AuthorsDen.com   Join (Free!) | Login  

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  Kathy L Wheeler / Kae Elle Wheeler, iKevin Weeks, iPeazy Monellon, iWilliam Pusey, iIsabella Koldras, iKatharine Giovanni, iJack Harney, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Helen C. Downey

· Become a Fan
· Contact me
· Books
· Articles
· Poetry
· News
· Stories
· Blog
· 165 Titles
· 501 Reviews
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: Jan, 2005

   newsletter

Subscribe to the Helen C. Downey Newsletter. Enter your name and email below and click "sign me up!"
Name:
Email:
Helen C. Downey, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.

Featured Book
The Marin Madam
by D.E.Z. Butler

Combination of two books, The Making of a Madam, a 20th Century Woman and Bellflower Boulevard. It is a fictionalized account from those two books and I believe..  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members










Blogs by Helen C. Downey

The Killer
7/14/2006 2:23:05 PM
The pain and agony of summer chores.
The Killer
(Sometimes we have to do a job any which way we can.)



What is happening to our summers? I have noticed the leaves turning yellow and falling all over my country lawn. It saddens me to see the leaves change while it is only mid July. Last week we had tornado like weather with gusts of wind that shook houses and rocked cars. Plants were ruined and yet the weeds thrived. I am too tired to weed ever day. Those varmints materialize within hours.

I was determined to get rid of them so I obtained the strongest weed killer I could find. Armed with hip boots…don’t want the poison ivy, sumac, or oak to touch me as I attempt to tackle the over growth…I carry my large can of pesticide in one hand and the gun in the other. Looking as if I am ready to fight off an Iraqi attacker, I venture towards those pesky weeds.

Auchoo! Darn those allergies! How dare they attack me at a time like this? Not only am I sneezing but my eyes are so watery I don’t know what I may be spraying. Into the house I go to get the benedryl and to wash my face. Alright now I am ready to see those pesky weeds that have invaded my territory.

After about an hour or so and using two large containers of weed killer my hands are sore. Three acres of land is quite a bit to keep up with. Some of the neighbors watched during my attack on the pesky intruders. I glanced once to see one neighbor shaking his head while laughing so hard he had to hold himself up against a tree. Well it was strange to see a small female with large hip boots on, a hat with a net over it covering my face, and wearing a mans’ long sleeve shirt in the humid hot mid afternoon. Somebody had to get it done!

###


Post a Comment

More Blogs by Helen C. Downey
• For the Love of it All - Thursday, December 13, 2007
• For the fun of it all...or is it? - Saturday, June 09, 2007
• Oh Brother! - Friday, June 08, 2007
• A new Baby on the way. - Friday, May 25, 2007
• Just Another Day - Thursday, February 22, 2007
• Lessions to be learned - Wednesday, January 17, 2007
• The Healing Process - Friday, October 20, 2006
• Auggimus the Greek Cat - Monday, October 02, 2006
• The Editor - Saturday, September 16, 2006
• Day of Concern - Tuesday, September 12, 2006
• Nine Eleven - Tuesday, September 12, 2006
• How time flys - Monday, August 28, 2006
• Book Reviews - Friday, August 18, 2006
• My book excerpts from The Chameleons - Thursday, August 17, 2006
• Summer Days - Friday, August 11, 2006
• My Book Sells - Sunday, July 23, 2006
• Getiing it Done! - Friday, July 21, 2006
• Birthdays - Sunday, July 16, 2006
•  The Killer - Friday, July 14, 2006  
• Abuse...the beginings - Tuesday, July 11, 2006
• Rocky Week - Saturday, July 01, 2006
• Todays' Agenda - Monday, June 26, 2006
• Depressed - Thursday, June 22, 2006
• What to do with the teens of the New Millenium - Monday, June 05, 2006
• Work - Saturday, June 03, 2006
• Daily Wonders - Friday, June 02, 2006
• Wonder - Monday, May 29, 2006
• My book release - Monday, May 22, 2006
• Does anyone Care? - Sunday, March 26, 2006
• Another Blah Day - Wednesday, February 22, 2006
• GRRRRR! WHat THe !!!! - Monday, February 20, 2006
• My Birthday! - Saturday, February 18, 2006


Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.