AuthorsDen.com   Join (Free!) | Login  

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  Lem Yedowicz, iA. Bell, iDr. Stanley Crawford, iJanet Caldwell, iMargaret Doner, iMiller Caldwell, iTom Hyland, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Barbara Hartmann King

· Become a Fan
· Contact me
· Sponsor Me!
· Books
· Articles
· Poetry
· Stories
· Blog
· 26 Titles
· 40 Reviews
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: Jun, 2010

Barbara Hartmann King, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.


Featured Book
Hit that Blot: A Carol Golden Novel
by Alan Cook

Carol Golden gets a frantic call on the crisis hotline where she volunteers, and this leads her into the seamy world of tournament backgammon...  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members










Blogs by Barbara Hartmann King

The Passion - the Personal relationship with the land
11/8/2011 12:40:07 PM
The passion, the personal relationship with nature are ingredients one must come to terms with while writing the all Australian saga. We live in a harsh, strange country....

      My fourteen years at Oakdale was the true apprenticeship for country living that I utilised so well in my novels.  Here are some more reflections from that time:

           There was a great deal of debt and struggling with the rearing and education of children.  And, of course Mother Nature has her spontaneous outbursts on a regular basis in the guise of bushfires and floods, cyclones, army worms and locust to name a few; while there was always the continual need to keep the banks happy. I can honestly say there was not a day when I did not appreciate a personal relationship with living on the land, with the resultant emotions, passion and pain,which are the necessary ingredients essential to penning the all-Australian epic saga. One must feel the sentiments and enthusiasm, the connection to the life and the land to make it believable. I had to bring the people and the land they occupied to stark reality. I could not have penned my country sagas if I had not experienced the living breathing essence that comes from actually living the life. I have indeed stood in those cattle yards and smelt the fear and danger of wild beasts….

More tomorrow.

http://www.colouredsandstrilogy.com.au 

class="MsoNormal" style="margin-bottom:0cm;margin-bottom:.0001pt;line-height:150%">                                               

 



Post a Comment

More Blogs by Barbara Hartmann King
• Man Eating Birds - Thursday, November 01, 2012
• THE SIGN POST - Tuesday, July 24, 2012
• LOVE IS - Wednesday, June 13, 2012
• Poems from The Tan People - - Tuesday, May 22, 2012
• The first novel - a biography of Emily - Wednesday, May 02, 2012
• Taipans, pig shooters and man eating birds - Thursday, April 19, 2012
• Laugh Kookaburra Laugh - Tuesday, April 10, 2012
• Characters for Country Dramas - Sunday, April 01, 2012
• The Oasis in the Heart of Queensland - Monday, March 19, 2012
• Coloured Sands Dreaming Legend - Wednesday, March 07, 2012
• A Hundred Million Years Ago - Saturday, February 18, 2012
• Where couples met and Fell in Love - Monday, February 13, 2012
• The Jet-Propelled Emus - Wednesday, February 08, 2012
• Not a Castle anywhere - only Grand old Homesteads - Thursday, February 02, 2012
• Invitations - requesting your pleasure - Sunday, January 29, 2012
• Love Is - Thursday, January 26, 2012
• Inspiration form Multicoloured Sand Dunes - Wednesday, January 25, 2012
• The first coat of paint in 100 years - Monday, November 28, 2011
• Happy Jacks and Sand Goannas - Wednesday, November 23, 2011
• The old Homestead-Digging into the past for themes - Tuesday, November 22, 2011
• Coloured Sands Trilogy - Monday, November 21, 2011
• Life at Wyuna where the writing began - Friday, November 18, 2011
• A plague of army worm months were the final straw - Thursday, November 17, 2011
• Life is about change-Grandfather married again - Wednesday, November 16, 2011
• Raising money for the community in the country - Tuesday, November 15, 2011
• Charity Work in Country Towns -the Lions Club - Monday, November 14, 2011
• Knowledge gleaned from living in the bush for my outback novels. - Sunday, November 13, 2011
• Nature's Cruel Outbursts - Saturday, November 12, 2011
• The Passion and my imagination - Wednesday, November 09, 2011
•  The Passion - the Personal relationship with the land - Tuesday, November 08, 2011  
• The Vet said: Your horse will get up Or he will lie there and die - Monday, November 07, 2011
• Once an Inland Sea - more - Sunday, November 06, 2011
• Once an inland Sea - no other explanation - Saturday, November 05, 2011
• Life in the Bush - Fodder for Country Dramas - Friday, November 04, 2011
• Medical Emergencies in the Bush - Thursday, November 03, 2011
• Just like Mary the Pioneer Woman - Wednesday, November 02, 2011
• Identifying with my character - The Pioneering Woman Mary - Tuesday, November 01, 2011
• Inspiration for Characters of early settlement - Ancestors - Monday, October 31, 2011
• Coloured Sands Trilogy - Sunday, October 30, 2011
• Coloured Sands Trilogy - Saturday, October 29, 2011
• Coloured Sands Trilogy - Friday, October 28, 2011


Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.