AuthorsDen.com   Join Free! | Login  

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  M.D. Wiselka, iWilliam Bonilla, iShelley Costello, iKevin Weeks, iFrederick Brooke, iSky Purington, iDiana Estill, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Alice E Lewis

· Become a Fan
· Contact me
· Books
· Articles
· Poetry
· News
· Blog
· 13 Titles
· 19 Reviews
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: May, 2005

Alice E Lewis, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.


Featured Book
Runaways, America's Lost Youth By Maryanne Raphael & Jenifer
by Maryanne Raphael

Runaways is a nonfiction study of a million teenagers who ran away from home. By focusing on the problems of 9 runaways it reveals the situation in an all too real way...  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members



Books by
Alice E Lewis



By Hands of Strangers

Buy Options
Signed copy!
Amazon, Barnes & Noble, more..










Blogs by Alice E Lewis

Lemons and Phoenix
5/18/2005 6:16:01 PM    [ Flag as Spam or Inappropriate ]

When life gives you lemons, make lemonade. I'm sure we have all heard that addage many times, usually dismissing it with a chuckle. But lately I have been giving that a lot of thought. There is wisdom in those words.

I read an article by another author from a different author's website who was talking about the same thing.
He related how his interest in baseball and history led him to become the civil war writer that
he is today. He concluded that all the events in his life, good and bad, have shaped him to be the author he is now.

So then, don't cry when life gives you lemons, make lemonade. Well my early life situation during the second world war in Europe defintly was a dish of lemons, no maybe a bushel of lemons; and there was no sugar available
to sweeten it into lemonaide. It took 60 years, but I finally made lemonaide. I wrote the book.

Did I cry when I was writing it? Oh Yes I did. I cried for the little girl who was bereft of her parents, for the little girl who was dying in the hospital. I felt her anguish and fear. I let myself see her for the first
time, and it hurt.

From this desolation the phoenix has risen with new life and healing in it's wings.

Someone once asked me, "When you have had a traumatic past, and you feel that God has finally healed you of it, but you still cry when you tell the story, are really healed of it?" I didn't have the answer for her then but I do now.

I feel like my traumatic past was like a beast trying to crush the life out of me, but I like the phoenix have risen above that beast and have made it to be my servant. That crushing beast has become a charging stallion which I now ride. That stallion is my story. I would not have had a story to tell had these events not happened.

I tell the story to show that there is a way out. Do I cry when I tell it? Sometimes. It shows people that I am human. If I didn't show any emotions in the face of all those events I would be calloused, frozen, like I was for too many years. Then I would still be soul sick.


Post a Comment

More Blogs by Alice E Lewis
• Passing On - Wednesday, August 20, 2008
• WASHING - Tuesday, September 05, 2006
• Persistence - Tuesday, August 29, 2006
• TIME - Tuesday, August 22, 2006
• Dehydrating - Tuesday, August 08, 2006
• Dreadful Discovery - Monday, August 07, 2006
• Run Through the Rain - Sunday, August 06, 2006
• Dominators - Saturday, August 05, 2006
• dDehydrating - Friday, August 04, 2006
• Robbery Attempt - Thursday, August 03, 2006
• A Limmerick - Wednesday, August 02, 2006
• The Rillito - Tuesday, August 01, 2006
• Looking For Trouble - Monday, May 01, 2006
• Less Product Dependent - Saturday, January 28, 2006
• Sour Dough Ali - Saturday, January 28, 2006
• Pots and Pans - Wednesday, October 19, 2005
• How sweet it is! - Thursday, October 06, 2005
• I Think I Can - Friday, September 23, 2005
• Missing Children - Sunday, September 18, 2005
• Emergency Preparedness - Wednesday, September 07, 2005
• Do I look good? - Tuesday, August 23, 2005
• Blog - Thursday, August 04, 2005
• I did it. - Monday, July 18, 2005
• Anticipation - Monday, June 27, 2005
• Amazon - Sunday, June 19, 2005
• Move Over - Saturday, June 18, 2005
• Angel Unaware - Thursday, June 16, 2005
• Famous authors - Tuesday, June 14, 2005
• In Hand - Monday, June 13, 2005
• It's Live - Friday, June 03, 2005
• SHAKE IT OFF - Friday, May 27, 2005
• Cartwheels - Tuesday, May 24, 2005
• Time - Saturday, May 21, 2005
•  Lemons and Phoenix - Wednesday, May 18, 2005  
• Sales - Sunday, May 15, 2005
• Never Forgotten; Never alone - Wednesday, May 11, 2005
• More reason to celebrate - Tuesday, May 10, 2005
• Today I celebrated - Sunday, May 08, 2005


Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.