AuthorsDen.com   Join | Login  

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  Ralph Cates, iPaul Kyriazi, iNordette Adams, iDanae Wilkin, iZannah Hackett, iSteven Ulmen, iSubbarao Mukkavilli, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Barbara Hartmann King

· Become a Fan
· Contact me
· Sponsor Me!
· Books
· Articles
· Poetry
· Stories
· Blog
· 26 Titles
· 40 Reviews
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: Jun, 2010

Barbara Hartmann King, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.


Featured Book
Maryland Lost and Found...Again
by Eugene Meyer

Award-winning journalist Eugene L. Meyer directs a tour across the "Free State" that is part love letter, part oral history, part obituary. He explores what makes Marylan..  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members










Blogs by Barbara Hartmann King

Coloured Sands Dreaming Legend
3/7/2012 8:42:09 PM    [ Flag as Spam or Inappropriate ]

The title 'Coloured Sands' is a metaphor for race; but the 'Dreaming Legend' of the amazing Coloured Sands beach goes back 40,000 years.

    This Dreaming  Legend that has been handed down through time immeasurable  has a few variations. Each version has a maiden called Murrawar who falls in love with the Rainbow entity whom she loves. Murrawar sings her sweet songs to the Rainbow spirit every morning.One day a very bad man, Burwilla (or old husband in some versions) steals her and beats her cruelly to make her work. She runs away along the beach and Burwilla chases her and throws his killer-boomerang.  She calls to the Rainbow entity that comes running to help her; but the Rainbow spirit is hit by the killer-boomerang, thus forming the Coloured Sands hills along the beach. Some stories have a Rainbow man who is the maiden’s lover, others have a couple of warriors in the story who call on the Rainbow entity to help the maiden; but whatever the version the Rainbow is shattered to form the remarkable hills of Coloured Sands stretching for miles along the pristine beach. 

This is the poem from the first novel of the trilogy that gave credence to the title:

Mary’s Dream

She drifted intoa dreamy world where

frothywater washed onto a beach of coloured sands –

the colour ofpeople - black, white, yellow and brown;

then suddenly ahuge wave, whipped by a fierce wind,

churned and  swallowed the coloured sands 

that kept swirling and curling, around and over, 

this wayand that way until one colour emerged - 

the colour of tan. 

People walked proudly out of those waves – 

beautiful golden tanpeople, the colour of all people combined

 and the eyes thatshone from those beautiful, 

golden, tan faces were full oflove and peace.


Rainbow Beach on the Sunshine Coast is perfectly situated in Queensland's south east between Frazer Island and the resort town of Noosa. 

Coloured Sands Trilogy by Barbara Hartmann King ...

www.colouredsandstrilogy.com.au/

First Novel:  Coloured Sands

Second novel: Valley of the Eagle

Third Novel: The Tan People - a journey intotruth 

 





Post a Comment

More Blogs by Barbara Hartmann King
• Man Eating Birds - Thursday, November 01, 2012
• THE SIGN POST - Tuesday, July 24, 2012
• LOVE IS - Wednesday, June 13, 2012
• Poems from The Tan People - - Tuesday, May 22, 2012
• The first novel - a biography of Emily - Wednesday, May 02, 2012
• Taipans, pig shooters and man eating birds - Thursday, April 19, 2012
• Laugh Kookaburra Laugh - Tuesday, April 10, 2012
• Characters for Country Dramas - Sunday, April 01, 2012
• The Oasis in the Heart of Queensland - Monday, March 19, 2012
•  Coloured Sands Dreaming Legend - Wednesday, March 07, 2012  
• A Hundred Million Years Ago - Saturday, February 18, 2012
• Where couples met and Fell in Love - Monday, February 13, 2012
• The Jet-Propelled Emus - Wednesday, February 08, 2012
• Not a Castle anywhere - only Grand old Homesteads - Thursday, February 02, 2012
• Invitations - requesting your pleasure - Sunday, January 29, 2012
• Love Is - Thursday, January 26, 2012
• Inspiration form Multicoloured Sand Dunes - Wednesday, January 25, 2012
• The first coat of paint in 100 years - Monday, November 28, 2011
• Happy Jacks and Sand Goannas - Wednesday, November 23, 2011
• The old Homestead-Digging into the past for themes - Tuesday, November 22, 2011
• Coloured Sands Trilogy - Monday, November 21, 2011
• Life at Wyuna where the writing began - Friday, November 18, 2011
• A plague of army worm months were the final straw - Thursday, November 17, 2011
• Life is about change-Grandfather married again - Wednesday, November 16, 2011
• Raising money for the community in the country - Tuesday, November 15, 2011
• Charity Work in Country Towns -the Lions Club - Monday, November 14, 2011
• Knowledge gleaned from living in the bush for my outback novels. - Sunday, November 13, 2011
• Nature's Cruel Outbursts - Saturday, November 12, 2011
• The Passion and my imagination - Wednesday, November 09, 2011
• The Passion - the Personal relationship with the land - Tuesday, November 08, 2011
• The Vet said: Your horse will get up Or he will lie there and die - Monday, November 07, 2011
• Once an Inland Sea - more - Sunday, November 06, 2011
• Once an inland Sea - no other explanation - Saturday, November 05, 2011
• Life in the Bush - Fodder for Country Dramas - Friday, November 04, 2011
• Medical Emergencies in the Bush - Thursday, November 03, 2011
• Just like Mary the Pioneer Woman - Wednesday, November 02, 2011
• Identifying with my character - The Pioneering Woman Mary - Tuesday, November 01, 2011
• Inspiration for Characters of early settlement - Ancestors - Monday, October 31, 2011
• Coloured Sands Trilogy - Sunday, October 30, 2011
• Coloured Sands Trilogy - Saturday, October 29, 2011
• Coloured Sands Trilogy - Friday, October 28, 2011


Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.