AuthorsDen.com   Join | Login  

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  Donna Lynch, iBetty Jo Tucker, iFrederick Brooke, iVaughn Aiken, iAlbert Megraw, iLloyd Lofthouse, iTobias Roote, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Linda Lange

· Become a Fan
· Contact me
· Books
· News
· Blog
· 1 Titles
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: May, 2012

Linda Lange, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.


Featured Book
Beyond Religion, Volume I, eBook
by Stan Law (aka Stanislaw Kapuscinski)

An Inquiry into the Nature of Being. eBook Edition, Non-fiction, 52 Essays, 240 pages ..  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members










Blogs by Linda Lange

ARTSTREET AND HOMETOWN PRIDE
8/30/2012 8:24:33 AM    [ Flag as Spam or Inappropriate ]

Who says you can't go home again?

ARTSTREET AND HOMETOWN PRIDE

Many people say their hometown is a good place to be “from.” Not me—if you’ve read my Incomplete Passes, you know I’m an unabashed homer. I come from Green Bay, Wisconsin, and Green Bay is Titletown USA. It even says so right on City Hall.

The Packers make Green Bay different from a hundred other medium-sized Midwestern cities. But the team is not the only thing there. Every summer for the past 31 years, the city has put on a festival called Artstreet. For one weekend in August, they block off several downtown streets where local artists can display and sell their wares. They’re up to about 200 artists and 80,000 attendees each year. Not bad for a city of 106,000. The festival also includes live bands, cultural exhibits and edible arts.

“It’s always really hot on Artstreet weekend,” people cautioned. “Otherwise it rains.” That didn’t deter me from participating in a group book signing last weekend during Artstreet 2012. About a dozen authors each day, Saturday and Sunday, sat in a tent outside Bosse’s News & Tobacco on Cherry Street and signed their books. The first day it was hot. The second day it rained early, but cleared up as the afternoon wore on. We sold some books, not a lot. I didn’t care. Artstreet gave me an excuse to come home.

You’re probably thinking, “Lots of cities have arts festivals. Can’t she do that in Cincinnati?” Sure I can, but usually I don’t. When I lived in Green Bay as a child, my family went to every event that came to town … traveling theatre companies, circus, rodeo, Holiday on Ice, Roller Derby. But in Cincinnati, and before that when I lived in Washington, DC, I’ve passed up events because I figured it would take too long to get there and the crowds would be too big. Even with most of the town turned out, this festival was accessible. I got there from my suburban motel in less than fifteen minutes and parked in a big ramp that fills the block where my parents’ clothing store once stood. It’s free to park in that ramp on Saturday and Sunday. Not just during Artstreet—every Saturday and Sunday. Green Bay makes it easy for people to come downtown. I like that.

Green Bay-ites of my generation bemoan the destruction of the old downtown. But the city seems to be recognizing its mistakes and coming up with new ideas. I woke early Sunday, grabbed an umbrella, and hiked part of the Packers Heritage Trail. This recently-opened attraction is a self-guided walking tour. Participants can view 22 plaques posted throughout the city, mostly downtown, commemorating the shared history of the football team and its fans. I identified with the Packers, but I also reveled in the combined smells of river, woods, and industry that reminded me I was in Green Bay.

At the old Milwaukee Road depot, I glanced toward the Fox River and discovered something else new to me—a neat brick walkway. I took it north. Riverwalk morphed into CityDeck, another walkway lined with colorful statues, which took me back to the Ray Nitschke Bridge and my car. I was amazed at how free from litter that property was. I was proud of my hometown.

In a weird, 21st-century way, I maintain a friendship with a man who moved away as a child but has the same fondness for all things Green Bay as I do. We found each other on Facebook and connect occasionally on Twitter. We may never meet in person. But we’ll always have Green Bay.



Post a Comment

More Blogs by Linda Lange
• HALLOWEEN AS IT USED TO BE - Tuesday, October 29, 2013
• IT'S HER BODY, BUT ... - Tuesday, October 22, 2013
• ARE OLD LADIES CUTE? - Tuesday, October 01, 2013
• NONE OF MY BUSINESS - Tuesday, September 24, 2013
• TOM BROWNING SAVED MY LIFE - Tuesday, September 10, 2013
• SOCIAL SECURITY? ME? - Saturday, August 17, 2013
• THE TOUGHEST LOVE - Saturday, July 27, 2013
• GET OVER IT? - Wednesday, July 17, 2013
• EULOGY FOR A SUPPER CLUB - Tuesday, July 02, 2013
• I DON'T LIKE TO SEE MY HEROES HURTING - Sunday, June 23, 2013
• MEMORIES IN A BOTTLE - Sunday, June 09, 2013
• CULTURE SHOCK IN A '13 CIVIC - Saturday, May 25, 2013
• BAMBI GO HOME - Saturday, May 04, 2013
• WHAT FAMILY DOES - Monday, April 29, 2013
• THE TALK - Tuesday, April 09, 2013
• I SAID "NO"! - Tuesday, April 02, 2013
• BOOMER LIT - Tuesday, March 05, 2013
• A PIECE OF MY LIFE, ON STAGE - Sunday, February 24, 2013
• I MISS NEWSPAPERS! - Tuesday, February 12, 2013
• SOMETHING TO HOLD ONTO - Tuesday, February 05, 2013
• SNOW DAY - Sunday, January 27, 2013
• KAEPERNICKING, OR YOU GOTTA HAVE A GIMMICK - Thursday, January 17, 2013
• STILL SO INTO THIS - Monday, January 14, 2013
• A NEW START FOR LILY AND ELLIE - Sunday, January 06, 2013
• REFLECTING ON MY 2012 - Monday, December 31, 2012
• HONEY, HAVE THE STEINBERGS PUT UP THEIR LIGHTS? - Thursday, December 20, 2012
• REQUIEM FOR TWO SPORTS BARS - Saturday, December 08, 2012
• THE YEAR WE WERE REALLY THANKFUL - Tuesday, November 20, 2012
• MY CREATIVE FOUNTAIN IS A CHLORINATED POOL - Sunday, November 18, 2012
• CIVIC DUTY? - Monday, November 05, 2012
• FOOTBALL FASHION - Monday, October 29, 2012
• GREEN TOMATOES - Sunday, October 21, 2012
• THIS BIG ONE DOESN'T NECESSARILY BITE - Sunday, October 14, 2012
• THE KNEECAP - Saturday, October 06, 2012
• THE ROAD NOT TAKEN - Sunday, September 23, 2012
• EDUCATION OF A NEWBIE AUTHOR: LUNCHEON SPEAKER - Sunday, September 16, 2012
• A QUIET DINNER - Saturday, September 08, 2012
• BATIK AND OLIVER COME HOME - Sunday, September 02, 2012
•  ARTSTREET AND HOMETOWN PRIDE - Thursday, August 30, 2012  
• OF FOOD, AND LOVE, AND LOVING FOOD - Sunday, August 19, 2012
• NEW BABY/NO PETS? - Sunday, August 05, 2012
• I HOPE I'LL KNOW - Sunday, July 29, 2012
• CONFESSIONS OF AN INTERNET JUNKIE - Sunday, July 15, 2012
• SECONDHAND SMOKE - Saturday, July 07, 2012
• BAY BEACH MEMORIES - Monday, July 02, 2012
• HAPPY ANNIVERSARY, TITLE IX! - Sunday, June 24, 2012
• THE CHAPTER MY HUSBAND MUSTN'T READ - Sunday, June 17, 2012
• JUNE, MOON, BRIDES AND ALL THAT - Sunday, June 03, 2012
• JESSE WHITTENTON RODE IN MY CAR - Thursday, May 24, 2012
• THE PACKERS HERITAGE TRAIL AND ME - Sunday, May 20, 2012
• THE HARDEST THING I'VE EVER HAD TO DO - Monday, May 14, 2012


Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.