AuthorsDen.com   Join (Free!) | Login  

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  Thomas Neviaser, iGloria Gay, iLinda Alexander, iSusan Rempel, iSteve Kerr, iSandy Lender, iAnthony Dalton, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Alice E Lewis

· Become a Fan
· Contact me
· Books
· Articles
· Poetry
· News
· Blog
· 13 Titles
· 19 Reviews
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: May, 2005

Alice E Lewis, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.


Featured Book
From Darkness to Light by Dr Audrey Coatesworth
by Audrey Coatesworth

The poems in 'From Darkness to Light' by Dr Audrey Coatesworth have a commoon theme of suffering and pain. However,most of the poems move the reader along a path of hope..  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members



Books by
Alice E Lewis



By Hands of Strangers

Buy Options
Signed copy!
Amazon, Barnes & Noble, more..










Blogs by Alice E Lewis

The Rillito
8/1/2006 12:47:19 PM
I spent the past several hours sitting by the banks of the Rillito, contemplating.

The Rillito, like many of the rivers in the Sonoran dessert, is dry for most of the year. Mesquite and other shrubs grow in its waterway, drawing on the extra soil moisture available there. The parkway on itís banks is a haven for people wanting to look at greenery. She also provides a source of sustenance for dessert wildlife.

All that changes during the monsoon season. Last week we got slammed with one rainstorm right after another. It has been many months since the last rain. The soil was hard and compacted, impervious to water penetration. The streets became rivers. The low-lying areas became rivers. The rain- water tumbling down the Catalina Mountains became rivers. All the torrents of water from everywhere raced towards the Rillito, filling it slowly, then with a vengeance.

As the water began to rise, the Rillito began to careen downstream, rushing to the San Carlos, ripping up and tossing aside any shrubs growing in itís waterway. She was angry, complaining about the load of water she was asked to carry. And being angry, she overflowed her banks, as though vomiting, dumping mud and debris in peopleís yards and houses.

But it wonít be long until she will have emptied herself. Then, she can be the dry riverbed again, which she prefers.



Post a Comment

More Blogs by Alice E Lewis
• Passing On - Wednesday, August 20, 2008
• WASHING - Tuesday, September 05, 2006
• Persistence - Tuesday, August 29, 2006
• TIME - Tuesday, August 22, 2006
• Dehydrating - Tuesday, August 08, 2006
• Dreadful Discovery - Monday, August 07, 2006
• Run Through the Rain - Sunday, August 06, 2006
• Dominators - Saturday, August 05, 2006
• dDehydrating - Friday, August 04, 2006
• Robbery Attempt - Thursday, August 03, 2006
• A Limmerick - Wednesday, August 02, 2006
•  The Rillito - Tuesday, August 01, 2006  
• Looking For Trouble - Monday, May 01, 2006
• Less Product Dependent - Saturday, January 28, 2006
• Sour Dough Ali - Saturday, January 28, 2006
• Pots and Pans - Wednesday, October 19, 2005
• How sweet it is! - Thursday, October 06, 2005
• I Think I Can - Friday, September 23, 2005
• Missing Children - Sunday, September 18, 2005
• Emergency Preparedness - Wednesday, September 07, 2005
• Do I look good? - Tuesday, August 23, 2005
• Blog - Thursday, August 04, 2005
• I did it. - Monday, July 18, 2005
• Anticipation - Monday, June 27, 2005
• Amazon - Sunday, June 19, 2005
• Move Over - Saturday, June 18, 2005
• Angel Unaware - Thursday, June 16, 2005
• Famous authors - Tuesday, June 14, 2005
• In Hand - Monday, June 13, 2005
• It's Live - Friday, June 03, 2005
• SHAKE IT OFF - Friday, May 27, 2005
• Cartwheels - Tuesday, May 24, 2005
• Time - Saturday, May 21, 2005
• Lemons and Phoenix - Wednesday, May 18, 2005
• Sales - Sunday, May 15, 2005
• Never Forgotten; Never alone - Wednesday, May 11, 2005
• More reason to celebrate - Tuesday, May 10, 2005
• Today I celebrated - Sunday, May 08, 2005


Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.