AuthorsDen.com   Join Free! | Login    
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  Carl David, iPaul Williams, iKate Saundby, iPatricia Sanders, iB. B. Riefner, iHarry and Elizabeth Lawrence, iRhoberta Shaler, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Jean Sheldon

· + Follow Me
· Contact Me
· Books
· Poetry
· News
· Stories
· Blog
· 9 Titles
· 13 Reviews
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: May, 2007

Jean Sheldon, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.







Blogs by Jean Sheldon

Some Thoughts on Self-publishing
5/14/2007 2:07:08 PM    [ Flag as Inappropriate ]

Publishing a book is easier today than it’s ever been. That’s a good thing. Many wonderful books would go unseen if that weren’t true. People who publish their work, do so because they like what they've written. I do.

I have a certain criteria for the books that I read, and I try to apply it to the books I write. Since I read a great number of books, I know there’s a market for mine. My question then, is how do I find the hundreds of thousand of people who would enjoy my books? How do I let them know that Kerry Grant is solving mysteries?

I’ve heard large publishers and reviewers say that if your book is good, people will read it. Of course, they won’t if they don’t know it exists. Many reviewers won’t review self-published books. I do understand the reason, as mentioned above, it’s easy to publish a book.

“Mine are good,” I tell them and sadly read the automated email that rejects self-published titles. "I have a publisher," I respond, only to read that a one-author publisher’s book is equivalent to a self-published book. As frustrating as that is, it makes sense.

Okay, in the words of the Cowardly Lion, ‘I do believe. I do believe’. So, now what? I’ve been putting many hours of late into trying to market books. Those are hours spent not writing, and I don't know if it’s worth the trade off. I began writing later in life and I began on a whim, but fell passionately in love with the process. I won't give that up.

Years ago, I wrote a poem with a line that asked ‘If you close your eyes when you jump, do you know you’re falling?’ I obviously hadn’t tried marketing a self published book.



Post a Comment

More Blogs by Jean Sheldon
• Go Complacently into the Night - Thursday, July 26, 2007
• An Uncommon Magpie born on the Common - Thursday, July 26, 2007
• Responsibility - Tuesday, July 24, 2007
• Reality Check - Sunday, July 22, 2007
• Priorities - Thursday, July 19, 2007
• Selling Yourself—Selling Your Books - Monday, July 16, 2007
• Okay, call me a Hypocrite - Sunday, July 15, 2007
• You Find Life When You Live It - Saturday, July 14, 2007
• Make some Room for the Rest of Us - Thursday, July 12, 2007
• Ego - Wednesday, July 11, 2007
• How do you Stay Calm in the Chaos? - Monday, July 09, 2007
• Twilight Zoned - Sunday, July 08, 2007
• Take Two Books and Call me in the Morning - Thursday, July 05, 2007
• Survival of the Considerate - Monday, July 02, 2007
• Listless on the DorothyL Listserve - Thursday, June 28, 2007
• Which way do you think our feet are facing? - Wednesday, June 27, 2007
• Always - Monday, June 25, 2007
• Upstaged by a Pigeon - Saturday, June 23, 2007
• Me and Julio Down by the Schoolyard - Friday, June 22, 2007
• The Boundaries we call Safe - Monday, June 18, 2007
• Only You Know What you Want to Achieve - Friday, June 15, 2007
• Buy my book—too subtle? - Monday, June 11, 2007
• The Great Albuquerque Mouse Tragedy - Sunday, June 10, 2007
• When are you the Most Creative? - Thursday, June 07, 2007
• I Love My Socks - Thursday, June 07, 2007
• One Man’s Peace is Another Man’s War - Tuesday, June 05, 2007
• Writer’s Block—you have the right to remain silent - Saturday, June 02, 2007
• Creating can be Scary - Wednesday, May 30, 2007
• If you can’t say something nice…say something - Monday, May 28, 2007
• How far do you go? - Thursday, May 24, 2007
• Sociably Shy - Wednesday, May 23, 2007
• Grist for the idea mill - Monday, May 21, 2007
• A Sense of Community - Wednesday, May 16, 2007
•  Some Thoughts on Self-publishing - Monday, May 14, 2007  


The House of Stones by Carole Holt

The Earth tired of being ripped apart by humans which are killing many of the other life forms on the planet by their actions and way of life. Call on one of the most powerful of a..  
Featured BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members



Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.