AuthorsDen.com   Join Free! | Login  

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  Stephen Lodge, im j hollingshead, iGeorge Wallach, iJoe tofuri@swbell.net, iRaymond Sturgis, iKarin Fleischhaker-Griffin, iAlbert Russo, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Alice E Lewis

· Become a Fan
· Contact me
· Books
· Articles
· Poetry
· News
· Blog
· 13 Titles
· 19 Reviews
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: May, 2005

Alice E Lewis, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.


Featured Book
Thirteen Sick Tasteless Classics, Part II
by Jay Dubya

Thirteen Sick Tasteless Classics, Part II is adult literature featuring adult language and situations that satirizes thirteen famous novellas and short stories. It is Jay..  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members



Books by
Alice E Lewis



By Hands of Strangers

Buy Options
Signed copy!
Amazon, Barnes & Noble, more..










Blogs by Alice E Lewis

Sour Dough Ali
1/28/2006 10:59:27 AM    [ Flag as Spam or Inappropriate ]

I have been working on it for quite some time. Now it is finally perfected. Ever since I wrote By Hands of Strangers I have been thinking of ways to become less product dependent. One of the ways is to bake sour dough bread, the kind of bread like I remembered from my childhood, the kind like Nacia baked just before we had to flee Poland. See chapter one of my book. My father also used to bake it when we first came to the United States. Then easy store bought things crept into our lives. Now that both of my parents are gone and I had no one to ask how it was done, I had to experiment with the process till I got it right. It took me two weeks of trial and error till I created a yeast-free sourdough starter. Now I have an active culture sitting in my refrigerator waiting for my next baking day.

This is how I did it. Take one cup of rye flour and one cup water. Stir together and let it sit out in the open for a day. Throw half of it away, and add another cup of rye flour and another cup of water. Do this for as long as it takes till bubbles begin to froth up in your batter. Then refrigerate it for 24 hours before using it. To make a good sourdough starter it needs to ferment at room temperature, which grows the lactobicilli,and at refrigeration temperature, which produces the acidic acid. Both of those are needed to leaven a sourdough loaf of bread.

I will work on recording the amounts of other ingredients to share in my next entry.

Alice
http://www.wordsfromagarden.blogspot.com


Post a Comment

More Blogs by Alice E Lewis
• Passing On - Wednesday, August 20, 2008
• WASHING - Tuesday, September 05, 2006
• Persistence - Tuesday, August 29, 2006
• TIME - Tuesday, August 22, 2006
• Dehydrating - Tuesday, August 08, 2006
• Dreadful Discovery - Monday, August 07, 2006
• Run Through the Rain - Sunday, August 06, 2006
• Dominators - Saturday, August 05, 2006
• dDehydrating - Friday, August 04, 2006
• Robbery Attempt - Thursday, August 03, 2006
• A Limmerick - Wednesday, August 02, 2006
• The Rillito - Tuesday, August 01, 2006
• Looking For Trouble - Monday, May 01, 2006
• Less Product Dependent - Saturday, January 28, 2006
•  Sour Dough Ali - Saturday, January 28, 2006  
• Pots and Pans - Wednesday, October 19, 2005
• How sweet it is! - Thursday, October 06, 2005
• I Think I Can - Friday, September 23, 2005
• Missing Children - Sunday, September 18, 2005
• Emergency Preparedness - Wednesday, September 07, 2005
• Do I look good? - Tuesday, August 23, 2005
• Blog - Thursday, August 04, 2005
• I did it. - Monday, July 18, 2005
• Anticipation - Monday, June 27, 2005
• Amazon - Sunday, June 19, 2005
• Move Over - Saturday, June 18, 2005
• Angel Unaware - Thursday, June 16, 2005
• Famous authors - Tuesday, June 14, 2005
• In Hand - Monday, June 13, 2005
• It's Live - Friday, June 03, 2005
• SHAKE IT OFF - Friday, May 27, 2005
• Cartwheels - Tuesday, May 24, 2005
• Time - Saturday, May 21, 2005
• Lemons and Phoenix - Wednesday, May 18, 2005
• Sales - Sunday, May 15, 2005
• Never Forgotten; Never alone - Wednesday, May 11, 2005
• More reason to celebrate - Tuesday, May 10, 2005
• Today I celebrated - Sunday, May 08, 2005


Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.