AuthorsDen.com   Join Free! | Login    
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  Iolanthe Woulff, ijd young, iHarry and Elizabeth Lawrence, iDR FRED BELL, iRosemary Patterson, iFumiko Takahashi, iFrank Whyte, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Karen Harrington

· + Follow Me
· Contact Me
· Books
· Articles
· News
· Blog
· 22 Titles
· 4 Reviews
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: Aug, 2007

Karen Harrington, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.







Blogs by Karen Harrington

Foggy day in Dallas
1/29/2009 7:55:14 AM    [ Flag as Inappropriate ]

How does fog impact you?



Why is it that days like today give permission to stay inside, savor a book, write a poem or do something creative? Fog has such a romantic quality, too. I think of Heathcliff walking among the fog in the moors of Wuthering Heights. Or Rhett Butler's departure into the fog as he tears away from Scarlett in the final scene of Gone With The Wind. Or even, the fog laden second paragraph of Dickens' Bleak House.

Fog everywhere. Fog up the river, where it flows among green aits and meadows; fog down the river, where it rolls defiled among the tiers of shipping and the waterside pollutions of a great (and dirty) city. Fog on the Essex marshes, fog on the Kentish heights. Fog creeping into the cabooses of collier-brigs; fog lying out on the yards, and hovering in the rigging of great ships; fog drooping on the gunwales of barges and small boats. Fog in the eyes and throats of ancient Greenwich pensioners, wheezing by the firesides of their wards; fog in the stem and bowl of the afternoon pipe of the wrathful skipper, down in his close cabin; fog cruelly pinching the toes and fingers of his shivering little ’prentice boy on deck. Chance people on the bridges peeping over the parapets into a nether sky of fog, with fog all round them, as if they were up in a balloon, and hanging in the misty clouds.

Whew! Dickens wrote the word 'fog' twelve times there.

Most writing books caution the modern writer against starting a story with scenes of weather. I tend to agree. But if you are starting the first draft of your story, weather can be a very good starting point. In fact, one of the tips about reigniting a stalled novel that was shared in the NaNoWriMo challenge (National Novel Writing Month) was to introduce dangerous weather to put your characters in jeopardy, get them to take some action and make new decisions.

Don't you think weather impacts your attitude? Do you have pull on heavy warm boots each morning? Shovel snow before you do anything else? Or did you just wake up with the windows open? Or what if it's raining, again, and shows no signs of stopping?

I think Napoleon was right when he said, "Geography is destiny." I believe that.

Tell me, is there a memorable story that comes to mind where the weather played a major role? What's your opinion of stories that begin with descriptions of the weather? Do you like them?

 

Come visit my blog - http://www.karenharringtonbooks.com



Post a Comment

More Blogs by Karen Harrington
• There Will Be Cake! Giveaways! Merriment! - Thursday, April 02, 2009
• He's Just Not That Into Valentine's - Friday, February 13, 2009
• 10 Word Short Story Contest - Friday, January 30, 2009
•  Foggy day in Dallas - Thursday, January 29, 2009  
• Not Your Father's Book Festival - Monday, January 19, 2009
• NaNo Stats & Writing Advice from my dog - Monday, December 01, 2008
• Characters with meaty hands. (Or, why every writer needs an editor.) - Monday, October 20, 2008
• We all grow up with the weight of history on us... - Thursday, October 02, 2008
• You are just one click away from a very entertaining guest blog at Literary Feline - Tuesday, September 09, 2008
• Can I trust you with this information? (Or, faux SPAM) - Thursday, September 04, 2008
• Join me for a compelling panel discussion and booksigning - Tuesday, August 05, 2008
• Dunh. Duh! CSI Barbie - Monday, July 28, 2008
• The Week in Writing - Friday, July 25, 2008
• The UnSuggester - Friday, July 11, 2008
• Is your destiny written in your DNA? - Wednesday, July 09, 2008
• What a writer really wants.... - Friday, June 27, 2008
• Read an excerpt of JANEOLOGY - Tuesday, June 24, 2008
• Uh, no thanks. I already have a book. - What? - Wednesday, June 04, 2008
• Office Space meets Cinderella = CORPORELLA - Monday, June 02, 2008
• Mother of 2 weighs in on sensitive issues behind Janeology - Wednesday, May 21, 2008
• Careful. You might end up in my novel. - Monday, May 12, 2008
• My daughter's Mother's Day card says... - Thursday, May 08, 2008
• Does the Page 69 Test Really Work? - Sunday, May 04, 2008
• Who is Jane and what did she do? - Monday, April 21, 2008
• JANEOLOGY - GENEALOGY - Wednesday, April 16, 2008
• Real Family Trees - Monday, April 14, 2008
• 5 Sentences I Wish I'd Written - Friday, April 11, 2008
• Out on a limb with JANEOLOGY - Monday, April 07, 2008
• Legally Stalk An Author - Tuesday, April 01, 2008
• The Night Before Publication - Monday, March 31, 2008
• Some Authory Stuff - Friday, March 28, 2008
• One Week to Publication (Or, I'm slightly giddy!) - Monday, March 24, 2008
• Doing the Snoopy Dance - Thursday, March 20, 2008
• Knowing Characters From Their Marrow - Monday, March 17, 2008
• Who Do You Think You Are - Friday, March 14, 2008
• Beautiful Weather/Bad News - Wednesday, March 12, 2008
• I'm Karen Harrington, candidate for readership, and I approved this message - Monday, March 10, 2008
• Dogs Impressed By Author Interview - Thursday, March 06, 2008
• 29 Days and counting to publication - Wednesday, March 05, 2008
• T Minus 30 Days Until Publication - Tuesday, March 04, 2008


EVIL SEED: An Occult Sci-fi action adventure (pb) by C. McGovern-Bowen

Evil Seed: Mother Earth vs. the Human Race; Who Will Survive? Launched onto a surreal odyssey by a desperate call for help, a heroine reluctant to save her own unworthy species..  
Featured BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members



Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.