AuthorsDen.com   Join (Free!) | Login  

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  Carolyn Matherne, iGracie McKeever, iThomas Neviaser, iJ.E. Thompson, iTerry Vinson, iRichard Rydon, iDavid Litwack, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Paul Cuenco

· Become a Fan
· Contact me
· Books
· Poetry
· News
· Stories
· Blog
· 20 Titles
· 4 Reviews
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: Jun, 2010

Paul Cuenco, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.


Featured Book
Key To Immortality, eBook by Stanislaw Kapuscinski
by Stan Law (aka Stanislaw Kapuscinski)

Following his Dictionary of Biblical Symbolism, the author unveils the Key to Immortality hidden in the Coptic text of the 114 sayings of Jesus, in The Gospel of Thomas...  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members










Blogs by Paul Cuenco

Bosses
2/11/2012 8:31:43 PM
“When all of you get old (like I am) you will screw up, frequently, like I did this morning. Paul kindly pointed out to me that I stated the week starting the 27th is wide open. It is...but so is the week beginning the 20th…which is what I meant to say. Thank you Paul.”

The statement seemed inconsequential but it meant a lot to me. This was a boss who knew how to admit his mistakes, who was kind and who knew how to give thanks. But I supposed that I am not the only one he was like this to. He was gracious every single day for the contribution I or anyone had given to the cause. When we exceeded our daily goal he thanked us in such a sweet way that makes you proud of your achievement. And when you didn’t reach your goal, there was a supportive encouragement that will give you impetus to try harder the next time.

I was fortunate enough to have bosses who were kind to me: Tom Anderson, Jackie Donohoe and Randy Taylor. Of course there were others. But they spent time with me and teach me the rudiments of gracious decorum. In my immature days, when I had fights with my immediate supervisor, I tendered my resignation. Tom Anderson wanted me to remain in my position so he offered me a chance not to resign. Things did not work out but inspite of chastising me he calmly let me go and gave me a valuable gift. There were other acts he’d done but that will be told in another blog.

The longest tenure I spent my time in was with Jackie and Randy. They both worked together. Randy was my immediate supervisor while Jackie was Randy’s boss. Both were considered friends of mine. But the way we interacted was such that it remained professional. When my father was dying, Jackie had demonstrated compassion by supporting me in whatever I did. She was willing to give me leeway not because it was company policy but because she was true to herself. One time also, I quit my job but she was willing to re-hire me; and she did.

Randy was a true friend. He was the conduit between Jackie and me. When I was looking for a job, he was the person who recommended me to Jackie for me to be re-hired. When I worked with him, which was not always, we really had a good time. He trained me and saw to my progress. Up until now, we still kept in touch. Through this long friendship, Randy demonstrated his support for whatever I endeavor to do.

There were worse bosses. But my time on this earth will not allow me to dwell upon them. I figured that there was more to learn from the people who had contributed to my welfare than dwelling on things that made my life miserable. Besides, I am too old, now that I have learned the rudiments of kindness and graciousness to throw these things I learned out the window.

And as for my current boss, it becomes harder to find another boss in another job. For his graciousness to admit his mistake (publicly), to know how to thank his employees and his kindness to those below him are hallmarks that makes a boss a truly great boss.

Available in:
AuthorsDen.com/paulcuenco
predicament-paul.blogspot.com
paulcuenco.wordpress.com
www.paulcuenco.com

Other literary work, search Paul Cuenco in:
www.Lulu.com
www.Kindle.com
www.Amazon.com
www.Nook.com
www.BN.com (Barnes and Nobles)



Post a Comment

More Blogs by Paul Cuenco
• Predicament: Dave and Annette's Housewarming 2012 - Sunday, September 16, 2012
• Predicament: Portland Sands and its vicinity - Sunday, September 02, 2012
• Predicament: Mississippi Street Fair, Portland, Oregon - Saturday, August 25, 2012
• Predicament: Astoria, Oregon - Friday, August 17, 2012
• New Book for Father's Day! - Saturday, June 23, 2012
• Predicament: Saving Money - Wednesday, May 23, 2012
• Predicament: Old Haunts - Sunday, May 13, 2012
• Predicament: Courteous Portland Traffic - Wednesday, May 02, 2012
• Sorry - Wednesday, April 11, 2012
• Predicament: A Day at the Beach - Thursday, April 05, 2012
• Predicament: Dinner at a Deserted Restaurant - Tuesday, April 03, 2012
• Predicament: My Stroke and Writing - Monday, April 02, 2012
• Predicament: The World of the Bay Area - Sunday, April 01, 2012
• Predicament: A Competitor Indeed - Saturday, March 31, 2012
• Predicament: Democracy! - Friday, March 30, 2012
• Predicament: The Garden Party - Thursday, March 29, 2012
• Predicament: Gift-Giving - Wednesday, March 28, 2012
• Predicament: Suicide - Tuesday, March 27, 2012
• Predicament: Water, Water Everywhere - Monday, March 26, 2012
• Predicament: The Floods Of Manila - Sunday, March 25, 2012
• Predicament: Tita Dimple's recollection of Papa Trining - Saturday, March 24, 2012
• Predicament: The Future Should Be Brighter - Friday, March 23, 2012
• Predicament: Death of a Writer - Thursday, March 22, 2012
• Predicament: The Season Re-liveth - Wednesday, March 21, 2012
• Predicament: Time Had Forgotten About - Tuesday, March 20, 2012
• Predicament: Closing Time - Monday, March 19, 2012
• Predicament: Hasan Baharin - Sunday, March 18, 2012
• Predicament: A Pimple of my Nose - Saturday, March 17, 2012
• Predicament: What is Mike Cooking? - Friday, March 16, 2012
• Predicament: Papa Eriong - Thursday, March 15, 2012
• Predicament: Kind Words - Wednesday, March 14, 2012
• Predicament: Music and Whit 2 - Tuesday, March 13, 2012
• Predicament: Music and Whit 1 - Monday, March 12, 2012
• Predicament: What You Want to Be - Sunday, March 11, 2012
• Predicament: Father and Son - Saturday, March 10, 2012
• Liza's Life Plan - Friday, March 09, 2012
• The Colleague - Thursday, March 08, 2012
• Oh Taylor! - Wednesday, March 07, 2012
• Dena - Tuesday, March 06, 2012
• Losing My Job, Again - Monday, March 05, 2012
• A Plane to Nowhere - Sunday, March 04, 2012
• A Slave No More - Saturday, March 03, 2012
• Cirque du Soleil - Friday, March 02, 2012
• Mendocino - Thursday, March 01, 2012
• Th Coming Storm - Wednesday, February 29, 2012
• Becoming Old - Tuesday, February 28, 2012
• Ordinary Lives - Monday, February 27, 2012
• Books I Read - Sunday, February 26, 2012
• Discrimination - Saturday, February 25, 2012
• Quintessential Jokes - Friday, February 24, 2012
• The Catholic Experience - Thursday, February 23, 2012
• Promises, promises - Wednesday, February 22, 2012
• Sleepy - Tuesday, February 21, 2012
• Art for Art's Sake - Monday, February 20, 2012
• Mike's Ash Wednesday - Sunday, February 19, 2012
• Holy - Saturday, February 18, 2012
• Summer Home - Friday, February 17, 2012
• Pickpocketed - Thursday, February 16, 2012
• A Penny for a Drink - Wednesday, February 15, 2012
• My Roman Holiday - Tuesday, February 14, 2012
• Luck and Popularity - Monday, February 13, 2012
• It's Valentine's - Sunday, February 12, 2012
•  Bosses - Saturday, February 11, 2012  
• Education and Options - Saturday, February 11, 2012
• Windy Portland - Thursday, February 09, 2012
• My Job at Costco - Wednesday, February 08, 2012
• Compassion - Tuesday, February 07, 2012
• The Day Paul had Two Parties and other things - Monday, February 06, 2012
• When I Die - Sunday, February 05, 2012
• Sleeping and Dreaming - Saturday, February 04, 2012
• The Loneliness of a Country Road - Friday, February 03, 2012
• Jordan - Thursday, February 02, 2012
• Taxes Galore - Wednesday, February 01, 2012
•  It's almost Valentines - Monday, January 30, 2012
• Habits We Indulge Ourselves In - Sunday, January 29, 2012
• To Cruise or not to Cruise - Saturday, January 28, 2012
• Blah, Blah, Blah - Friday, January 27, 2012
• Rain - Thursday, January 26, 2012
• Charlie* and Dad - Wednesday, January 25, 2012
• Writing and Being A Writer - Tuesday, January 24, 2012
• True Snow - Monday, January 23, 2012
• Reinvention - Sunday, January 22, 2012
• What I Miss - Saturday, January 21, 2012
• A Gift for Valentine - Thursday, January 19, 2012
• Venerable Mr. Wu - Wednesday, January 18, 2012
• The Snow Storm That Wasn't - Tuesday, January 17, 2012
• The Russians - Monday, January 16, 2012
• The Older Generation - Sunday, January 15, 2012
• What is the other half doing today? - Saturday, January 14, 2012
• Mike's Bird dog Stories - Friday, January 13, 2012
• Dying - Thursday, January 12, 2012
• This Modern Life - Wednesday, January 11, 2012
• Jabberwocky - Tuesday, January 10, 2012
• Marriages and Such - Monday, January 09, 2012
• Poetry in America - Sunday, January 08, 2012
• Old Friendships - Saturday, January 07, 2012
• Clark and a whole of other things - Friday, January 06, 2012
• Being (almost) Late - Thursday, January 05, 2012
• At my Starbucks - Wednesday, January 04, 2012
• The Sandusky Affair - Tuesday, January 03, 2012
• Happy Reading 1 - Monday, January 02, 2012
• New Year 2012 - Monday, January 02, 2012
• A Day with my Nieces - Sunday, January 01, 2012
• To Live and Enjoy Life - Thursday, December 29, 2011
• Goodbye Uncle Paul - Wednesday, December 28, 2011
• It's Hector - Tuesday, December 27, 2011
• Going Home - Thursday, December 22, 2011
• A Night in Copenhagen - Wednesday, December 21, 2011
• Trivia Night - Tuesday, December 20, 2011
• Paul's Novels - Monday, December 19, 2011
• Europe - Sunday, December 18, 2011
• Kimmy, my good friend - Friday, December 16, 2011
• The Sad State of my Affairs - Thursday, December 15, 2011
• Once There was a Mansion - Wednesday, December 14, 2011
• Lauren's Happy Uncle's Day - Tuesday, December 13, 2011
• Santa Claus - Monday, December 12, 2011
• Mike, the Francophile - Sunday, December 11, 2011
• The car that never died, I hope - Saturday, December 10, 2011
• My Christmas Lights - Friday, December 09, 2011
• Small Memories - Wednesday, December 07, 2011
• Owning a Business, Bar - Tuesday, December 06, 2011
• What A Wonderful Day - Monday, December 05, 2011
• My Typical Sunday - Sunday, December 04, 2011
• Steve Jobs book - Saturday, December 03, 2011
• Moving on to Spirit Mountain - Friday, December 02, 2011


Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.