AuthorsDen.com   Join Free! | Login    
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  Karin Fleischhaker-Griffin, iRichard Orey, iDavid Snowdon, iWilliam Guy, iJoe Bueno, iDavid Hearne, iOdyssia Learning, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Jean Sheldon

· + Follow Me
· Contact Me
· Books
· Poetry
· News
· Stories
· Blog
· 9 Titles
· 13 Reviews
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: May, 2007

Jean Sheldon, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.







Blogs by Jean Sheldon

Listless on the DorothyL Listserve
6/28/2007 2:27:03 PM    [ Flag as Inappropriate ]

Not long ago, I registered on the DorothyL listserve. It is an ongoing dialog for all lovers of mystery, started by a group of librarians in 1991. For those of you who may not be familiar with Dorothy Leigh Sayers, she wrote crime fiction from the early 1920s to the mid 1950s with Lord Peter Wimsey as one of her most famous detectives. She accomplished much more in books and theater, but I only mention this to show how they named the list.

I’ve rarely posted anything on there, but I had hoped to read, learn, and enjoy what other mystery, crime, and suspense writers had to say. I’ve lurked for a month or so and I have found a number of great reviews, tips for new writers, and comments on various conventions and blogs. Unfortunately, I also found that I had to scan through a great deal of petty and sometime hostile commentary.

I don’t know why I expect more from people who write and read, but I do. My disappointment seems to be growing, and each day when the catalogs arrive in my email, I find myself trying to decide if I want to continue spending time on sorting through them.

The saddest thing, of course, is something that happens frequently in every part of life. A few people ruin things for a great many others. You’re probably asking yourself why I don’t post this on DorothyL, (or maybe you’re not). The truth is I suspect it would only create another round of bickering. Now that I think about it, that really answers my question as to whether or not I want to stay.


Post a Comment

More Blogs by Jean Sheldon
• Go Complacently into the Night - Thursday, July 26, 2007
• An Uncommon Magpie born on the Common - Thursday, July 26, 2007
• Responsibility - Tuesday, July 24, 2007
• Reality Check - Sunday, July 22, 2007
• Priorities - Thursday, July 19, 2007
• Selling Yourself—Selling Your Books - Monday, July 16, 2007
• Okay, call me a Hypocrite - Sunday, July 15, 2007
• You Find Life When You Live It - Saturday, July 14, 2007
• Make some Room for the Rest of Us - Thursday, July 12, 2007
• Ego - Wednesday, July 11, 2007
• How do you Stay Calm in the Chaos? - Monday, July 09, 2007
• Twilight Zoned - Sunday, July 08, 2007
• Take Two Books and Call me in the Morning - Thursday, July 05, 2007
• Survival of the Considerate - Monday, July 02, 2007
•  Listless on the DorothyL Listserve - Thursday, June 28, 2007  
• Which way do you think our feet are facing? - Wednesday, June 27, 2007
• Always - Monday, June 25, 2007
• Upstaged by a Pigeon - Saturday, June 23, 2007
• Me and Julio Down by the Schoolyard - Friday, June 22, 2007
• The Boundaries we call Safe - Monday, June 18, 2007
• Only You Know What you Want to Achieve - Friday, June 15, 2007
• Buy my book—too subtle? - Monday, June 11, 2007
• The Great Albuquerque Mouse Tragedy - Sunday, June 10, 2007
• When are you the Most Creative? - Thursday, June 07, 2007
• I Love My Socks - Thursday, June 07, 2007
• One Man’s Peace is Another Man’s War - Tuesday, June 05, 2007
• Writer’s Block—you have the right to remain silent - Saturday, June 02, 2007
• Creating can be Scary - Wednesday, May 30, 2007
• If you can’t say something nice…say something - Monday, May 28, 2007
• How far do you go? - Thursday, May 24, 2007
• Sociably Shy - Wednesday, May 23, 2007
• Grist for the idea mill - Monday, May 21, 2007
• A Sense of Community - Wednesday, May 16, 2007
• Some Thoughts on Self-publishing - Monday, May 14, 2007


Legal Minds by Robert Davis

A book about the signs and how to detect rogue (bad) police officers. This book also covers the various tricks of police officers and the tactics of bad cops...  
Featured BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members



Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.