AuthorsDen.com   Join (Free!) | Login  

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  Richard Rydon, iLonnie Hicks, iEdmond Humm, iMyra Darwish, iDonna Lynch, iJ. Allen Wilson, iLori Maynard, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Ken Aven

· Become a Fan
· Contact me
· Books
· News
· Stories
· Blog
· 6 Titles
· 7 Reviews
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: May, 2006

Ken Aven, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.


Featured Book
Fractured Frazzled Folk Fables & Fairy Farces, Part II
by Jay Dubya

Farctured Frazzled Folk Fables and Fairy Farces, Part II satirizes popular children's stories into adult-oriented renditions. FFFF &FF, Part II is also available in Amazo..  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members










Blogs by Ken Aven

YouTube, the GOP, and the Bible
11/29/2007 6:20:00 PM
Actually we should place the blame on CNN. The YouTube "debates" that have aired on the news channel are really nothing more than "man in the street" questions. Even with some computer technology thrown in, the questions are selected by CNN's news staff. There had to have been inquiries on almost all the subjects that interest American voters. But the thirty plus that were chosen was an attempt by CNN to steer the debate the way they wanted it to go.

Even though the desert warrior who threw his automatic weapon on camera, got a lot of buzz, the truly important question was asked by a seemingly angry young man who wanted to know how literal the Republican candidates took the Holy Bible. That each politician on stage seemed to follow many of the Bible's precepts is to be commended.

However, why would CNN allow such a pointed sectarian question to pass through their screeners and take up valuable time in the two hour presentation? The real issue is why should the population at large need to know the theological views of those seeking the secular office of president. What if one of the candidates was Jewish? Would he or she have to announce publicly that he does not believe in the New Testament accounts of Jesus? How about a Hindu or Muslim? How would they fare with such a pointed question?

We all want morally upright people running our nation. People we can put our trust in to make wise and equitable decisions. But the president is not the pastor of a church or a rabbi in a temple. He or she is a flawed human being who most likely has had a successful life and is someone who should be capable of leading us. The specific religion one espouses is a personal journey. Even Jesus himself declared that true religion is praying in private and seeking God in the depth of one's soul.

By allowing candidates to declare publicly their Christian virtues, we are creating potential chiefs of staff who will be using the Bible and the trappings of their religion to push agendas that might benefit themselves and those who narrowly follow their views.

FULL BLOG AND COMMENTS:
http://inlandechoes.blogspot.com


Post a Comment

More Blogs by Ken Aven
• A Mighty Wind - Monday, November 17, 2008
• Comparisons - Tuesday, November 11, 2008
• It's A Beautiful Day - Thursday, November 06, 2008
• Wednesday Morning - Friday, October 31, 2008
• A Baseball Interlude - Tuesday, October 28, 2008
• Sarah Ambitious - Friday, October 24, 2008
• Food Stamps & Fried Chicken - Sunday, October 19, 2008
• Joe Six-Pack; Joe the Plumber; Joe ... - Thursday, October 16, 2008
• State Of The Race - Sunday, October 12, 2008
• Out Of Ideas - Wednesday, October 08, 2008
• Be Afraid, Be Very Afraid - Saturday, October 04, 2008
• CNN's Targeted Debate Coverage - Tuesday, September 30, 2008
• Decide Already - Saturday, September 27, 2008
• A Pox On All Houses - Tuesday, September 23, 2008
• McCain Quits - Friday, September 19, 2008
• The Mugging Of John McCain - Tuesday, September 16, 2008
• A Time For Truth - Saturday, September 13, 2008
• Barack Huxtable vs. John McCain Brady - Tuesday, September 09, 2008
• The American Family - Friday, September 05, 2008
• Juno For (Vice) President - Tuesday, September 02, 2008
• We Came To Praise Obama and ... Palin? - Saturday, August 30, 2008
• Thank The Clintons - Wednesday, August 27, 2008
• The Narrative In Beijing & Denver - Monday, August 25, 2008
• Give Us Hillary - Wednesday, August 20, 2008
• McCain Wins - Sunday, August 17, 2008
• If It's Tuesday It Must Be Sydney, Athens, Beijing... - Thursday, August 14, 2008
• Olympic Anxiety - Monday, August 11, 2008
• Hawaii Obama-O! - Wednesday, August 06, 2008
• COMEBACKS - Sunday, August 03, 2008
• 5.4 - Wednesday, July 30, 2008
• ALL STARS & LAYOFFS - Monday, July 28, 2008
• ISOLATING OBAMA - Friday, July 25, 2008
• The Sky Is Falling? - Tuesday, July 22, 2008
• RETRENCHING - Thursday, July 17, 2008
• Summer Sabbatical - Tuesday, July 01, 2008
• We're In It Now - Thursday, June 26, 2008
• Ten Bucks - Sunday, June 22, 2008
• Champions - Tuesday, June 17, 2008
• Meet Mr. Russert - Friday, June 13, 2008
• What Can "Big" Brown Do For You? - Saturday, June 07, 2008
• Memories Going Up In Smoke - Monday, June 02, 2008
• An Evangelical Mindset III - Thursday, May 29, 2008
• An Evangelical Mindset II - Monday, May 26, 2008
• An Evangelical Mindset I - Saturday, May 24, 2008
• Uncle Teddy - Wednesday, May 21, 2008
• Where Is China? - Thursday, May 15, 2008
• To Praise Her Or To Bury Her - Monday, May 12, 2008
• Ninety-Two Percent - Thursday, May 08, 2008
• The Twi-Night Doubleheader - Monday, May 05, 2008
• So What Did You Think Would Happen? - Thursday, May 01, 2008
• The Lamb & The Lion - Sunday, April 27, 2008
• Hillary Beats The Spread - Tuesday, April 22, 2008
• Little House on the Texas Prairie - Friday, April 18, 2008
• What Obama Wanted To Say - Tuesday, April 15, 2008
• The Nature of Things - Friday, April 11, 2008
• Victory Slips Away From Memphis - Monday, April 07, 2008
• Loudness - Friday, April 04, 2008
• Hope Springs Eternal - Tuesday, April 01, 2008
• Tent City, Ontario, California, USA - Friday, March 28, 2008
• Obama: The Unconventional Conventional - Sunday, March 23, 2008
• November Madness - Friday, March 21, 2008
• Trickle Down Disaster - Sunday, March 16, 2008
• Raising Geraldine Lazarus - Wednesday, March 12, 2008
• Forget The Fiction - Monday, March 10, 2008
• Florida Democratic Redo & The Snow Bird Problem - Thursday, March 06, 2008
• A Stumble - Tuesday, March 04, 2008
• A Tear - Sunday, March 02, 2008
• The Semi-Pro ABA - Friday, February 29, 2008
• What Hillary Should Say - Tuesday, February 26, 2008
• Speed of Light - Friday, February 22, 2008
• What Makes Hillary Run? - Tuesday, February 19, 2008
• Two Strikes On Obama - Sunday, February 17, 2008
• A Passing In The Night - Thursday, February 14, 2008
• Hillary In The Nether World - Monday, February 11, 2008
• Super Tuesday - Final Notes - Saturday, February 09, 2008
• A Look Back At Super Tuesday - Wednesday, February 06, 2008
• Super Bowl Thoughts - Sunday, February 03, 2008
• Why Florida Matters - Wednesday, January 30, 2008
• When Will We Ever Learn? - Saturday, January 26, 2008
• They Are People Too - Tuesday, January 22, 2008
• Fear & Loathing In Vegas - Saturday, January 19, 2008
• An Unholy Trinity and New York's Mayors - Tuesday, January 15, 2008
• The Bucket List - Sunday, January 13, 2008
• Hillary's Teardrop - Wednesday, January 09, 2008
• The Heat Is On Hillary - Saturday, January 05, 2008
• Give It Up For Barack - Thursday, January 03, 2008
• Stay Positive - Monday, December 31, 2007
• The Celebrity Conception - Sunday, December 23, 2007
• Oprah Winfrey Presents Barack Obama - Wednesday, December 19, 2007
• Christmas in Connecticut - Monday, December 17, 2007
• Obama & Drugs - Thursday, December 13, 2007
• Shootings In Colorado - Monday, December 10, 2007
• Who Was Robert Hawkins? - Friday, December 07, 2007
• Mitt Romney & The Mormon Question - Tuesday, December 04, 2007
•  YouTube, the GOP, and the Bible - Thursday, November 29, 2007  
• Romney: Throw Momma Off The Train - Sunday, November 25, 2007
• Thanksgiving 2007 - Wednesday, November 21, 2007
• Six For President - Sunday, November 18, 2007
• Somewhere Over The Hawaii Rainbow - Tuesday, November 13, 2007
• Whole Foods Trickling Down - Sunday, November 11, 2007
• Baseball Instant Replay - Thursday, November 08, 2007
• A Halloween Rape - Monday, November 05, 2007
• A Blue Andy Griffith - Saturday, November 03, 2007
• Double Teaming On Hillary - Tuesday, October 30, 2007
• World Series Snoozer - Saturday, October 27, 2007
• Extreme Views - Friday, October 26, 2007
• California Fires - Wednesday, October 24, 2007
• Woodstock & The Rat Pack - Thursday, October 18, 2007
• No Bull - University of South Florida - Tuesday, October 16, 2007
• Congratulations Al - Saturday, October 13, 2007
• Move On With Dignity - Thursday, October 11, 2007
• Kingdoms - Tuesday, October 09, 2007
• Cackle - Sunday, October 07, 2007
• Swarming - Saturday, October 06, 2007
• Who Can We Help? - Thursday, October 04, 2007
• The Search For A Moral Candidate - Tuesday, October 02, 2007
• The Medicore Team That Everybody Now Knows - Sunday, September 30, 2007
• Pray For Burma - Friday, September 28, 2007
• The Big Three - Wednesday, September 26, 2007
• True Americans - Tuesday, September 25, 2007
• Notre Dame - Sunday, September 23, 2007
• MoveOn: MoveOver - Friday, September 21, 2007
• CHIPs - Thursday, September 20, 2007
• Humpty Dumpty - Tuesday, September 18, 2007
• Appearances - Sunday, September 16, 2007
• South Korea Redux - Thursday, September 13, 2007
• Dr. Zaius - General Petraeus - Wednesday, September 12, 2007
• September 11 - Tuesday, September 11, 2007
• Discounted Echoes Books On Sale - Friday, September 07, 2007
• Who Has Family Values? - Friday, September 07, 2007
• Labor Day Baseball - National League - Wednesday, September 05, 2007
• Labor Day Baseball - American League - Tuesday, September 04, 2007
• Wal-Mart - Monday, September 03, 2007
• Turning On Their Own - Wednesday, August 29, 2007
• Bashing the Gay Bashers - Tuesday, August 28, 2007
• Kids' Baseball - Monday, August 27, 2007
• Kids' Nation - Sunday, August 26, 2007
• From Night to Morning - Saturday, August 25, 2007
• Give Vick a Chance - Thursday, August 23, 2007
• Little Things Matter For the Yankees - Wednesday, August 22, 2007
• Family Values - Tuesday, August 21, 2007
• Democratic Family Feud - Sunday, August 19, 2007
• The King of Cable Meets The King - Saturday, August 18, 2007
• Hysteria! - Friday, August 17, 2007
• Baseball As God Intended - Thursday, August 16, 2007
• Nearly Two Hundred Die in Northern Iraq Blast - Wednesday, August 15, 2007
• Chains - Tuesday, August 14, 2007
• Kramer as Merv - Monday, August 13, 2007
• Here Come The Yankees - Sunday, August 12, 2007
• Hammerin' Hank - Saturday, August 11, 2007
• Dennis Kucinich - Friday, August 10, 2007
• So Long Hal - Thursday, August 09, 2007
• HBO Presents Ghosts of Flatbush - Friday, July 06, 2007
• $15 Dodger Parking - Sunday, April 15, 2007
• Lucky Luc - Sunday, January 21, 2007
• 21,500 - Monday, January 15, 2007
• Bowled Over - Thursday, January 04, 2007
• Bowled Out - Friday, December 29, 2006
• Merry Christmas - Sunday, December 24, 2006
• Eyes on the Prize - Tuesday, December 12, 2006
• Larvatus Prodeo Posting - Tuesday, November 28, 2006
• Go Rutgers!! - Thursday, November 16, 2006
• Work Together - Wednesday, November 08, 2006
• A Few More Thoughts - Saturday, November 04, 2006
• A Few Thoughts About Ted Haggard - Saturday, November 04, 2006
• A Halloween Surprise - Wednesday, November 01, 2006
• All Serve God - Tuesday, October 24, 2006
• Mexican-American Baseball in Southern California - Saturday, October 21, 2006
• Two Up, One To Go - Thursday, October 05, 2006
• Here Come The Playoffs!! - Sunday, October 01, 2006
• Path To 911 - Friday, September 08, 2006
• Hurrah For Utah!!! - Thursday, August 31, 2006
• State of Emergency - Thursday, August 24, 2006
• Say It Joe - Thursday, August 10, 2006
• Dodger Blue - Thursday, July 27, 2006
• Penalty Kicks - Friday, June 30, 2006
• Voting Rights Act - Thursday, June 22, 2006
• Hospice - Wednesday, June 14, 2006
• Nomar - Friday, May 26, 2006
• English as Offical Language - Saturday, May 20, 2006
• Jorge Posada - Wednesday, May 17, 2006


Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.