AuthorsDen.com   Join (Free!) | Login  

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  Raymond Sturgis, iWendy Laing, iDelma Luben, iRobin Leigh Miller, iSusan Lindsley, iJanet Caldwell, iAlan Greenhalgh, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Jean Sheldon

· Become a Fan
· Contact me
· Books
· Poetry
· News
· Stories
· Blog
· 9 Titles
· 13 Reviews
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: May, 2007

Jean Sheldon, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.


Featured Book
Eric and the Enchanted Leaf: The First Adventure
by Deborah Frontiera

Honor book in 2005 for the Texas State Reading Association's Golden Spur Award. If you already own a print copy of this book, you now have a collector's item. Print ..  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members










Blogs by Jean Sheldon

How do you Stay Calm in the Chaos?
7/9/2007 6:54:15 PM
There are drugs, of course, and classes in relaxation and meditation. There are therapies and all kinds of therapists. There’s alcohol, but I don’t think that does a lot to calm people. I know a bar where when they announce last call, most of the crowd thinks they said last brawl. This is true and definitely not calming.

Animals can have a very calming effect. Not if you run into a bear in the wilderness, that wouldn’t be very calming. Television is too much of a source of irritation to be calming and even radio these days is strange. Telephone ranks with televisions on my list. COMPUTERS ARE NOT CALMING!

Music is calming. At least it is for me. One thing that calms me quicker than anything is to play my guitar. It has for almost forty years. The music in the car next to me that causes me to bounce in my seat is not calming.

Scenery can be calming, but you want to avoid hurricanes, flash floods, and things like that if possible. Long drives used to be calming, but I have indentations in my hands from the steering wheel if I spent too much time in traffic of late.

Reading is way up at the top of my list for calming, but I avoid books that try to take that from me.
Friends and family can be calming or a source of irritation on some days.

How do you Stay Calm in the Chaos?


Post a Comment

More Blogs by Jean Sheldon
• Go Complacently into the Night - Thursday, July 26, 2007
• An Uncommon Magpie born on the Common - Thursday, July 26, 2007
• Responsibility - Tuesday, July 24, 2007
• Reality Check - Sunday, July 22, 2007
• Priorities - Thursday, July 19, 2007
• Selling Yourself—Selling Your Books - Monday, July 16, 2007
• Okay, call me a Hypocrite - Sunday, July 15, 2007
• You Find Life When You Live It - Saturday, July 14, 2007
• Make some Room for the Rest of Us - Thursday, July 12, 2007
• Ego - Wednesday, July 11, 2007
•  How do you Stay Calm in the Chaos? - Monday, July 09, 2007  
• Twilight Zoned - Sunday, July 08, 2007
• Take Two Books and Call me in the Morning - Thursday, July 05, 2007
• Survival of the Considerate - Monday, July 02, 2007
• Listless on the DorothyL Listserve - Thursday, June 28, 2007
• Which way do you think our feet are facing? - Wednesday, June 27, 2007
• Always - Monday, June 25, 2007
• Upstaged by a Pigeon - Saturday, June 23, 2007
• Me and Julio Down by the Schoolyard - Friday, June 22, 2007
• The Boundaries we call Safe - Monday, June 18, 2007
• Only You Know What you Want to Achieve - Friday, June 15, 2007
• Buy my book—too subtle? - Monday, June 11, 2007
• The Great Albuquerque Mouse Tragedy - Sunday, June 10, 2007
• When are you the Most Creative? - Thursday, June 07, 2007
• I Love My Socks - Thursday, June 07, 2007
• One Man’s Peace is Another Man’s War - Tuesday, June 05, 2007
• Writer’s Block—you have the right to remain silent - Saturday, June 02, 2007
• Creating can be Scary - Wednesday, May 30, 2007
• If you can’t say something nice…say something - Monday, May 28, 2007
• How far do you go? - Thursday, May 24, 2007
• Sociably Shy - Wednesday, May 23, 2007
• Grist for the idea mill - Monday, May 21, 2007
• A Sense of Community - Wednesday, May 16, 2007
• Some Thoughts on Self-publishing - Monday, May 14, 2007


Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.