AuthorsDen.com   Join | Login  

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  G. Roscoe, iRichard Harris, iMaryanne Raphael, iValerie publisher@nightengalepress.com, iMichael Thal, iBrad Bathgate, iBryon Smith, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Jean Sheldon

· Become a Fan
· Contact me
· Books
· Poetry
· News
· Stories
· Blog
· 9 Titles
· 13 Reviews
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: May, 2007

Jean Sheldon, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.


Featured Book
Starlight On Stone CRUX (ebook)
by Jansen Estrup

Climax of the Starlight On Stone saga in which the peace-bride, Harranish, must decide between dark vengeance in her own land and bright possibilities in the strange one ..  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members










Blogs by Jean Sheldon

An Uncommon Magpie born on the Common
7/26/2007 5:15:43 AM    [ Flag as Spam or Inappropriate ]

This is a review of 'Daydreams, Moonbeams and Wings over the Common(From the Tail of a Magpie)' by a fellow AD member, Louisa Middleton-Blake

We meet Maggie in Sussex, in the South of England, and follow him to Wales where he takes us on adventures to the farthest reaches of the Otherworld. Maggie is a Magpie and the tale told by his ‘Pinky’ is extraordinary. “Pinkies is wot I calls you humans,” he answered crossly.

Maggie’s ‘Pinky’ found him on the ground as a baby, about to become fodder for two food seeking crows. She rescued the little Magpie and nursed him back to health, unaware of what a large amount of mischief one tiny bird would wreak.

‘Daydreams’ is not simply a book about a mischievous bird. It contains some rich history, both personal and of the area. It describes the sights, sounds, and smells of places I have never had an opportunity to see, but now feel I know a little at least. It contains mythological stories related by some of Maggie’s various feathered acquaintances and by Maggie himself. (Although, he often seemed to make things up as he went along).

'Daydreams, Moonbeams and Wings over the Common (From the Tail of a Magpie)', like its title, is a long read, and I loved every page. I found myself nearing the end of my workday and looking forward to the fact that soon I would be comfortable in my chair with my cat in my lap, and Maggie filling my mind with his wit and wisdom. Maggie and his pinky split the chapters so that half of the voice is his own.

Louisa Middleton-Blake wrote a delightful book and her imagination is amazing. Visit this refreshing look at life. I suggest you make it a point to meet Maggie, an uncommon Magpie born on the Common.


Post a Comment

More Blogs by Jean Sheldon
• Go Complacently into the Night - Thursday, July 26, 2007
•  An Uncommon Magpie born on the Common - Thursday, July 26, 2007  
• Responsibility - Tuesday, July 24, 2007
• Reality Check - Sunday, July 22, 2007
• Priorities - Thursday, July 19, 2007
• Selling Yourself—Selling Your Books - Monday, July 16, 2007
• Okay, call me a Hypocrite - Sunday, July 15, 2007
• You Find Life When You Live It - Saturday, July 14, 2007
• Make some Room for the Rest of Us - Thursday, July 12, 2007
• Ego - Wednesday, July 11, 2007
• How do you Stay Calm in the Chaos? - Monday, July 09, 2007
• Twilight Zoned - Sunday, July 08, 2007
• Take Two Books and Call me in the Morning - Thursday, July 05, 2007
• Survival of the Considerate - Monday, July 02, 2007
• Listless on the DorothyL Listserve - Thursday, June 28, 2007
• Which way do you think our feet are facing? - Wednesday, June 27, 2007
• Always - Monday, June 25, 2007
• Upstaged by a Pigeon - Saturday, June 23, 2007
• Me and Julio Down by the Schoolyard - Friday, June 22, 2007
• The Boundaries we call Safe - Monday, June 18, 2007
• Only You Know What you Want to Achieve - Friday, June 15, 2007
• Buy my book—too subtle? - Monday, June 11, 2007
• The Great Albuquerque Mouse Tragedy - Sunday, June 10, 2007
• When are you the Most Creative? - Thursday, June 07, 2007
• I Love My Socks - Thursday, June 07, 2007
• One Man’s Peace is Another Man’s War - Tuesday, June 05, 2007
• Writer’s Block—you have the right to remain silent - Saturday, June 02, 2007
• Creating can be Scary - Wednesday, May 30, 2007
• If you can’t say something nice…say something - Monday, May 28, 2007
• How far do you go? - Thursday, May 24, 2007
• Sociably Shy - Wednesday, May 23, 2007
• Grist for the idea mill - Monday, May 21, 2007
• A Sense of Community - Wednesday, May 16, 2007
• Some Thoughts on Self-publishing - Monday, May 14, 2007


Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.