AuthorsDen.com   Join Free! | Login    
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  Michael Charles Messineo, iGeorge Wallach, iDavid Hearne, iSam Vaknin, iGwen Madoc, iRM DAmato, iPatricia Garber, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Karen Laura-lee-Lee Wilson

  + Follow Me   

· 27 titles
· 48 Reviews
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: Jun, 2011

   Sitemap
   My Blog
   Contact Author
   Read Reviews

Books
· Recipes for Survival: Stories of Hope and Healing.

· Gaining a sense of self is now available as an e-book Kindle. 445 p.


Short Stories
· All Aglow in Te Anau

· Doggy Doings and Other Matters

· Butt Out

· Chinese Takeaway

· Sandy Freckles' Diary

· Innocents Abroad in Tasmania

· A Ratty Tale

· Perfect Day

· Reminiscences of Thedbo Village, New South Wales

· Life in the Fast Lane


Articles
· On their Own: Britain's Child Migrants

· The Last Goodbye

· The Common Thread

· Finding Ted

· Violet Tasma Cleary: a Tragic and Short Life


Poetry
· Easter Bunny

· Ode to Bella

· Lost Love

· Hi

· For Sandy

· Ode to Rain

· Memento

· Destiny Beckons

         More poetry...
News
· From Barmaid to Arts Graduate: my journey

· Foot Steps Towards Freedom Project

· Appointment to Find and Connect Reference Group

· Review of On Their Own: Britain's Child Migrants Exhibition

· Poetry Course: Making Fountains with Dictionaries

· Care Leavers in Higher Education

· 100,000 Abused, Wanting to Tell

Karen Laura-lee-Lee Wilson, click here to update your web pages on AuthorsDen.
Books by Karen Laura-lee-Lee Wilson




Blogs by Karen Laura-lee-Lee Wilson

Wake-Up Call
8/27/2011 6:46:21 PM    [ Flag as Inappropriate ]

As I've become older my body has been quietly deteriorating away. It took a massive 'thump' to alert me to what was happening.
One Monday evening late July I was busy in the kitchen cooking tacos for my husband and myself for dinner. It was my habit to have a glass or two of wine while I prepared the meal. Half-way through, George entered the kitchen and handed me the phone.

"You had better take this call" he said. Reluctantly I did so, aware that the meat in the frying pan was bubbling away and nearly ready.

"Mum, Lyndall and I have become engaged." I was flabbergasted and somewhat distractedly asked for details from my son. After enthusing about the engagement I returned the phone to my husband and turned my attention to the stove.

Whether in my confused state I had unknowingly tangled my feet around a bar stool or overbalanced, I'll never know. My body was veering backwards towards the kitchen sink with such velocity I was unable to stop myself from falling. it was such a horrible feeling, being so out of control. There was a huge bang as I hit the metal kitchen sink. Instinctively I braced my elbows for impact on the floor. On the way down I felt a sharp pain in my head as it the metal rubbish container. My body slid to floor, like a rag doll. may be I was out to it for a few moments - I don't know.

Next thing I remember is feeling huge surges of pain.
"George!" I screamed out. White-faced, he was horrified to see my body sprawled out on the floor. It was agony as he assisted me to my feet and together, we made the painful journey up the stairs to our bedroom. I cried with pain as I tried to free my arms from sleeves and with George's help slowly removed the remaining clothing. When climbing onto the bed I screamed with pain as I eased myself inch-by-inch onto the mattress. George gave me pain killers. They eventually worked and I fell asleep.

The next morning I examined my body in the mirror. Both elbows were cut and I could detect the beginnings of purple bruises circling the elbow knobs. My back waist sported a thin red line. Aha! The point of impact. Though feeling stiff and sore I managed slowly to walk down the stairs, unaided. That day my doctor managed to fit me into her busy schedule to examine me. She ordered a CT scan of my neck and upper back and referred me to a neurosurgeon.

Such is the the shortage of specialists in Tasmania I wasn't able to see her until last Wednesday 24 August. In the interim, the specialist requested more CT scans and ex-rays. When I finally saw her she detected three stress fractures in my lower spine that showed up on the ex-rays.

No wonder I was feeling so much pain when I vacuumed; carried groceries; and lugged washing to the clothesline.
"No lifting" she advised. That was a bit of a joke telling me four weeks later after the event. This week I shall have a CT for the T8-T12 section of my back and a MRI of my brain. Wow! I shall have to wait another month before I am told the results.

From now on I shall be calling myself 'Karen Crumble'. In the meantime I shall be refraining from drinking alcohol and living each day more mindfully.


Post a Comment

More Blogs by Karen Laura-lee-Lee Wilson
• Holiday in Queensland - Tuesday, October 22, 2013
• Discarded Clothes - Saturday, August 31, 2013
• Party Time - Monday, August 19, 2013
• Alone in the Dark - Sunday, August 11, 2013
• Anniversaries: Past and Present - Friday, July 26, 2013
• Adjusting to Bella - Sunday, July 21, 2013
• The Coming of Bella - Tuesday, July 16, 2013
• The Ethics of Abortion - Thursday, June 20, 2013
• Ted's Itinerary - Monday, March 18, 2013
• Entertaining Ted - Thursday, March 14, 2013
• Entertaiing Ted - Thursday, March 14, 2013
• A Hectic Week Ahead - Monday, March 11, 2013
• Whew! - Monday, February 18, 2013
• The Christmas Season - Sunday, December 30, 2012
• Post Colonoscopy Operation - Thursday, November 29, 2012
• Fasting for the Procedure - Tuesday, November 27, 2012
• One Day at a Time - Wednesday, November 21, 2012
• Hurricane Sandy's Massiive Impact - Wednesday, October 31, 2012
• Update of Illness in the Family - Tuesday, October 30, 2012
• Illness in the Family - Thursday, October 25, 2012
• The Price of Getting Older - Friday, October 19, 2012
• Thursdays - Wednesday, October 10, 2012
• Abduction - Friday, September 28, 2012
• More Than a Coincidence - Monday, August 27, 2012
• Notes on My Recent Cruise in Europe - Wednesday, August 15, 2012
• Mindfulness Exercise - Sunday, August 12, 2012
• Cruising along the Danube and Rhine Rivers - Wednesday, August 01, 2012
• Honouring the Life of James Gavin Paterson - Wednesday, July 04, 2012
• 10 Days to Go - Saturday, May 26, 2012
• Autumn Lingers - Wednesday, May 09, 2012
• Holiday of a Life Time - Sunday, March 11, 2012
• Compassion for Native Animals - Saturday, February 18, 2012
• A Bit of Chichat - Monday, January 09, 2012
• Christmas Time - Friday, December 09, 2011
• Health Issues and Other Matters - Friday, October 07, 2011
• What's Happening in Hobart - Sunday, September 11, 2011
•  Wake-Up Call - Saturday, August 27, 2011  
• The Connection between Schoolyard and Workplace Bullying - Friday, August 19, 2011
• Winter in Tasmania - Friday, August 05, 2011
• A Synopsis of My Talk at the Republic Bar on 3rd July - Monday, July 04, 2011
• The Rigours of Life - Friday, July 01, 2011
• Update on My writing and Other matters - Wednesday, June 22, 2011
• Such Is Life - Wednesday, June 15, 2011


The History Suite by Catriona King

Crime Series..  
Featured BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members



Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.