AuthorsDen.com   Join (Free!) | Login  

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  Paul Williams, iDonald Beaulieu, iDR FRED BELL, iJames McClelland, iBeth Trissel, iSara Russell, iCraig Hartpence, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Erik Hare

· Become a Fan
· Contact me
· Success story
· Books
· Articles
· Poetry
· News
· Stories
· Blog
· 21 Titles
· 28 Reviews
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: Mar, 2007

Erik Hare, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.


Featured Book
Fly With The Mourning Dove
by Velda Brotherton

The story of a young girl growing up on a homestead in New Mexico after WW I..  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members










Blogs by Erik Hare

Generations: Re-Invention
8/3/2008 7:20:31 PM

Iíve written before on the important generational change that is taking place right now in the USofA and how important it is through this election cycle:

http://www.authorsden.com/visit/viewblog.asp?authorid=55121&blogid=30169
http://www.authorsden.com/visit/viewblog.asp?authorid=55121&blogid=30276
http://www.authorsden.com/visit/viewblog.asp?authorid=55121&blogid=30350
http://www.authorsden.com/visit/viewblog.asp?authorid=55121&blogid=30415

In addition, Iíve written about how terrible our leadership has become Ė not just stupid, but arrogantly stupid and incapable of recognizing and promoting real talent due to competitive pressures at the top of the vast American Empire:

http://www.authorsden.com/visit/viewblog.asp?authorid=55121&blogid=32895
http://www.authorsden.com/visit/viewblog.asp?authorid=55121&blogid=34417

What does this mean for the next generation, and what they will inherit? What lies ahead for the generations born after the Civil Rights Act now that they are becoming the leadership of this nation?

It looks pretty bleak. If you think about the mess weíre in, it doesnít take too long to realize that what has to happen is nothing short of a complete re-invention of the USofA from the top to the bottom. That sounds like one Hell of a lot to accomplish; nations like Germany and Japan werenít able to re-invent themselves until they were completely flattened and destitute.

But not the USofA. We re-invent ourselves constantly, one curious mind at a time. Itís what made us what we are and it will make us whatever we will be. Whatís curious about the re-invention process, however, is that despite being constant itís also experience tremendous waves of innovation after tremendous upheaval. Our history is measured out by periods where terrible times gave way to completely new worlds of opportunity. These have been:

The Jacksonian Era: Once the Bank of the United States controversy was ended and the common man clearly beat out the big money interests, the USofA made the transition from and East Coast mercantile society Ė one that took the raw materials of the continent and worked them a little for export Ė into a farming economy.

The Civil War: Once concluded, we created one nation with a strong central government, perfect for the gradual transition into an industrial economy.

1893: The Panic of 1893 was a genuine watershed, and marked the final stages of transition to an industrial economy ready to build itself up and take on the world.

The Great Depression: Coupled with WWII and the invention of the car, the nation started to strongly centralize into an industrial behemoth, one large factory.

1968: Itís hard to write the history of the world that we are in now, but after the upheaval of the 1960s the generation that inherited the USofA completed the transition to a financial empire that rules the world.

In each of these transitions, it was the new generation that survived the upheaval that made it all work. The nation emerged re-invented in a way that was hard for the previous generation to recognize, but fully responsive to the new generation and the times they lived in.

What transition are we undergoing now? The economic meltdown, total leadership crisis at all levels, and disastrous war will have to boil over into something more popular before we can say. Information technology is considered very cool right now, but unless it can be put to service connecting people to the world we are about to invent it wonít be all that important.

This isnít about whatever we think is changing the world right now. This is about the wheel of history turning over one more time and how the people who find themselves caught on it respond. Those people are us, the citizens of the USofA. Something big is about to happen because something big has to happen; itís always gone down that way before. How that happens is up to us, not our gadgets or our lumbering financial system or whatever petty political grudges we hold.

Our time is now, whether we like it or not. Are you ready?


Post a Comment

More Blogs by Erik Hare
• Let the Real Games Begin - Sunday, August 24, 2008
• Soul Mate - Friday, August 22, 2008
• Breaking the Code - Tuesday, August 19, 2008
• The Investment Express - Sunday, August 17, 2008
• The Verse of a Song - Friday, August 15, 2008
• Generic Politics - Tuesday, August 12, 2008
• Reductio ad Extremis - Sunday, August 10, 2008
• I'll Have it Bronzed - Thursday, August 07, 2008
• Lotsa Vacation - Tuesday, August 05, 2008
•  Generations: Re-Invention - Sunday, August 03, 2008  
• Happy as a Pig. Just a Pig. - Friday, August 01, 2008
• The D Word - Tuesday, July 29, 2008
• Writing Bubble - Monday, July 28, 2008
• Munchie - Friday, July 25, 2008
• Ode an die Freude - Wednesday, July 23, 2008
• Citizen Journalism - Monday, July 21, 2008
• Truth of the Cottonwoods - Monday, July 21, 2008
• Barking at the 'Net - Saturday, July 19, 2008
• Brasilian Way - Thursday, July 17, 2008
• Leadership - Tuesday, July 15, 2008
• No Safe Harbor - Sunday, July 13, 2008
• Open Yer Mouth - Thursday, July 10, 2008
• 15 Second Politics - Tuesday, July 08, 2008
• Nice Work if You Can Get It - Sunday, July 06, 2008
• Fly the Flag - Thursday, July 03, 2008
• Housing Bubble, Toil and Trouble - Tuesday, July 01, 2008
• Depressing Events - Monday, June 30, 2008
• Ein Kunstlerleben - Friday, June 27, 2008
• IRV - Wednesday, June 25, 2008
• Convention Wisdom - Monday, June 23, 2008
• 500 Year Floodplain - Thursday, June 19, 2008
• Desaparecidos - Tuesday, June 17, 2008
• Write on! - Monday, June 16, 2008
• Techno High School - Friday, June 13, 2008
• Urban Return - Wednesday, June 11, 2008
• Strategic Planning - Monday, June 09, 2008
• The Team - Thursday, June 05, 2008
• The Obvious - Tuesday, June 03, 2008
• Hung T-Bar Ceiling - Monday, June 02, 2008
• Brightest Bulbs - Thursday, May 29, 2008
• Regional - Wednesday, May 28, 2008
• Vaca - Accion - Monday, May 26, 2008
• Narrowing - Thursday, May 22, 2008
• Scale - Tuesday, May 20, 2008
• Invisible Hand on the Pump - Monday, May 19, 2008
• Ancient Music - Friday, May 16, 2008
• Electric Motion - Wednesday, May 14, 2008
• Comments? - Monday, May 12, 2008
• In the Translation - Monday, May 12, 2008
• Still Over - Very Over - Friday, May 09, 2008
• Hear the Quiet - Tuesday, May 06, 2008
• Enlightenment and Excess Sugar - Tuesday, May 06, 2008
• Cola Warriors - Monday, May 05, 2008
• Urban Core: Life - Friday, May 02, 2008
• Fantasy and Perspective - Tuesday, April 29, 2008
• Net-Work'd - Tuesday, April 29, 2008
• Urban Core: New Urbanism - Monday, April 28, 2008
• Urban Core: Lessons - Friday, April 25, 2008
• Urban Core - Wednesday, April 23, 2008
• But Fear Itself - Tuesday, April 22, 2008
• You've Got a Friend in Pennsylvania - Monday, April 21, 2008
• Cultural Catholic - Friday, April 18, 2008
• Taxing - Wednesday, April 16, 2008
• Light & Fluffy - Tuesday, April 15, 2008
• Work - Monday, April 14, 2008
• Human Barometer - Thursday, April 10, 2008
• Bad Girls - Tuesday, April 08, 2008
• A Good Meal on a Dreary Day - Tuesday, April 08, 2008
• One Year On - Sunday, April 06, 2008
• Not at Any Price - Friday, April 04, 2008
• Winning Through Acting Crazy - Wednesday, April 02, 2008
• More Press(ure) - Tuesday, April 01, 2008
• Message = Medium - Sunday, March 30, 2008
• Anything is Possible - Thursday, March 27, 2008
• Fit, Print, Whatever - Tuesday, March 25, 2008
• Ars Gratia Fructis - Monday, March 24, 2008
• Yes, Not Again - Sunday, March 23, 2008
• Generations: Empire - Thursday, March 20, 2008
• Generations: Do the Right Thing - Tuesday, March 18, 2008
• Brief Commercial Message - Monday, March 17, 2008
• Generations: Institutionalized - Sunday, March 16, 2008
• Generations - Thursday, March 13, 2008
• St. Patrick's Day - Tuesday, March 11, 2008
• Blinding Daylight - Monday, March 10, 2008
• It's Still Over - Sunday, March 09, 2008
• Pedestrian View - Thursday, March 06, 2008
• Straight Up Racist - Tuesday, March 04, 2008
• Stamp Them When They're Small - Monday, March 03, 2008
• Schooled - Sunday, March 02, 2008
• Free at Last - Friday, February 29, 2008
• Theo-Rhetorical - Tuesday, February 26, 2008
• Moral or Political? - Monday, February 25, 2008
• Flik Lit - Sunday, February 24, 2008
• Fit to Print ... and more! - Thursday, February 21, 2008
• Letter to Sen. Clinton - Tuesday, February 19, 2008
• Leading and Learning - Monday, February 18, 2008
• Dr. Carver - Sunday, February 17, 2008
• Primary Reader - Thursday, February 14, 2008
• Ordem e Progresso - Tuesday, February 12, 2008
• Class and Struggles - Monday, February 11, 2008
• Why Do We Write? - Sunday, February 10, 2008
• Streaming - Thursday, February 07, 2008
• Still About People - Wednesday, February 06, 2008
• A Fun Evening Ahead? - Tuesday, February 05, 2008
• Sick of It? Nah! - Monday, February 04, 2008
• Britney - Sunday, February 03, 2008
• Soooper Tooosday! - Friday, February 01, 2008
• Crazy Train - Tuesday, January 29, 2008
• Sacred and Profane - Monday, January 28, 2008
• Making Stuff - Monday, January 28, 2008
• Bill's World - Thursday, January 24, 2008
• Panic! - Wednesday, January 23, 2008
• Airballs and Airbending - Tuesday, January 22, 2008
• Cold - Sunday, January 20, 2008
• Spencer House - Friday, January 18, 2008
• Avatar - Wednesday, January 16, 2008
• Politics, Hopes, and Dreams - Tuesday, January 15, 2008
• Feast or Famine II: The Wrath of John (Zogby) - Monday, January 14, 2008
• Feast or Famine - Sunday, January 13, 2008
• For Madmen Only - Thursday, January 10, 2008
• Paul - Tuesday, January 08, 2008
• Horseraces and Horse Sense - Monday, January 07, 2008
• A New Start? - Monday, January 07, 2008
• Handicapping - Sunday, January 06, 2008
• Happy Talk - Friday, January 04, 2008
• Cold and Warm - Wednesday, January 02, 2008
• Happy, um, New Year - Monday, December 31, 2007
• Riot - Monday, December 31, 2007
• Bestsellers! - Thursday, December 27, 2007
• Why Do They Read? - Wednesday, December 26, 2007
• Christmas Morning - Tuesday, December 25, 2007
• S. Claus, C-14 - Monday, December 24, 2007
• Darkness and Light - Friday, December 21, 2007
• Memoir - Wednesday, December 19, 2007
• Eyes of a Child - Tuesday, December 18, 2007
• Solstice - Monday, December 17, 2007
• Glory and Promise - Thursday, December 13, 2007
• Desperate Cry for Attention - Wednesday, December 12, 2007
• Compound Interests - Monday, December 10, 2007
• The Game - Monday, December 10, 2007
• Got" Nuthin - Friday, December 07, 2007
• Snow Day - Tuesday, December 04, 2007
• Real Way, Way Real - Tuesday, December 04, 2007
• Snowstorm - Sunday, December 02, 2007
• Progress - Friday, November 30, 2007
• Tao Te Ching - Tuesday, November 27, 2007
• As You Like It - Monday, November 26, 2007
• Saint Paul - Sunday, November 25, 2007
• Travel - Friday, November 23, 2007
• Awareness - Wednesday, November 21, 2007
• Two Places Together - Tuesday, November 20, 2007
• Thanksgiving - Monday, November 19, 2007
• Mechanical PR - Friday, November 16, 2007
• Heavy and Light - Wednesday, November 14, 2007
• Rollin' and Scratchin' - Monday, November 12, 2007
• Lay Yer Dollar Down - Sunday, November 11, 2007
• Smarts - Friday, November 09, 2007
• Local - Wednesday, November 07, 2007
• Elections - Tuesday, November 06, 2007
• Platforms - Sunday, November 04, 2007
• Gutenburgistas - Thursday, November 01, 2007
• Shadows - Wednesday, October 31, 2007
• Saleable - Tuesday, October 30, 2007
• Tea - Monday, October 29, 2007
• Crispin, be Remembered - Thursday, October 25, 2007
• Faking It - Wednesday, October 24, 2007
• Post Dispatch - Tuesday, October 23, 2007
• Job Blob - Sunday, October 21, 2007
• MEA Weekend - Friday, October 19, 2007
• Mousketeer - Friday, October 19, 2007
• A Novel Solution - Wednesday, October 17, 2007
• Sunspots - Monday, October 15, 2007
• Ghosts - Sunday, October 14, 2007
• Voyages - Thursday, October 11, 2007
• Obsolete Houses - Tuesday, October 09, 2007
• Watching - Tuesday, October 09, 2007
• Distributed - Sunday, October 07, 2007
• Bright Light - Friday, October 05, 2007
• Soy Protein - Wednesday, October 03, 2007
• Making a Point - Monday, October 01, 2007
• Grace or Redemption - Sunday, September 30, 2007
• Widgets - Thursday, September 27, 2007
• Expectations - Wednesday, September 26, 2007
• My Point is? - Tuesday, September 25, 2007
• Access - Monday, September 24, 2007
• Housewife - Thursday, September 20, 2007
• Equinox - Wednesday, September 19, 2007
• Writing Back - Tuesday, September 18, 2007
• Street Life - Monday, September 17, 2007
• Cartoon - Friday, September 14, 2007
• The Greenback War - Wednesday, September 12, 2007
• A Fair Cop - Tuesday, September 11, 2007
• Small World - Monday, September 10, 2007
• Fairness - Thursday, September 06, 2007
• School Daze - Tuesday, September 04, 2007
• Publishing, Redux - Monday, September 03, 2007
• Labor Day - Sunday, September 02, 2007
• Ethnicity - Thursday, August 30, 2007
• Who Ya Know - Tuesday, August 28, 2007
• Repo Voting - Monday, August 27, 2007
• Sun - Friday, August 24, 2007
• Starving Artists - Tuesday, August 21, 2007
• Juanita Bartlett - Monday, August 20, 2007
• Stock Marks, not Market - Friday, August 17, 2007
• Novel Writing - Wednesday, August 15, 2007
• Stupid Money - Monday, August 13, 2007
• Crappy Cars - Friday, August 10, 2007
• snafu - Wednesday, August 08, 2007
• J.S. Bach - Monday, August 06, 2007
• I-35W Bridge - Friday, August 03, 2007
• Heat - Wednesday, August 01, 2007
• Illegal - Monday, July 30, 2007
• Prof. Powers - Thursday, July 26, 2007
• Harry Potter - Wednesday, July 25, 2007
• Cat President - Sunday, July 22, 2007
• MCS - Thursday, July 19, 2007
• Politics and People - Wednesday, July 18, 2007
• Authorial Omnipotence - Monday, July 16, 2007
• Conveyance - Thursday, July 12, 2007
• Univision - Wednesday, July 11, 2007
• Tropopause - Monday, July 09, 2007
• Big Ideas - Thursday, July 05, 2007
• Star Spangled Banner - Tuesday, July 03, 2007
• North America - Sunday, July 01, 2007
• ex Machina - Thursday, June 28, 2007
• Catalpa - Tuesday, June 26, 2007
• Blogosphere - Sunday, June 24, 2007
• Queuing - Thursday, June 21, 2007
• Make No Small Plans" - Tuesday, June 19, 2007
• Telling Stories - Monday, June 18, 2007
• Community - Thursday, June 14, 2007
• Minor Leagues - Tuesday, June 12, 2007
• For the Kids - Monday, June 11, 2007
• Wurst Writing - Thursday, June 07, 2007
• Progressive - Tuesday, June 05, 2007
• Credentials - Monday, June 04, 2007
• Band Concert - Thursday, May 31, 2007
• Institution - Wednesday, May 30, 2007
• Publiosity - Tuesday, May 29, 2007
• Honor and Sense - Monday, May 28, 2007
• King O'er the Water - Thursday, May 24, 2007
• Everything Counts - Wednesday, May 23, 2007
• Numbers Game - Monday, May 21, 2007
• Elected Attorney General - Friday, May 18, 2007
• Car Free - Thursday, May 17, 2007
• Cold Front - Tuesday, May 15, 2007
• Fortune Telling - Sunday, May 13, 2007
• Distant Voices - Friday, May 11, 2007
• Value - Wednesday, May 09, 2007
• Disposable Buildings - Monday, May 07, 2007
• Energy Alternatives - Friday, May 04, 2007
• Statuary - Thursday, May 03, 2007
• Voice - Tuesday, May 01, 2007
• McNews - Monday, April 30, 2007
• The Jebediah Effect - Thursday, April 26, 2007
• Public Realm - Wednesday, April 25, 2007
• Four Leaves - Tuesday, April 24, 2007
• Media Outlets - Monday, April 23, 2007
• A New Line of Thought - Saturday, April 21, 2007
• Pattern Taxonomy - Friday, April 20, 2007
• Politics, Interest, and Democracy - Thursday, April 19, 2007
• Making Sense - Tuesday, April 17, 2007
• Naked Emperor - Monday, April 16, 2007
• Barking in the Night - Saturday, April 14, 2007
• Kurt Vonnegut - Thursday, April 12, 2007
• All the News That Fits, Prints - Wednesday, April 11, 2007
• It was a dark and stormy night ... - Tuesday, April 10, 2007


Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.