AuthorsDen.com   Join (Free!) | Login  

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  Jackie Miller, iBeverly Scott, iPeazy Monellon, iSuzanne Tabor, iandrea coltman, iWendy Laing, iFrank Ryan, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Kathi Macias

· Become a Fan
· Contact me
· Books
· Articles
· Blog
· 2 Titles
· 2 Reviews
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: Nov, 2007

Kathi Macias, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.


Featured Book
The Chosen
by Annette Gisby

Love or duty - which would you choose?..  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members










Blogs by Kathi Macias

For God so loved...that He gave...
2/14/2008 6:31:09 AM
For God so loved…that He gave… (John 3:16).

February 14 has come to be known as “a day for lovers,” and rightfully so. More than any other day of the year, we send cards, flowers, candy, and other expressions of affection to the ones we claim to love. Somehow we recognize that loving involves giving.
And no one does that better than the One who loved us so much that He gave us everything—not just a symbol or a reminder of His love, but EVERYTHING: His best, His all, His only Son. But though love begins with giving, it isn’t complete without receiving.
I spent the first twenty-six years of my life believing God existed, that Jesus was His Son, that He was born to a Jewish virgin named Mary, that He died on a cruel cross for “the sins of the world,” and that He rose again. Was that enough to complete the cycle of the gift of love and assure my entrance into heaven when I died? No. Absolutely not! Had I died during that first twenty-six years of my life, I have not one doubt that I would be in hell today. For believing the truth about God’s love isn’t the same as receiving it.
I wasn’t raised in a Christian family, though I imagine if anyone had asked about our religious beliefs, we would have said we were Christians. After all, we were born in America; my parents had been baptized as infants (my father as a Lutheran, my mother as a Catholic). I too had been baptized—in the Lutheran church as a baby, and in the Catholic Church when I was sixteen and made the conscious decision to become a practicing Catholic. But none of that assured my entrance into heaven, for the gift of God’s love to me still lay unwrapped, waiting….
It wasn’t until July 5, 1974, as I was kneeling in prayer beside the bed, finally broken over the sin and selfishness of my life, that God showed me something quite amazing: a picture of “love in action.” In my mind I “saw” myself standing in a crowd, somewhere on a dusty road. Some of the people around me were weeping, some jeering, some screaming in anger…or anguish. But they were all looking in the same direction—down the road—at something, or Someone, approaching.
I too looked, and what I saw took my breath away. It was Jesus, bruised and bloody, bent and beaten, carrying His cross and stumbling toward me. The closer He got, the more I cried, as I saw the sweat and tears and blood dripping down His face.
And then He drew up even with me and stopped. He raised His head and looked past everyone else in the crowd, straight at me. In His eyes I saw love—unimaginable, unconditional, unending love—and then He spoke five words that changed my life forever: “I did it for you.”
For me! He hadn’t died simply for “the sins of the world,” as I’d always believed, but for me—for my sins! He had been beaten and bloodied, had carried the cross and walked the Via de la Rosa, had hung between earth and sky—for me! Oh, the life-changing love that was given and received as Jesus spoke those five words: “I did it for you.”
“For God so loved…that He gave…” God’s gift of love is so great that it forgives and transforms all who receive it. It gives assurance of entrance into heaven and a forever existence in the very presence of the One who loved and gave. And it is offered freely and fully…for you and for me.
If you’ve never received that gift of love—if the greatest gift ever given still lies, waiting and unopened, with your name on it—don’t let another day go by without receiving the true gift of love, a gift that will last long after the chocolates are eaten and the flowers wilted. It is a forever gift, and in it you will discover the greatest love—the only love—we can ever know or experience.


Post a Comment

More Blogs by Kathi Macias
• Apocalipsis 3:15-16 - Thursday, June 26, 2008
• A Call to Radical Discipleship - Thursday, June 26, 2008
• San Mateo 19:17 - Thursday, June 19, 2008
• God Alone Is Good! - Thursday, June 19, 2008
• Yours...or God's? - Thursday, June 12, 2008
• Ester 4:14 - Friday, June 06, 2008
• For such a time as this... - Thursday, June 05, 2008
• San Juan 1:4-5 - Thursday, May 29, 2008
• Let His Light Shine! - Thursday, May 29, 2008
• Romanos 7:24-25 - Tuesday, May 27, 2008
• Time for a Confession... - Thursday, May 22, 2008
• Timoteo 4:6-8 - Wednesday, May 21, 2008
• The best is yet to be.... - Thursday, May 15, 2008
• 2 Cronicas 12:13-15 - Monday, May 05, 2008
• Preparing our hearts to do good - Monday, May 05, 2008
• San Juan 3:30 - Friday, May 02, 2008
• Learning to Walk in Humility - Thursday, May 01, 2008
• San Mateo 24:4-5 - Thursday, April 24, 2008
• Which Jesus Must We Believe In? - Thursday, April 24, 2008
• Efesios 2:8-10 - Friday, April 18, 2008
• It's All About Grace! - Thursday, April 17, 2008
• Jeremias 33:3 - Thursday, April 10, 2008
• Hearing from God - Thursday, April 10, 2008
• 2 Reyes 3:11 - Friday, April 04, 2008
• Earthly Rewards...or the Applause of Heaven? - Thursday, April 03, 2008
• San Juan 14:1,2,3 - Monday, March 31, 2008
• Homesick? - Monday, March 24, 2008
• San Mateo 28:6 - Friday, March 21, 2008
• Because He Lives! - Thursday, March 20, 2008
• San Mateo 21:9 - Thursday, March 13, 2008
• Final Days and Final Words - Thursday, March 13, 2008
• 2 Samuel 22:20 en Espanol - Thursday, March 06, 2008
• He Delights in Us! - Thursday, March 06, 2008
• Efesios 4:15 - Friday, February 29, 2008
• Speaking the Truth in Love - Thursday, February 28, 2008
• San Marcos 8:36 - Friday, February 22, 2008
• Cemeteries and Perspective - Thursday, February 21, 2008
• San Juan 3:16 - Friday, February 15, 2008
•  For God so loved...that He gave... - Thursday, February 14, 2008  
• There Comes a Knowing... - Thursday, February 07, 2008
• Jueces 5:2; 17:6 - Friday, February 01, 2008
• Recipe for Victory...or Defeat? - Thursday, January 31, 2008
• Salmos 139:23-24 - Thursday, January 24, 2008
• Searching and Changing - Thursday, January 24, 2008
• Let the Light Shine (Spanish) - Thursday, January 17, 2008
• Let the Light shine! - Thursday, January 17, 2008
• Hebreos 9:27-28) - Thursday, January 10, 2008
• Are you ready? - Thursday, January 10, 2008
• San Mateo 7:18, 20 - Friday, January 04, 2008
• If you were arrested for being a Christian... - Thursday, January 03, 2008
• olvidando ciertamente lo que queda atrás - Tuesday, December 25, 2007
• Happy New Year--a few days early... - Monday, December 24, 2007
• Porque Tú no quieres sacrificio - Thursday, December 20, 2007
• Christmas and the Cross - Thursday, December 20, 2007
• Christmas devotional in Spanish - Thursday, December 13, 2007
• A special Christmas devotional - Thursday, December 13, 2007
• John 21:20 devotional in Spanish - Thursday, December 06, 2007
• Resolving the Worldwide Identity Crisis - Wednesday, December 05, 2007
• Ora a Tu Padre - Friday, November 30, 2007
• Jesus Called Him "Abba Father" - Thursday, November 29, 2007
• Thanksgiving post in Spanish - Thursday, November 22, 2007
• Expressing Gratitude to the Giver of All Gifts - Wednesday, November 21, 2007
• Previous blog entry translated into Spanish - Tuesday, November 20, 2007
• Working and Resting - Tuesday, November 20, 2007


Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.