AuthorsDen.com   Join (Free!) | Login  

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  Su Boddie, iLinda Frank, iCarl David, iJanet Caldwell, i Aberjhani, iTiffany Turner, iGracie McKeever, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Barbara Hartmann King

· Become a Fan
· Contact me
· Sponsor Me!
· Books
· Articles
· Poetry
· Stories
· Blog
· 26 Titles
· 40 Reviews
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: Jun, 2010

Barbara Hartmann King, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.


Featured Book
It's All About Her: A Man-to-Man's Guide to Marital Bliss
by Jim Hamilton

Delivered in a straightforward, witty, and thought-provoking style, It’s All About Her is designed to spur actions and insights that work in the real world. Some of HER s..  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members










Blogs by Barbara Hartmann King

A plague of army worm months were the final straw
11/17/2011 2:34:36 PM
To reiterate on Yesterday’s blog, ( the last years at Oakdale): Life on Oakdale had been a huge learning experience, almost a pioneer existence; but life has to change or one is going around in circles. Looking back now, it would seem growth cannot take place without life’s adversities.

     Continuing the last days at Oakdale: Thegrain production was very much a hit andmiss situation with one good season seemingly followed by two bad seasons. Theyear we planted hundreds of acres of navy beans was the year of our undoing.The crop became infested by a migratory flight of Army worm moths with the resultingcaterpillars stripping the plants bare. It was our first time with navy beansand we had planted a huge crop, naturally hoping for a huge reward. We soughthelp and the spray cropping planes were brought in at great cost. It was aterrible disaster as it was all too late. The crop was lost and we still had topay the crop-dusting company plus the outlay of planting the crop. We did thisby parting with valuable breeding stock to pay for the many thousands ofdollars we owed. Our cattle numbers were vastly depleted. With the banksforever complaining, we sold out and bought the small cattle breeding property Wyuna at Gordonbrook near Kingaroy,again heavily in debt with the banks, too stunned by the experience of cropproduction to ever attempt it again.

Tomorrow – Life at Wyuna.  ‘Wyuna’ is an aboriginal word meaning clear water.

 Comment: barbarahk.westnet.com.au

Http://www.colouredsandstrilogy.com.au

 



Post a Comment

More Blogs by Barbara Hartmann King
• Man Eating Birds - Thursday, November 01, 2012
• THE SIGN POST - Tuesday, July 24, 2012
• LOVE IS - Wednesday, June 13, 2012
• Poems from The Tan People - - Tuesday, May 22, 2012
• The first novel - a biography of Emily - Wednesday, May 02, 2012
• Taipans, pig shooters and man eating birds - Thursday, April 19, 2012
• Laugh Kookaburra Laugh - Tuesday, April 10, 2012
• Characters for Country Dramas - Sunday, April 01, 2012
• The Oasis in the Heart of Queensland - Monday, March 19, 2012
• Coloured Sands Dreaming Legend - Wednesday, March 07, 2012
• A Hundred Million Years Ago - Saturday, February 18, 2012
• Where couples met and Fell in Love - Monday, February 13, 2012
• The Jet-Propelled Emus - Wednesday, February 08, 2012
• Not a Castle anywhere - only Grand old Homesteads - Thursday, February 02, 2012
• Invitations - requesting your pleasure - Sunday, January 29, 2012
• Love Is - Thursday, January 26, 2012
• Inspiration form Multicoloured Sand Dunes - Wednesday, January 25, 2012
• The first coat of paint in 100 years - Monday, November 28, 2011
• Happy Jacks and Sand Goannas - Wednesday, November 23, 2011
• The old Homestead-Digging into the past for themes - Tuesday, November 22, 2011
• Coloured Sands Trilogy - Monday, November 21, 2011
• Life at Wyuna where the writing began - Friday, November 18, 2011
•  A plague of army worm months were the final straw - Thursday, November 17, 2011  
• Life is about change-Grandfather married again - Wednesday, November 16, 2011
• Raising money for the community in the country - Tuesday, November 15, 2011
• Charity Work in Country Towns -the Lions Club - Monday, November 14, 2011
• Knowledge gleaned from living in the bush for my outback novels. - Sunday, November 13, 2011
• Nature's Cruel Outbursts - Saturday, November 12, 2011
• The Passion and my imagination - Wednesday, November 09, 2011
• The Passion - the Personal relationship with the land - Tuesday, November 08, 2011
• The Vet said: Your horse will get up Or he will lie there and die - Monday, November 07, 2011
• Once an Inland Sea - more - Sunday, November 06, 2011
• Once an inland Sea - no other explanation - Saturday, November 05, 2011
• Life in the Bush - Fodder for Country Dramas - Friday, November 04, 2011
• Medical Emergencies in the Bush - Thursday, November 03, 2011
• Just like Mary the Pioneer Woman - Wednesday, November 02, 2011
• Identifying with my character - The Pioneering Woman Mary - Tuesday, November 01, 2011
• Inspiration for Characters of early settlement - Ancestors - Monday, October 31, 2011
• Coloured Sands Trilogy - Sunday, October 30, 2011
• Coloured Sands Trilogy - Saturday, October 29, 2011
• Coloured Sands Trilogy - Friday, October 28, 2011


Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.