AuthorsDen.com   Join Free! | Login    
Happy 4th of July!
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  Ms Beeds, iGina McKnight, iDeborah Frontiera, iIan Thorpe, im j hollingshead, iKarl Morgan, iPhilip Hughes-Luing, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Paul Cuenco

· + Follow Me
· Contact Me
· Books
· Poetry
· News
· Stories
· Blog
· 20 Titles
· 4 Reviews
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: Jun, 2010

Paul Cuenco, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.







Blogs by Paul Cuenco

Cirque du Soleil
3/2/2012 10:20:17 PM    [ Flag as Inappropriate ]

I was having dinner at New Season’s grocery when I realized that the Academy Awards was already on. It started at about 5:30 pm and now, it was already past an hour. I have the option of going home but because I plan to spend the evening at Greater Trumps, I decided to watch it at the Bagdad Theater. When I entered the theater, they were having Trivia during the intermission. But soon enough, the show went on the screen and the segment featured Cirque du Soleil.

How exciting! There were men in ropes dangling from the ceiling, up and down the stage where an actor was pursued by a plane, but it was just a backdrop to the actual goings on of the trapeze artists. Then a whole entourage suddenly came into view. They tumbled and performed acrobatic no other circus could have done. They balance on each others backs, feet and hands. More trapeze artist appeared not on stage but by the ceiling. And the end was perfect. When the music stopped all the artists was standing at attention. All in all, everything was superb that the audience stood up and paid tribute to their competence.

My introduction to Cirque du Soleil was “Mystere”. It was a mumbo-jumbo of artsy monsters and big Baby Hue. It was a collection of humongous faces peering at you as you wonder why they were peering at you. The audience became part of the show when dancers with flamboyant costumes started dancing with us with a sort of music too mysterious to place. There were juggling and acrobatics galore and drama to behold. These were breath-taking for it was beautiful, beautiful in a weird sense that its concept was created from out of this world.

“O” was another show I have seen in Las Vegas. Ticket sales had been sold out at the Bellagio Hotel that I had to line up at the window for those who had canceled. But I got in. In fact, I had taken the very first seat at the front. It started with sounds of droplets of water and as soon as I realized what was going on, a man held onto the curtain as the entire curtain whirled up and disappeared into the rooftop. And then, the show commenced for I didn’t know what came next; they were a hodgepodge of diving and dancing, swimming, a parade, aside from the usual unique acrobatics you came to expect of Cirque du Soleil. There was a scene where a man was playing the piano while the entire stage sank in an abyss of water, taking him with it.

As I sat in my usual place at Greater Trumps, I had a conversation with a bunch of friends. Russ was there, and so were Cody, Dave, Mission Mike and Whit. They were in the Pub while I was in the theater nearby, The Bagdad, watching the Oscars. So when I brought up Cirque du Soleil, they said good things about it.

Russ went to see “Ka” and “Elvis”. He said that they were incredible performing to the level they had been performing. He thought that their performance was a joke before he attended it. There was hesitation on his part in seeing the show. But after the show, there was this “oh my god” moment because of the spectacle he witnessed. Russ and Whit exchanged blurbs.

Halfway, you don’t want to be there but you ended up saying wow. Cirque du Soleil is the pinnacle of doing gymnastics in true artistic form. There is this level of confidence to be able to do it. They are all fit. But, what if they perform well, day in and day out, that one day they are just off beat? I don’t think that I can ever do the things they do. I can probably do other sports but I can’t do what they are doing. The contortionist, the flying trapeze, the acrobatics and various forms; no question that they excel in these arts.

I too could not do what they do, even if I were young again. They leave awe and fascination for anyone seeing them perform. They mingle the science of gymnastics with art, and these my friends, was what made Cirque du Soleil magnificent.

Available in:
AuthorsDen.com/paulcuenco
predicament-paul.blogspot.com
paulcuenco.wordpress.com
www.paulcuenco.com

Other literary work, search Paul Cuenco in:
www.Lulu.com
www.Kindle.com
www.Amazon.com
www.Nook.com
www.BN.com (Barnes and Nobles)



Post a Comment

More Blogs by Paul Cuenco
• Predicament: Dave and Annette's Housewarming 2012 - Sunday, September 16, 2012
• Predicament: Portland Sands and its vicinity - Sunday, September 02, 2012
• Predicament: Mississippi Street Fair, Portland, Oregon - Saturday, August 25, 2012
• Predicament: Astoria, Oregon - Friday, August 17, 2012
• New Book for Father's Day! - Saturday, June 23, 2012
• Predicament: Saving Money - Wednesday, May 23, 2012
• Predicament: Old Haunts - Sunday, May 13, 2012
• Predicament: Courteous Portland Traffic - Wednesday, May 02, 2012
• Sorry - Wednesday, April 11, 2012
• Predicament: A Day at the Beach - Thursday, April 05, 2012
• Predicament: Dinner at a Deserted Restaurant - Tuesday, April 03, 2012
• Predicament: My Stroke and Writing - Monday, April 02, 2012
• Predicament: The World of the Bay Area - Sunday, April 01, 2012
• Predicament: A Competitor Indeed - Saturday, March 31, 2012
• Predicament: Democracy! - Friday, March 30, 2012
• Predicament: The Garden Party - Thursday, March 29, 2012
• Predicament: Gift-Giving - Wednesday, March 28, 2012
• Predicament: Suicide - Tuesday, March 27, 2012
• Predicament: Water, Water Everywhere - Monday, March 26, 2012
• Predicament: The Floods Of Manila - Sunday, March 25, 2012
• Predicament: Tita Dimple's recollection of Papa Trining - Saturday, March 24, 2012
• Predicament: The Future Should Be Brighter - Friday, March 23, 2012
• Predicament: Death of a Writer - Thursday, March 22, 2012
• Predicament: The Season Re-liveth - Wednesday, March 21, 2012
• Predicament: Time Had Forgotten About - Tuesday, March 20, 2012
• Predicament: Closing Time - Monday, March 19, 2012
• Predicament: Hasan Baharin - Sunday, March 18, 2012
• Predicament: A Pimple of my Nose - Saturday, March 17, 2012
• Predicament: What is Mike Cooking? - Friday, March 16, 2012
• Predicament: Papa Eriong - Thursday, March 15, 2012
• Predicament: Kind Words - Wednesday, March 14, 2012
• Predicament: Music and Whit 2 - Tuesday, March 13, 2012
• Predicament: Music and Whit 1 - Monday, March 12, 2012
• Predicament: What You Want to Be - Sunday, March 11, 2012
• Predicament: Father and Son - Saturday, March 10, 2012
• Liza's Life Plan - Friday, March 09, 2012
• The Colleague - Thursday, March 08, 2012
• Oh Taylor! - Wednesday, March 07, 2012
• Dena - Tuesday, March 06, 2012
• Losing My Job, Again - Monday, March 05, 2012
• A Plane to Nowhere - Sunday, March 04, 2012
• A Slave No More - Saturday, March 03, 2012
•  Cirque du Soleil - Friday, March 02, 2012  
• Mendocino - Thursday, March 01, 2012
• Th Coming Storm - Wednesday, February 29, 2012
• Becoming Old - Tuesday, February 28, 2012
• Ordinary Lives - Monday, February 27, 2012
• Books I Read - Sunday, February 26, 2012
• Discrimination - Saturday, February 25, 2012
• Quintessential Jokes - Friday, February 24, 2012
• The Catholic Experience - Thursday, February 23, 2012
• Promises, promises - Wednesday, February 22, 2012
• Sleepy - Tuesday, February 21, 2012
• Art for Art's Sake - Monday, February 20, 2012
• Mike's Ash Wednesday - Sunday, February 19, 2012
• Holy - Saturday, February 18, 2012
• Summer Home - Friday, February 17, 2012
• Pickpocketed - Thursday, February 16, 2012
• A Penny for a Drink - Wednesday, February 15, 2012
• My Roman Holiday - Tuesday, February 14, 2012
• Luck and Popularity - Monday, February 13, 2012
• It's Valentine's - Sunday, February 12, 2012
• Bosses - Saturday, February 11, 2012
• Education and Options - Saturday, February 11, 2012
• Windy Portland - Thursday, February 09, 2012
• My Job at Costco - Wednesday, February 08, 2012
• Compassion - Tuesday, February 07, 2012
• The Day Paul had Two Parties and other things - Monday, February 06, 2012
• When I Die - Sunday, February 05, 2012
• Sleeping and Dreaming - Saturday, February 04, 2012
• The Loneliness of a Country Road - Friday, February 03, 2012
• Jordan - Thursday, February 02, 2012
• Taxes Galore - Wednesday, February 01, 2012
• It's almost Valentines - Monday, January 30, 2012
• Habits We Indulge Ourselves In - Sunday, January 29, 2012
• To Cruise or not to Cruise - Saturday, January 28, 2012
• Blah, Blah, Blah - Friday, January 27, 2012
• Rain - Thursday, January 26, 2012
• Charlie* and Dad - Wednesday, January 25, 2012
• Writing and Being A Writer - Tuesday, January 24, 2012
• True Snow - Monday, January 23, 2012
• Reinvention - Sunday, January 22, 2012
• What I Miss - Saturday, January 21, 2012
• A Gift for Valentine - Thursday, January 19, 2012
• Venerable Mr. Wu - Wednesday, January 18, 2012
• The Snow Storm That Wasn't - Tuesday, January 17, 2012
• The Russians - Monday, January 16, 2012
• The Older Generation - Sunday, January 15, 2012
• What is the other half doing today? - Saturday, January 14, 2012
• Mike's Bird dog Stories - Friday, January 13, 2012
• Dying - Thursday, January 12, 2012
• This Modern Life - Wednesday, January 11, 2012
• Jabberwocky - Tuesday, January 10, 2012
• Marriages and Such - Monday, January 09, 2012
• Poetry in America - Sunday, January 08, 2012
• Old Friendships - Saturday, January 07, 2012
• Clark and a whole of other things - Friday, January 06, 2012
• Being (almost) Late - Thursday, January 05, 2012
• At my Starbucks - Wednesday, January 04, 2012
• The Sandusky Affair - Tuesday, January 03, 2012
• Happy Reading 1 - Monday, January 02, 2012
• New Year 2012 - Monday, January 02, 2012
• A Day with my Nieces - Sunday, January 01, 2012
• To Live and Enjoy Life - Thursday, December 29, 2011
• Goodbye Uncle Paul - Wednesday, December 28, 2011
• It's Hector - Tuesday, December 27, 2011
• Going Home - Thursday, December 22, 2011
• A Night in Copenhagen - Wednesday, December 21, 2011
• Trivia Night - Tuesday, December 20, 2011
• Paul's Novels - Monday, December 19, 2011
• Europe - Sunday, December 18, 2011
• Kimmy, my good friend - Friday, December 16, 2011
• The Sad State of my Affairs - Thursday, December 15, 2011
• Once There was a Mansion - Wednesday, December 14, 2011
• Lauren's Happy Uncle's Day - Tuesday, December 13, 2011
• Santa Claus - Monday, December 12, 2011
• Mike, the Francophile - Sunday, December 11, 2011
• The car that never died, I hope - Saturday, December 10, 2011
• My Christmas Lights - Friday, December 09, 2011
• Small Memories - Wednesday, December 07, 2011
• Owning a Business, Bar - Tuesday, December 06, 2011
• What A Wonderful Day - Monday, December 05, 2011
• My Typical Sunday - Sunday, December 04, 2011
• Steve Jobs book - Saturday, December 03, 2011
• Moving on to Spirit Mountain - Friday, December 02, 2011


Biblical Symbolism - eBook by Stan Law (aka Stanislaw Kapuscinski)

Learn the Secret Knowledge of the Bible. ..  
Featured BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members



Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.