AuthorsDen.com   Join (Free!) | Login  

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  Mike Monahan, iHarry and Elizabeth Lawrence, iBlue Sleighty, iSonny Hudson, iMichael Charles Messineo, iRegina Pounds, iBrian Hill, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Linda Lange

· Become a Fan
· Contact me
· Books
· News
· Blog
· 1 Titles
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: May, 2012

Linda Lange, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.


Featured Book
Into the Crossfire
by Cindy McDonald

A notorious biker destroys Jack Haliday's world. Now Jack has two objectives: 1. Find Gunner 2. Kill Gunner..  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members










Blogs by Linda Lange

OF FOOD, AND LOVE, AND LOVING FOOD
8/19/2012 1:01:42 PM
I can't understand people who eat just to live.

I spent yesterday doing volunteer work, medicating sick cats at a shelter. There was plenty left to do, but I clocked out at 6:40. That allowed me to get dinner on the table by 8.

My husband resents the amount of time I spend at the animal shelter, and one way I make it up to him is to serve a sumptuous Saturday night dinner. Nobody messes with our Saturday night dinner. This week I fell back on a quick but festive standby, Filetto Siciliana. I bought steaks on my way home, pan-broiled them, and served them in a silken sauce made with Marsala wine, butter, and onions. From the freezer I rescued a pan of Tortellini al Forno. The meat-stuffed pasta circles weren’t homemade, but who knows the difference when they’re baked in garlic butter with Parmesan cheese? Saturday night was just fine.

Food has always been important—maybe overly important—to my family and my husband’s. Last night’s meal wasn’t just a taste treat; it evoked memories. On one of our early dates, Scott drove me from the Northwestern University campus to a wonderful Italian restaurant in Highwood, Illinois, where he introduced me to that steak-and-pasta menu. Last weekend we visited my sister-in-law Adrienne, and she too made a point of recreating a favorite meal for us, preparing boudin noir sausages like the ones she and her husband enjoyed on a trip to France.

I remember tears coming to my eyes once when I tasted a salad with Russian dressing. The salad wasn’t that good, but we were in Honolulu in 1970 during Scott’s R&R from Vietnam, and this dinner of salad and Beef Stroganoff was the one “fancy meal” we indulged in. I frequently copy that meal and recall the occasion.

My family expresses love through food ...

To put it simply, my family expresses love through food. Shortly after my parents retired from the store they managed, my mother suffered a debilitating stroke. Mom couldn’t do the cooking, so Dad took over. For the next five years, he collected cookbooks and researched recipes, constantly trying to come up with something new to tempt Mom’s flagging appetite. Dad hadn’t been the most faithful husband, and I don’t know how often he told my mother he loved her, but I’m sure she knew. One of the few things I have left of my father is a collection of recipe cards in his handwriting (above).

I believe this obsession with food has something to do with our Jewish roots. My friend Essi once told me about a party her stepdaughter attended. The festivities ran into the dinner hour, and the hostess wasn’t prepared. She ended up with a group of teenagers bouncing off the walls while she heated a tray of frozen lasagna. “Well, she obviously wasn’t Jewish!” I remarked to Essi, who is.

“Right,” Essi agreed. “We’d start with the menu and then figure out who to invite!”

I can’t understand people who eat only to live.

PS: Next week I’ll be writing from the land of bratwurst and booyah. I’ll be signing INCOMPLETE PASSES at Bosse’s News & Tobacco during Artstreet in Green Bay, Saturday and Sunday, August 25-26, between 12 and 3 each day.



Comments (1)

More Blogs by Linda Lange
• HALLOWEEN AS IT USED TO BE - Tuesday, October 29, 2013
• IT'S HER BODY, BUT ... - Tuesday, October 22, 2013
• ARE OLD LADIES CUTE? - Tuesday, October 01, 2013
• NONE OF MY BUSINESS - Tuesday, September 24, 2013
• TOM BROWNING SAVED MY LIFE - Tuesday, September 10, 2013
• SOCIAL SECURITY? ME? - Saturday, August 17, 2013
• THE TOUGHEST LOVE - Saturday, July 27, 2013
• GET OVER IT? - Wednesday, July 17, 2013
• EULOGY FOR A SUPPER CLUB - Tuesday, July 02, 2013
• I DON'T LIKE TO SEE MY HEROES HURTING - Sunday, June 23, 2013
• MEMORIES IN A BOTTLE - Sunday, June 09, 2013
• CULTURE SHOCK IN A '13 CIVIC - Saturday, May 25, 2013
• BAMBI GO HOME - Saturday, May 04, 2013
• WHAT FAMILY DOES - Monday, April 29, 2013
• THE TALK - Tuesday, April 09, 2013
• I SAID "NO"! - Tuesday, April 02, 2013
• BOOMER LIT - Tuesday, March 05, 2013
• A PIECE OF MY LIFE, ON STAGE - Sunday, February 24, 2013
• I MISS NEWSPAPERS! - Tuesday, February 12, 2013
• SOMETHING TO HOLD ONTO - Tuesday, February 05, 2013
• SNOW DAY - Sunday, January 27, 2013
• KAEPERNICKING, OR YOU GOTTA HAVE A GIMMICK - Thursday, January 17, 2013
• STILL SO INTO THIS - Monday, January 14, 2013
• A NEW START FOR LILY AND ELLIE - Sunday, January 06, 2013
• REFLECTING ON MY 2012 - Monday, December 31, 2012
• HONEY, HAVE THE STEINBERGS PUT UP THEIR LIGHTS? - Thursday, December 20, 2012
• REQUIEM FOR TWO SPORTS BARS - Saturday, December 08, 2012
• THE YEAR WE WERE REALLY THANKFUL - Tuesday, November 20, 2012
• MY CREATIVE FOUNTAIN IS A CHLORINATED POOL - Sunday, November 18, 2012
• CIVIC DUTY? - Monday, November 05, 2012
• FOOTBALL FASHION - Monday, October 29, 2012
• GREEN TOMATOES - Sunday, October 21, 2012
• THIS BIG ONE DOESN'T NECESSARILY BITE - Sunday, October 14, 2012
• THE KNEECAP - Saturday, October 06, 2012
• THE ROAD NOT TAKEN - Sunday, September 23, 2012
• EDUCATION OF A NEWBIE AUTHOR: LUNCHEON SPEAKER - Sunday, September 16, 2012
• A QUIET DINNER - Saturday, September 08, 2012
• BATIK AND OLIVER COME HOME - Sunday, September 02, 2012
• ARTSTREET AND HOMETOWN PRIDE - Thursday, August 30, 2012
•  OF FOOD, AND LOVE, AND LOVING FOOD - Sunday, August 19, 2012  
• NEW BABY/NO PETS? - Sunday, August 05, 2012
• I HOPE I'LL KNOW - Sunday, July 29, 2012
• CONFESSIONS OF AN INTERNET JUNKIE - Sunday, July 15, 2012
• SECONDHAND SMOKE - Saturday, July 07, 2012
• BAY BEACH MEMORIES - Monday, July 02, 2012
• HAPPY ANNIVERSARY, TITLE IX! - Sunday, June 24, 2012
• THE CHAPTER MY HUSBAND MUSTN'T READ - Sunday, June 17, 2012
• JUNE, MOON, BRIDES AND ALL THAT - Sunday, June 03, 2012
• JESSE WHITTENTON RODE IN MY CAR - Thursday, May 24, 2012
• THE PACKERS HERITAGE TRAIL AND ME - Sunday, May 20, 2012
• THE HARDEST THING I'VE EVER HAD TO DO - Monday, May 14, 2012


Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.