AuthorsDen.com   Join (Free!) | Login  

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  Carol Fowler, iWynn Schiller, iBryon Smith, iDeborah Frontiera, iJudith Mays, iPeter Jessop, iSusan Lindsley, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Erik Hare

· Become a Fan
· Contact me
· Success story
· Books
· Articles
· Poetry
· News
· Stories
· Blog
· 21 Titles
· 28 Reviews
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: Mar, 2007

Erik Hare, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.


Featured Book
Forsaken Brethren Series Twin Pack
by Sky Purington

Two edge-of-your-seat, sizzling hot vampire tales...  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members










Blogs by Erik Hare

Urban Core: Life
5/2/2008 6:08:30 AM

This is the fourth and last in a series on cities in the USofA. The first entries can be found here:

http://www.authorsden.com/visit/viewblog.asp?authorid=55121&blogid=31562
http://www.authorsden.com/visit/viewblog.asp?authorid=55121&blogid=31641
http://www.authorsden.com/visit/viewblog.asp?authorid=55121&blogid=31740

What is the purpose of a city?

I asked that question several blogs ago both in what might seem like a rhetorical flourish. It isnít. This is a question that I think everyone who lives and loves urban life needs to ask themselves nearly constantly.

That may seem like a ridiculous demand, as if a city is a problem child that needs constant supervision. The truth is that in the USofA, right now, cities are a kind of problem child. They are desperate for attention and often act out in wild and obnoxious ways. Unless we can get to the root of it all and give our cities what they really need, the bad behavior will continue.

The purpose of a city is life. Six thousand years ago our species of standing chimp discovered that with a little bit of planning and care it didnít need to wander around following the herbs and picking off a few berries along the way. All they had to do was cooperate a bit and they could settle down into an easy life that allowed them to pursue what was really fun for them Ė sex and culture and all kinds of other things they did with other standing chimps. It was agriculture that gave us culture culture, and we gradually came to live in a world defined not by the vagaries of nature but by ourselves.

Life, as we know it, is about other people. We set the rules, we have the fun, and we make the great memories that put together a life in stories. All of this involves people and the institutional memories of culture. A city is simply the built-up place where all of these things happen. In a city we run into other people we know or even those we donít know or are afraid of for whatever reason. Gradually, we learn through good memories and bad and get tons of stories to tell our grandkids all about. Without other people, there just arenít as many stories to tell or as many exciting times.

When we talk about esoteric subjects like urban planning, things get boring in a hurry. Zoning codes and Draft Environmental Impact Statements are usually major snooze-fests, and no one can sit down and simply read them without getting drowsy. By definition, this means that they do not have the city and urban life in them. A city is awake and alive, not bureaucratic and dull. The space that makes our urban life in the USofA is controlled by stuff that is the exact opposite of what a city is. The essence of a life lived well enough to generate some incredible stories is not part of the equation for us.

Thatís why urban planning is subject to so many fads; people know, deep down, that they are utterly missing the point. So they move on to the next Big Ideaô, then the next, all the time dancing clockwise around what is really important to a city. Life can be planned, but mostly it just happens. The people that make up a city have to breathe their life into any bits of asphalt and concrete that make up their world; whatever is done in planning can never go down to details so fine that there isnít room for the hearts of the people who live there when itís all done.

How do we go about doing that? For one thing, size matters. The smaller and more intimate a space is, the more likely people are to be intimate in and with it; thatís a pile of stories waiting to happen right there. We also have to remember that the purpose of zoning is to make the city pleasant enough that people are willing to sink their own money and ideas into it for the long haul so that they can make things happen; itís not about blocking stuff we donít like just because we can.

More than anything, however, itís always about life. And a purposeful life that is mindful of the world around you requires that you constantly ask yourself a really basic question before you go off on a series of wild assumptions.

What is a city for? Itís for life, a fun and exciting and good life. The rest is nothing more than the details of the stories made, told slowly in a crowded pub or at the house of a friend. If we keep asking ourselves the basic question, we shouldnít remain as far from the real point as we often are now.


Post a Comment

More Blogs by Erik Hare
• Let the Real Games Begin - Sunday, August 24, 2008
• Soul Mate - Friday, August 22, 2008
• Breaking the Code - Tuesday, August 19, 2008
• The Investment Express - Sunday, August 17, 2008
• The Verse of a Song - Friday, August 15, 2008
• Generic Politics - Tuesday, August 12, 2008
• Reductio ad Extremis - Sunday, August 10, 2008
• I'll Have it Bronzed - Thursday, August 07, 2008
• Lotsa Vacation - Tuesday, August 05, 2008
• Generations: Re-Invention - Sunday, August 03, 2008
• Happy as a Pig. Just a Pig. - Friday, August 01, 2008
• The D Word - Tuesday, July 29, 2008
• Writing Bubble - Monday, July 28, 2008
• Munchie - Friday, July 25, 2008
• Ode an die Freude - Wednesday, July 23, 2008
• Citizen Journalism - Monday, July 21, 2008
• Truth of the Cottonwoods - Monday, July 21, 2008
• Barking at the 'Net - Saturday, July 19, 2008
• Brasilian Way - Thursday, July 17, 2008
• Leadership - Tuesday, July 15, 2008
• No Safe Harbor - Sunday, July 13, 2008
• Open Yer Mouth - Thursday, July 10, 2008
• 15 Second Politics - Tuesday, July 08, 2008
• Nice Work if You Can Get It - Sunday, July 06, 2008
• Fly the Flag - Thursday, July 03, 2008
• Housing Bubble, Toil and Trouble - Tuesday, July 01, 2008
• Depressing Events - Monday, June 30, 2008
• Ein Kunstlerleben - Friday, June 27, 2008
• IRV - Wednesday, June 25, 2008
• Convention Wisdom - Monday, June 23, 2008
• 500 Year Floodplain - Thursday, June 19, 2008
• Desaparecidos - Tuesday, June 17, 2008
• Write on! - Monday, June 16, 2008
• Techno High School - Friday, June 13, 2008
• Urban Return - Wednesday, June 11, 2008
• Strategic Planning - Monday, June 09, 2008
• The Team - Thursday, June 05, 2008
• The Obvious - Tuesday, June 03, 2008
• Hung T-Bar Ceiling - Monday, June 02, 2008
• Brightest Bulbs - Thursday, May 29, 2008
• Regional - Wednesday, May 28, 2008
• Vaca - Accion - Monday, May 26, 2008
• Narrowing - Thursday, May 22, 2008
• Scale - Tuesday, May 20, 2008
• Invisible Hand on the Pump - Monday, May 19, 2008
• Ancient Music - Friday, May 16, 2008
• Electric Motion - Wednesday, May 14, 2008
• Comments? - Monday, May 12, 2008
• In the Translation - Monday, May 12, 2008
• Still Over - Very Over - Friday, May 09, 2008
• Hear the Quiet - Tuesday, May 06, 2008
• Enlightenment and Excess Sugar - Tuesday, May 06, 2008
• Cola Warriors - Monday, May 05, 2008
•  Urban Core: Life - Friday, May 02, 2008  
• Fantasy and Perspective - Tuesday, April 29, 2008
• Net-Work'd - Tuesday, April 29, 2008
• Urban Core: New Urbanism - Monday, April 28, 2008
• Urban Core: Lessons - Friday, April 25, 2008
• Urban Core - Wednesday, April 23, 2008
• But Fear Itself - Tuesday, April 22, 2008
• You've Got a Friend in Pennsylvania - Monday, April 21, 2008
• Cultural Catholic - Friday, April 18, 2008
• Taxing - Wednesday, April 16, 2008
• Light & Fluffy - Tuesday, April 15, 2008
• Work - Monday, April 14, 2008
• Human Barometer - Thursday, April 10, 2008
• Bad Girls - Tuesday, April 08, 2008
• A Good Meal on a Dreary Day - Tuesday, April 08, 2008
• One Year On - Sunday, April 06, 2008
• Not at Any Price - Friday, April 04, 2008
• Winning Through Acting Crazy - Wednesday, April 02, 2008
• More Press(ure) - Tuesday, April 01, 2008
• Message = Medium - Sunday, March 30, 2008
• Anything is Possible - Thursday, March 27, 2008
• Fit, Print, Whatever - Tuesday, March 25, 2008
• Ars Gratia Fructis - Monday, March 24, 2008
• Yes, Not Again - Sunday, March 23, 2008
• Generations: Empire - Thursday, March 20, 2008
• Generations: Do the Right Thing - Tuesday, March 18, 2008
• Brief Commercial Message - Monday, March 17, 2008
• Generations: Institutionalized - Sunday, March 16, 2008
• Generations - Thursday, March 13, 2008
• St. Patrick's Day - Tuesday, March 11, 2008
• Blinding Daylight - Monday, March 10, 2008
• It's Still Over - Sunday, March 09, 2008
• Pedestrian View - Thursday, March 06, 2008
• Straight Up Racist - Tuesday, March 04, 2008
• Stamp Them When They're Small - Monday, March 03, 2008
• Schooled - Sunday, March 02, 2008
• Free at Last - Friday, February 29, 2008
• Theo-Rhetorical - Tuesday, February 26, 2008
• Moral or Political? - Monday, February 25, 2008
• Flik Lit - Sunday, February 24, 2008
• Fit to Print ... and more! - Thursday, February 21, 2008
• Letter to Sen. Clinton - Tuesday, February 19, 2008
• Leading and Learning - Monday, February 18, 2008
• Dr. Carver - Sunday, February 17, 2008
• Primary Reader - Thursday, February 14, 2008
• Ordem e Progresso - Tuesday, February 12, 2008
• Class and Struggles - Monday, February 11, 2008
• Why Do We Write? - Sunday, February 10, 2008
• Streaming - Thursday, February 07, 2008
• Still About People - Wednesday, February 06, 2008
• A Fun Evening Ahead? - Tuesday, February 05, 2008
• Sick of It? Nah! - Monday, February 04, 2008
• Britney - Sunday, February 03, 2008
• Soooper Tooosday! - Friday, February 01, 2008
• Crazy Train - Tuesday, January 29, 2008
• Sacred and Profane - Monday, January 28, 2008
• Making Stuff - Monday, January 28, 2008
• Bill's World - Thursday, January 24, 2008
• Panic! - Wednesday, January 23, 2008
• Airballs and Airbending - Tuesday, January 22, 2008
• Cold - Sunday, January 20, 2008
• Spencer House - Friday, January 18, 2008
• Avatar - Wednesday, January 16, 2008
• Politics, Hopes, and Dreams - Tuesday, January 15, 2008
• Feast or Famine II: The Wrath of John (Zogby) - Monday, January 14, 2008
• Feast or Famine - Sunday, January 13, 2008
• For Madmen Only - Thursday, January 10, 2008
• Paul - Tuesday, January 08, 2008
• Horseraces and Horse Sense - Monday, January 07, 2008
• A New Start? - Monday, January 07, 2008
• Handicapping - Sunday, January 06, 2008
• Happy Talk - Friday, January 04, 2008
• Cold and Warm - Wednesday, January 02, 2008
• Happy, um, New Year - Monday, December 31, 2007
• Riot - Monday, December 31, 2007
• Bestsellers! - Thursday, December 27, 2007
• Why Do They Read? - Wednesday, December 26, 2007
• Christmas Morning - Tuesday, December 25, 2007
• S. Claus, C-14 - Monday, December 24, 2007
• Darkness and Light - Friday, December 21, 2007
• Memoir - Wednesday, December 19, 2007
• Eyes of a Child - Tuesday, December 18, 2007
• Solstice - Monday, December 17, 2007
• Glory and Promise - Thursday, December 13, 2007
• Desperate Cry for Attention - Wednesday, December 12, 2007
• Compound Interests - Monday, December 10, 2007
• The Game - Monday, December 10, 2007
• Got" Nuthin - Friday, December 07, 2007
• Snow Day - Tuesday, December 04, 2007
• Real Way, Way Real - Tuesday, December 04, 2007
• Snowstorm - Sunday, December 02, 2007
• Progress - Friday, November 30, 2007
• Tao Te Ching - Tuesday, November 27, 2007
• As You Like It - Monday, November 26, 2007
• Saint Paul - Sunday, November 25, 2007
• Travel - Friday, November 23, 2007
• Awareness - Wednesday, November 21, 2007
• Two Places Together - Tuesday, November 20, 2007
• Thanksgiving - Monday, November 19, 2007
• Mechanical PR - Friday, November 16, 2007
• Heavy and Light - Wednesday, November 14, 2007
• Rollin' and Scratchin' - Monday, November 12, 2007
• Lay Yer Dollar Down - Sunday, November 11, 2007
• Smarts - Friday, November 09, 2007
• Local - Wednesday, November 07, 2007
• Elections - Tuesday, November 06, 2007
• Platforms - Sunday, November 04, 2007
• Gutenburgistas - Thursday, November 01, 2007
• Shadows - Wednesday, October 31, 2007
• Saleable - Tuesday, October 30, 2007
• Tea - Monday, October 29, 2007
• Crispin, be Remembered - Thursday, October 25, 2007
• Faking It - Wednesday, October 24, 2007
• Post Dispatch - Tuesday, October 23, 2007
• Job Blob - Sunday, October 21, 2007
• MEA Weekend - Friday, October 19, 2007
• Mousketeer - Friday, October 19, 2007
• A Novel Solution - Wednesday, October 17, 2007
• Sunspots - Monday, October 15, 2007
• Ghosts - Sunday, October 14, 2007
• Voyages - Thursday, October 11, 2007
• Obsolete Houses - Tuesday, October 09, 2007
• Watching - Tuesday, October 09, 2007
• Distributed - Sunday, October 07, 2007
• Bright Light - Friday, October 05, 2007
• Soy Protein - Wednesday, October 03, 2007
• Making a Point - Monday, October 01, 2007
• Grace or Redemption - Sunday, September 30, 2007
• Widgets - Thursday, September 27, 2007
• Expectations - Wednesday, September 26, 2007
• My Point is? - Tuesday, September 25, 2007
• Access - Monday, September 24, 2007
• Housewife - Thursday, September 20, 2007
• Equinox - Wednesday, September 19, 2007
• Writing Back - Tuesday, September 18, 2007
• Street Life - Monday, September 17, 2007
• Cartoon - Friday, September 14, 2007
• The Greenback War - Wednesday, September 12, 2007
• A Fair Cop - Tuesday, September 11, 2007
• Small World - Monday, September 10, 2007
• Fairness - Thursday, September 06, 2007
• School Daze - Tuesday, September 04, 2007
• Publishing, Redux - Monday, September 03, 2007
• Labor Day - Sunday, September 02, 2007
• Ethnicity - Thursday, August 30, 2007
• Who Ya Know - Tuesday, August 28, 2007
• Repo Voting - Monday, August 27, 2007
• Sun - Friday, August 24, 2007
• Starving Artists - Tuesday, August 21, 2007
• Juanita Bartlett - Monday, August 20, 2007
• Stock Marks, not Market - Friday, August 17, 2007
• Novel Writing - Wednesday, August 15, 2007
• Stupid Money - Monday, August 13, 2007
• Crappy Cars - Friday, August 10, 2007
• snafu - Wednesday, August 08, 2007
• J.S. Bach - Monday, August 06, 2007
• I-35W Bridge - Friday, August 03, 2007
• Heat - Wednesday, August 01, 2007
• Illegal - Monday, July 30, 2007
• Prof. Powers - Thursday, July 26, 2007
• Harry Potter - Wednesday, July 25, 2007
• Cat President - Sunday, July 22, 2007
• MCS - Thursday, July 19, 2007
• Politics and People - Wednesday, July 18, 2007
• Authorial Omnipotence - Monday, July 16, 2007
• Conveyance - Thursday, July 12, 2007
• Univision - Wednesday, July 11, 2007
• Tropopause - Monday, July 09, 2007
• Big Ideas - Thursday, July 05, 2007
• Star Spangled Banner - Tuesday, July 03, 2007
• North America - Sunday, July 01, 2007
• ex Machina - Thursday, June 28, 2007
• Catalpa - Tuesday, June 26, 2007
• Blogosphere - Sunday, June 24, 2007
• Queuing - Thursday, June 21, 2007
• Make No Small Plans" - Tuesday, June 19, 2007
• Telling Stories - Monday, June 18, 2007
• Community - Thursday, June 14, 2007
• Minor Leagues - Tuesday, June 12, 2007
• For the Kids - Monday, June 11, 2007
• Wurst Writing - Thursday, June 07, 2007
• Progressive - Tuesday, June 05, 2007
• Credentials - Monday, June 04, 2007
• Band Concert - Thursday, May 31, 2007
• Institution - Wednesday, May 30, 2007
• Publiosity - Tuesday, May 29, 2007
• Honor and Sense - Monday, May 28, 2007
• King O'er the Water - Thursday, May 24, 2007
• Everything Counts - Wednesday, May 23, 2007
• Numbers Game - Monday, May 21, 2007
• Elected Attorney General - Friday, May 18, 2007
• Car Free - Thursday, May 17, 2007
• Cold Front - Tuesday, May 15, 2007
• Fortune Telling - Sunday, May 13, 2007
• Distant Voices - Friday, May 11, 2007
• Value - Wednesday, May 09, 2007
• Disposable Buildings - Monday, May 07, 2007
• Energy Alternatives - Friday, May 04, 2007
• Statuary - Thursday, May 03, 2007
• Voice - Tuesday, May 01, 2007
• McNews - Monday, April 30, 2007
• The Jebediah Effect - Thursday, April 26, 2007
• Public Realm - Wednesday, April 25, 2007
• Four Leaves - Tuesday, April 24, 2007
• Media Outlets - Monday, April 23, 2007
• A New Line of Thought - Saturday, April 21, 2007
• Pattern Taxonomy - Friday, April 20, 2007
• Politics, Interest, and Democracy - Thursday, April 19, 2007
• Making Sense - Tuesday, April 17, 2007
• Naked Emperor - Monday, April 16, 2007
• Barking in the Night - Saturday, April 14, 2007
• Kurt Vonnegut - Thursday, April 12, 2007
• All the News That Fits, Prints - Wednesday, April 11, 2007
• It was a dark and stormy night ... - Tuesday, April 10, 2007


Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.