AuthorsDen.com   Join Free! | Login    
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  Peter Ralph, iArmineh Ohanian, iShoma Mittra, iJudith Mays, iRaymond Sturgis, iPeter Jessop, iBelle Ami, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Alice E Lewis

· + Follow Me
· Contact Me
· Books
· Articles
· Poetry
· News
· Blog
· 13 Titles
· 19 Reviews
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: May, 2005

Alice E Lewis, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.



Books by Alice E Lewis




Blogs by Alice E Lewis

Dehydrating
8/8/2006 7:15:13 AM    [ Flag as Inappropriate ]

Well, Iím doing it today. I am going to cook our evening meal, using the food I dehydrated. I wrote about that several entries ago.

About a week ago I cooked a huge pot full of pinto beans until they were about ĺ done. Then I dehydrated them. Since beans take a long time to cook, I did the whole bag all at once. It is just my husband and me at home now. It doesnít make sense to spend all that time cooking and only cook small portions only to have to do it over again the next day. Now with my beans dehydrated, all I have to do is to take out what I think we will eat, rehydrate them- and finish the cooking. Twenty minutes later, we will have a meal.

The menu for tonight is: baked beans, hamburger patties, and cole slaw.

The cookbook I bought ď Preserve It NaturallyĒ says that it takes only $24.00 dollars worth of electricity a year to dehydrate 500 pounds of food. To preserve the same amount of food by freezing would cost $81.00 dollars.

As you can tell by now, Iím into becoming more and more self-sufficient.




Post a Comment

More Blogs by Alice E Lewis
• Passing On - Wednesday, August 20, 2008
• WASHING - Tuesday, September 05, 2006
• Persistence - Tuesday, August 29, 2006
• TIME - Tuesday, August 22, 2006
•  Dehydrating - Tuesday, August 08, 2006  
• Dreadful Discovery - Monday, August 07, 2006
• Run Through the Rain - Sunday, August 06, 2006
• Dominators - Saturday, August 05, 2006
• dDehydrating - Friday, August 04, 2006
• Robbery Attempt - Thursday, August 03, 2006
• A Limmerick - Wednesday, August 02, 2006
• The Rillito - Tuesday, August 01, 2006
• Looking For Trouble - Monday, May 01, 2006
• Less Product Dependent - Saturday, January 28, 2006
• Sour Dough Ali - Saturday, January 28, 2006
• Pots and Pans - Wednesday, October 19, 2005
• How sweet it is! - Thursday, October 06, 2005
• I Think I Can - Friday, September 23, 2005
• Missing Children - Sunday, September 18, 2005
• Emergency Preparedness - Wednesday, September 07, 2005
• Do I look good? - Tuesday, August 23, 2005
• Blog - Thursday, August 04, 2005
• I did it. - Monday, July 18, 2005
• Anticipation - Monday, June 27, 2005
• Amazon - Sunday, June 19, 2005
• Move Over - Saturday, June 18, 2005
• Angel Unaware - Thursday, June 16, 2005
• Famous authors - Tuesday, June 14, 2005
• In Hand - Monday, June 13, 2005
• It's Live - Friday, June 03, 2005
• SHAKE IT OFF - Friday, May 27, 2005
• Cartwheels - Tuesday, May 24, 2005
• Time - Saturday, May 21, 2005
• Lemons and Phoenix - Wednesday, May 18, 2005
• Sales - Sunday, May 15, 2005
• Never Forgotten; Never alone - Wednesday, May 11, 2005
• More reason to celebrate - Tuesday, May 10, 2005
• Today I celebrated - Sunday, May 08, 2005


Journeys With Soul: by John Herlihy

Adventures to strange and exotic places and traditional cures that came true...  
Featured BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members



Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.