AuthorsDen.com   Join | Login  

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  Russell Williams, iAlbert Russo, iHank LeGrand, iChynna Laird, iJ. Joy Matthews Alford - Sistah Joy, iKeith Dyne, iMargaret Doner, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Karen Harrington

· Become a Fan
· Contact me
· Books
· Articles
· News
· Blog
· 22 Titles
· 4 Reviews
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: Aug, 2007

Karen Harrington, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.


Featured Book
Don't Tell, Don't Die
by Cheryl Wright

...  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members










Blogs by Karen Harrington

The Week in Writing
7/25/2008 12:39:23 PM    [ Flag as Spam or Inappropriate ]


The level of my writing progress is in direct proportion to the cleanliness of my house. I suspect this is true for any writer.



This week, I am happy to report that dust bunnies abound, the floor needs mopping and the place could use a general tidying. Yay! This means I’ve been writing. A lot. So much so that I have arrived at that golden moment on a project where it is actually acceptable to print it out and begin editing on paper. This is a piece that's been in progress on the computer for a full year. Time will tell if this is a gross misuse of paper and ink. Right now, it just feels good. And I do look forward to reading the novel as a reader – which is, as they say in Texas, a whole nuther process.

Also this week, I’ve discovered something decidedly quirky - The Delete Key Awards These awards, brought to us by the fine One Minute Book Reviews Blog - http://oneminutebookreviews.wordpress.com/

The awards are given to published books whose writers and editors did not make good use of the delete key. Ah, we are all guilty of this at times. But this is just downright funny. (Unless this writer ever wins one. Then, it will not be so funny, eh?)

I offer into evidence, the runner’s up for the 2008 Delete Key Awards contest:

“And there it was, the hole that had given birth to me.…This was not the first time I’d been face-to-face with my mother’s genitalia.” - From Alice Sebold’s The Almost Moon

Seriously?


From Holly Peterson’s The Manny:

“We’re in the modern era, baby, you spoiled, Jurassic, archaic, Waspy piece of petrified wood!”

“He was munching furiously on his prey, like an African lion with a freshly caught zebra.”

Not the WORST string of words I've ever read. Still quite worthy of this award.

The grand prize winner in the 2008 Delete Key Awards contest

“A new species is arising on the planet. It is arising now, and you are it!"

“We are in the midst of a momentous event in the evolution of human consciousness. But they won’t be talking about it in the news tonight. On our planet, and perhaps simultaneously in many parts of our galaxy and beyond, consciousness is awakening from the dream of form. This does not mean all forms (the world) are going to dissolve, although quite a few almost certainly will. It means consciousness can now begin to create form without losing itself in it. It can remain conscious of itself, even while it creates and experiences form.”

Both of these sentences came from Eckhart Tolle’s A New Earth: Awakening to Your Life’s Purpose (Plume)


Also offered into consideration was this line from Barbara Walters' memoir Audition

“Just before the ax fell, lightning struck and my life changed, never to be the same again.”

Barbara! How could you? How could your editor? Oy!

Time to get my manuscript off my printer and start looking for places where my characters are face to face with nether regions of their mothers while munching petrified wood like an African lion that is arising like a new species on the planet right before lightning strikes. Surely, I will never be the same again!!!!

Whaddya think. Should I just clean the house first?

--

Karen Harrington
author, Janeology
http://www.karenharringtonbooks.com


Post a Comment

More Blogs by Karen Harrington
• There Will Be Cake! Giveaways! Merriment! - Thursday, April 02, 2009
• He's Just Not That Into Valentine's - Friday, February 13, 2009
• 10 Word Short Story Contest - Friday, January 30, 2009
• Foggy day in Dallas - Thursday, January 29, 2009
• Not Your Father's Book Festival - Monday, January 19, 2009
• NaNo Stats & Writing Advice from my dog - Monday, December 01, 2008
• Characters with meaty hands. (Or, why every writer needs an editor.) - Monday, October 20, 2008
• We all grow up with the weight of history on us... - Thursday, October 02, 2008
• You are just one click away from a very entertaining guest blog at Literary Feline - Tuesday, September 09, 2008
• Can I trust you with this information? (Or, faux SPAM) - Thursday, September 04, 2008
• Join me for a compelling panel discussion and booksigning - Tuesday, August 05, 2008
• Dunh. Duh! CSI Barbie - Monday, July 28, 2008
•  The Week in Writing - Friday, July 25, 2008  
• The UnSuggester - Friday, July 11, 2008
• Is your destiny written in your DNA? - Wednesday, July 09, 2008
• What a writer really wants.... - Friday, June 27, 2008
• Read an excerpt of JANEOLOGY - Tuesday, June 24, 2008
• Uh, no thanks. I already have a book. - What? - Wednesday, June 04, 2008
• Office Space meets Cinderella = CORPORELLA - Monday, June 02, 2008
• Mother of 2 weighs in on sensitive issues behind Janeology - Wednesday, May 21, 2008
• Careful. You might end up in my novel. - Monday, May 12, 2008
• My daughter's Mother's Day card says... - Thursday, May 08, 2008
• Does the Page 69 Test Really Work? - Sunday, May 04, 2008
• Who is Jane and what did she do? - Monday, April 21, 2008
• JANEOLOGY - GENEALOGY - Wednesday, April 16, 2008
• Real Family Trees - Monday, April 14, 2008
• 5 Sentences I Wish I'd Written - Friday, April 11, 2008
• Out on a limb with JANEOLOGY - Monday, April 07, 2008
• Legally Stalk An Author - Tuesday, April 01, 2008
• The Night Before Publication - Monday, March 31, 2008
• Some Authory Stuff - Friday, March 28, 2008
• One Week to Publication (Or, I'm slightly giddy!) - Monday, March 24, 2008
• Doing the Snoopy Dance - Thursday, March 20, 2008
• Knowing Characters From Their Marrow - Monday, March 17, 2008
• Who Do You Think You Are - Friday, March 14, 2008
• Beautiful Weather/Bad News - Wednesday, March 12, 2008
• I'm Karen Harrington, candidate for readership, and I approved this message - Monday, March 10, 2008
• Dogs Impressed By Author Interview - Thursday, March 06, 2008
• 29 Days and counting to publication - Wednesday, March 05, 2008
• T Minus 30 Days Until Publication - Tuesday, March 04, 2008


Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.