AuthorsDen.com   Join Free! | Login    
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  jd young, iNina Anderson, iKatharine Giovanni, iDavid Gelber, iKathleen Morris, iMs Beeds, iDave Brooks, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Linda Lange

· + Follow Me
· Contact Me
· Books
· News
· Stories
· Blog
· 2 Titles
· 2 Reviews
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: May, 2012

Linda Lange, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.



Books by Linda Lange




Blogs by Linda Lange

CONFESSIONS OF AN INTERNET JUNKIE
7/15/2012 11:37:11 AM

I'm too old to be addicted to the Internet ... aren't I?

Let痴 get something straight. I have never texted while driving. I check my-email at stoplights, though. Particularly when the light is red.

My name is Linda, and I知 an Internet junkie. This is not supposed to be happening to me. I am 64 years old. This is something that happens to kids. Stupid kids.

I had to learn about WordPress, Facebook, Twitter, and Goodreads to promote my book, Incomplete Passes. But this goes farther. I admit it, I知 obsessed.

When I was a kid, computers took up entire rooms. Today I知 besotted with one that fits in the palm of my hand. I would rather leave my house minus underwear than without my smartphone.

">http://redroom.com/files/u51674/rsz_smartphone.jpg" width=252 height=341>When I was a kid, computers took up entire rooms. Today I知 besotted with one that fits in the palm of my hand. I would rather leave my house minus underwear than without my smartphone.

When my husband and I go out to dinner, I fidget throughout the meal, looking at my phone repeatedly. I note what our son has posted on Facebook and relay it to my husband. Our son lives 2,000 miles away. This is how we keep up with him. Dinner is meant to be family time, right?

I check for e-mail and texts. Ten minutes later I check again. Someone might send me an urgent message. My husband falls asleep waiting for me to come to bed. I知 down the hall surfing the 鮮et. My name is Linda

My friend Marilyn is a psychologist specializing in addiction. 的t痴 easy to tell if you池e addicted to your computer, she told me. 鼎heck the list in my book. So I pulled out Addicted? by Marilyn Freimuth, Ph.D. (Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, Inc., 2008).

Marilyn named eleven criteria for computer addiction (I致e abbreviated them to conserve space).

1. Experiences gratification when on computer

2. Preoccupied with computer activity

3. Needs to spend increasingly more time on computer to change mood

4. Fails repeated efforts to control activities

5. Restless and tense when not on computer

6. Needs to return to computer to escape problems or relieve mood

7. Neglects social, familial, education, or work obligations

8. Lies to family members, therapists, and others about extent of time spent on computer

9. Threatens or loses significant relationships, job, etc., because of computer usage

10. Physical signs, such as carpal tunnel syndrome, backaches, dry eyes, etc.

11. Changes in sleep patterns

If five apply, you池e addicted. I got eight. Sheesh! How many did you get?

I haven稚 even mentioned Words with Friends. I play with my friend Carla, who lives in Wisconsin. She plays on her iPad and I play on my phone. Recently I was driving on an errand, maybe ten miles, and I stopped twice because my phone dinged and I had to check out Carla痴 move. At least I pulled over.

But I can justify this. Carla, who痴 my age, says she plays Words to keep her mind sharp. That痴 it! All this Internet stuff is keeping my mind sharp. If I stay on the 鮮et, my mind will stay sharp and in fifteen or twenty years, I won稚 have to go to a nursing home.

If I do go, they better have WiFi.



Post a Comment

More Blogs by Linda Lange
• HALLOWEEN AS IT USED TO BE - Tuesday, October 29, 2013
• IT'S HER BODY, BUT ... - Tuesday, October 22, 2013
• ARE OLD LADIES CUTE? - Tuesday, October 01, 2013
• NONE OF MY BUSINESS - Tuesday, September 24, 2013
• TOM BROWNING SAVED MY LIFE - Tuesday, September 10, 2013
• SOCIAL SECURITY? ME? - Saturday, August 17, 2013
• THE TOUGHEST LOVE - Saturday, July 27, 2013
• GET OVER IT? - Wednesday, July 17, 2013
• EULOGY FOR A SUPPER CLUB - Tuesday, July 02, 2013
• I DON'T LIKE TO SEE MY HEROES HURTING - Sunday, June 23, 2013
• MEMORIES IN A BOTTLE - Sunday, June 09, 2013
• CULTURE SHOCK IN A '13 CIVIC - Saturday, May 25, 2013
• BAMBI GO HOME - Saturday, May 04, 2013
• WHAT FAMILY DOES - Monday, April 29, 2013
• THE TALK - Tuesday, April 09, 2013
• I SAID "NO"! - Tuesday, April 02, 2013
• BOOMER LIT - Tuesday, March 05, 2013
• A PIECE OF MY LIFE, ON STAGE - Sunday, February 24, 2013
• I MISS NEWSPAPERS! - Tuesday, February 12, 2013
• SOMETHING TO HOLD ONTO - Tuesday, February 05, 2013
• SNOW DAY - Sunday, January 27, 2013
• KAEPERNICKING, OR YOU GOTTA HAVE A GIMMICK - Thursday, January 17, 2013
• STILL SO INTO THIS - Monday, January 14, 2013
• A NEW START FOR LILY AND ELLIE - Sunday, January 06, 2013
• REFLECTING ON MY 2012 - Monday, December 31, 2012
• HONEY, HAVE THE STEINBERGS PUT UP THEIR LIGHTS? - Thursday, December 20, 2012
• REQUIEM FOR TWO SPORTS BARS - Saturday, December 08, 2012
• THE YEAR WE WERE REALLY THANKFUL - Tuesday, November 20, 2012
• MY CREATIVE FOUNTAIN IS A CHLORINATED POOL - Sunday, November 18, 2012
• CIVIC DUTY? - Monday, November 05, 2012
• FOOTBALL FASHION - Monday, October 29, 2012
• GREEN TOMATOES - Sunday, October 21, 2012
• THIS BIG ONE DOESN'T NECESSARILY BITE - Sunday, October 14, 2012
• THE KNEECAP - Saturday, October 06, 2012
• THE ROAD NOT TAKEN - Sunday, September 23, 2012
• EDUCATION OF A NEWBIE AUTHOR: LUNCHEON SPEAKER - Sunday, September 16, 2012
• A QUIET DINNER - Saturday, September 08, 2012
• BATIK AND OLIVER COME HOME - Sunday, September 02, 2012
• ARTSTREET AND HOMETOWN PRIDE - Thursday, August 30, 2012
• OF FOOD, AND LOVE, AND LOVING FOOD - Sunday, August 19, 2012
• NEW BABY/NO PETS? - Sunday, August 05, 2012
• I HOPE I'LL KNOW - Sunday, July 29, 2012
•  CONFESSIONS OF AN INTERNET JUNKIE - Sunday, July 15, 2012  

• SECONDHAND SMOKE - Saturday, July 07, 2012
• BAY BEACH MEMORIES - Monday, July 02, 2012
• HAPPY ANNIVERSARY, TITLE IX! - Sunday, June 24, 2012
• THE CHAPTER MY HUSBAND MUSTN'T READ - Sunday, June 17, 2012
• JUNE, MOON, BRIDES AND ALL THAT - Sunday, June 03, 2012
• JESSE WHITTENTON RODE IN MY CAR - Thursday, May 24, 2012
• THE PACKERS HERITAGE TRAIL AND ME - Sunday, May 20, 2012
• THE HARDEST THING I'VE EVER HAD TO DO - Monday, May 14, 2012


Growing Up, by Dr Audrey Coatesworth by Audrey Coatesworth

Dr Audrey Coatesworth's poetry book,Growing Up, is for children aged 7-12years. Written by a psychiatrist, and, in metaphorical and rhyming verse to encourage the values, such as ..  
Featured BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members



Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
ゥ AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.