friday, March 30, 2012
• Predicament: The Garden Party - Thursday, March 29, 2012
• Predicament: Gift-Giving - Wednesday, March 28, 2012
• Predicament: Suicide - Tuesday, March 27, 2012
• Predicament: Water, Water Everywhere - Monday, March 26, 2012
• Predicament: The Floods Of Manila - Sunday, March 25, 2012
• Predicament: Tita Dimple's recollection of Papa Trining - Saturday, March 24, 2012
• Predicament: The Future Should Be Brighter - Friday, March 23, 2012
• Predicament: Death of a Writer - Thursday, March 22, 2012
• Predicament: The Season Re-liveth - Wednesday, March 21, 2012
• Predicament: Time Had Forgotten About - Tuesday, March 20, 2012
• Predicament: Closing Time - Monday, March 19, 2012
• Predicament: Hasan Baharin - Sunday, March 18, 2012
• Predicament: A Pimple of my Nose - Saturday, March 17, 2012
• Predicament: What is Mike Cooking? - Friday, March 16, 2012
• Predicament: Papa Eriong - Thursday, March 15, 2012
• Predicament: Kind Words - Wednesday, March 14, 2012
• Predicament: Music and Whit 2 - Tuesday, March 13, 2012
• Predicament: Music and Whit 1 - Monday, March 12, 2012
• Predicament: What You Want to Be - Sunday, March 11, 2012
• Predicament: Father and Son - Saturday, March 10, 2012
• Liza's Life Plan - Friday, March 09, 2012
• The Colleague - Thursday, March 08, 2012
• Oh Taylor! - Wednesday, March 07, 2012
• Dena - Tuesday, March 06, 2012
• Losing My Job, Again - Monday, March 05, 2012
• A Plane to Nowhere - Sunday, March 04, 2012
• A Slave No More - Saturday, March 03, 2012
• Cirque du Soleil - Friday, March 02, 2012
• Mendocino - Thursday, March 01, 2012
• Th Coming Storm - Wednesday, February 29, 2012
• Becoming Old - Tuesday, February 28, 2012
• Ordinary Lives - Monday, February 27, 2012
• Books I Read - Sunday, February 26, 2012
• Discrimination - Saturday, February 25, 2012
• Quintessential Jokes - Friday, February 24, 2012
• The Catholic Experience - Thursday, February 23, 2012
• Promises, promises - Wednesday, February 22, 2012
• Sleepy - Tuesday, February 21, 2012
• Art for Art's Sake - Monday, February 20, 2012
• Mike's Ash Wednesday - Sunday, February 19, 2012
• Holy - Saturday, February 18, 2012
• Summer Home - Friday, February 17, 2012
• Pickpocketed - Thursday, February 16, 2012
• A Penny for a Drink - Wednesday, February 15, 2012
• My Roman Holiday - Tuesday, February 14, 2012
• Luck and Popularity - Monday, February 13, 2012
• It's Valentine's - Sunday, February 12, 2012
• Bosses - Saturday, February 11, 2012
• Education and Options - Saturday, February 11, 2012
• Windy Portland - Thursday, February 09, 2012
• My Job at Costco - Wednesday, February 08, 2012
• Compassion - Tuesday, February 07, 2012
• The Day Paul had Two Parties and other things - Monday, February 06, 2012
• When I Die - Sunday, February 05, 2012
• Sleeping and Dreaming - Saturday, February 04, 2012
• The Loneliness of a Country Road - Friday, February 03, 2012
• Jordan - Thursday, February 02, 2012
• Taxes Galore - Wednesday, February 01, 2012
•  It's almost Valentines - Monday, January 30, 2012
• Habits We Indulge Ourselves In - Sunday, January 29, 2012
• To Cruise or not to Cruise - Saturday, January 28, 2012
• Blah, Blah, Blah - Friday, January 27, 2012
• Rain - Thursday, January 26, 2012
• Charlie* and Dad - Wednesday, January 25, 2012
• Writing and Being A Writer - Tuesday, January 24, 2012
• True Snow - Monday, January 23, 2012
• Reinvention - Sunday, January 22, 2012
• What I Miss - Saturday, January 21, 2012
• A Gift for Valentine - Thursday, January 19, 2012
• Venerable Mr. Wu - Wednesday, January 18, 2012
• The Snow Storm That Wasn't - Tuesday, January 17, 2012
• The Russians - Monday, January 16, 2012
• The Older Generation - Sunday, January 15, 2012
• What is the other half doing today? - Saturday, January 14, 2012
• Mike's Bird dog Stories - Friday, January 13, 2012
• Dying - Thursday, January 12, 2012
• This Modern Life - Wednesday, January 11, 2012
• Jabberwocky - Tuesday, January 10, 2012
• Marriages and Such - Monday, January 09, 2012
• Poetry in America - Sunday, January 08, 2012
• Old Friendships - Saturday, January 07, 2012
• Clark and a whole of other things - Friday, January 06, 2012
• Being (almost) Late - Thursday, January 05, 2012
• At my Starbucks - Wednesday, January 04, 2012
• The Sandusky Affair - Tuesday, January 03, 2012
• Happy Reading 1 - Monday, January 02, 2012
• New Year 2012 - Monday, January 02, 2012
• A Day with my Nieces - Sunday, January 01, 2012
• To Live and Enjoy Life - Thursday, December 29, 2011
• Goodbye Uncle Paul - Wednesday, December 28, 2011
• It's Hector - Tuesday, December 27, 2011
•  Going Home - Thursday, December 22, 2011  
• A Night in Copenhagen - Wednesday, December 21, 2011
• Trivia Night - Tuesday, December 20, 2011
• Paul's Novels - Monday, December 19, 2011
• Europe - Sunday, December 18, 2011
• Kimmy, my good friend - Friday, December 16, 2011
• The Sad State of my Affairs - Thursday, December 15, 2011
• Once There was a Mansion - Wednesday, December 14, 2011
• Lauren's Happy Uncle's Day - Tuesday, December 13, 2011
• Santa Claus - Monday, December 12, 2011
• Mike, the Francophile - Sunday, December 11, 2011
• The car that never died, I hope - Saturday, December 10, 2011
• My Christmas Lights - Friday, December 09, 2011
• Small Memories - Wednesday, December 07, 2011
• Owning a Business, Bar - Tuesday, December 06, 2011
• What A Wonderful Day - Monday, December 05, 2011
• My Typical Sunday - Sunday, December 04, 2011
• Steve Jobs book - Saturday, December 03, 2011
• Moving on to Spirit Mountain - Friday, December 02, 2011


Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.