AuthorsDen.com   Join (Free!) | Login  

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  David Snowdon, iMichele Poague, iMyles Saulibio, iGina LoBiondo, iTom Hyland, iMary Adair, iNeil Ostroff, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Kathi Macias

· Become a Fan
· Contact me
· Books
· Articles
· Blog
· 2 Titles
· 2 Reviews
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: Nov, 2007

Kathi Macias, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.


Featured Book
Distraction
by Pamela Ackerson

Family secrets, a gorgeous man with a wounded heart, and a young woman who is determined to get exactly what she wants.....  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members










Blogs by Kathi Macias

Cemeteries and Perspective
2/21/2008 6:59:12 AM
“For what will it profit a man if he gains the whole world,
and loses his own soul?” (Mark 8:36)

There is nothing like a trip to a cemetery to put our temporal lives in perspective. We live in an “it’s all about me” world, and even as believers, it’s easier than not to get caught up in that faulty mindset and quickly become overwhelmed with the urgency to fulfill my wants, my needs, my feelings, my desires.
Materialism depends upon just such an urgency; advertising appeals to it. If we could just win the lottery, write that bestseller, buy that bigger house, that fancier car, those name-brand clothes, we’d be happier, more fulfilled, more satisfied. And, of course, we’d serve God more wholeheartedly!
The truth is, such a mindset is…well, just not true. If we aren’t joyously and wholeheartedly serving God where we are today with what we have right now, we wouldn’t do it if we inherited all the money in the world tomorrow. If we doubt that statement, it’s time for a trip to the cemetery.
Graveyards are filled with once-indispensable people, people whose lives meant something to someone at some time here on earth. But when they breathed their last and were lowered into the ground, did the world stop spinning? No? Then it’s a safe assumption it won’t stop spinning when we breathe our last either.
So what can we accomplish by making that trip to the cemetery? We can prioritize what we do today—and how well we do it—by asking ourselves this question: What did those once-indispensable people take with them, and what did they leave behind?
May we answer wisely, beloved—and live accordingly.


Post a Comment

More Blogs by Kathi Macias
• Apocalipsis 3:15-16 - Thursday, June 26, 2008
• A Call to Radical Discipleship - Thursday, June 26, 2008
• San Mateo 19:17 - Thursday, June 19, 2008
• God Alone Is Good! - Thursday, June 19, 2008
• Yours...or God's? - Thursday, June 12, 2008
• Ester 4:14 - Friday, June 06, 2008
• For such a time as this... - Thursday, June 05, 2008
• San Juan 1:4-5 - Thursday, May 29, 2008
• Let His Light Shine! - Thursday, May 29, 2008
• Romanos 7:24-25 - Tuesday, May 27, 2008
• Time for a Confession... - Thursday, May 22, 2008
• Timoteo 4:6-8 - Wednesday, May 21, 2008
• The best is yet to be.... - Thursday, May 15, 2008
• 2 Cronicas 12:13-15 - Monday, May 05, 2008
• Preparing our hearts to do good - Monday, May 05, 2008
• San Juan 3:30 - Friday, May 02, 2008
• Learning to Walk in Humility - Thursday, May 01, 2008
• San Mateo 24:4-5 - Thursday, April 24, 2008
• Which Jesus Must We Believe In? - Thursday, April 24, 2008
• Efesios 2:8-10 - Friday, April 18, 2008
• It's All About Grace! - Thursday, April 17, 2008
• Jeremias 33:3 - Thursday, April 10, 2008
• Hearing from God - Thursday, April 10, 2008
• 2 Reyes 3:11 - Friday, April 04, 2008
• Earthly Rewards...or the Applause of Heaven? - Thursday, April 03, 2008
• San Juan 14:1,2,3 - Monday, March 31, 2008
• Homesick? - Monday, March 24, 2008
• San Mateo 28:6 - Friday, March 21, 2008
• Because He Lives! - Thursday, March 20, 2008
• San Mateo 21:9 - Thursday, March 13, 2008
• Final Days and Final Words - Thursday, March 13, 2008
• 2 Samuel 22:20 en Espanol - Thursday, March 06, 2008
• He Delights in Us! - Thursday, March 06, 2008
• Efesios 4:15 - Friday, February 29, 2008
• Speaking the Truth in Love - Thursday, February 28, 2008
• San Marcos 8:36 - Friday, February 22, 2008
•  Cemeteries and Perspective - Thursday, February 21, 2008  
• San Juan 3:16 - Friday, February 15, 2008
• For God so loved...that He gave... - Thursday, February 14, 2008
• There Comes a Knowing... - Thursday, February 07, 2008
• Jueces 5:2; 17:6 - Friday, February 01, 2008
• Recipe for Victory...or Defeat? - Thursday, January 31, 2008
• Salmos 139:23-24 - Thursday, January 24, 2008
• Searching and Changing - Thursday, January 24, 2008
• Let the Light Shine (Spanish) - Thursday, January 17, 2008
• Let the Light shine! - Thursday, January 17, 2008
• Hebreos 9:27-28) - Thursday, January 10, 2008
• Are you ready? - Thursday, January 10, 2008
• San Mateo 7:18, 20 - Friday, January 04, 2008
• If you were arrested for being a Christian... - Thursday, January 03, 2008
• olvidando ciertamente lo que queda atrás - Tuesday, December 25, 2007
• Happy New Year--a few days early... - Monday, December 24, 2007
• Porque Tú no quieres sacrificio - Thursday, December 20, 2007
• Christmas and the Cross - Thursday, December 20, 2007
• Christmas devotional in Spanish - Thursday, December 13, 2007
• A special Christmas devotional - Thursday, December 13, 2007
• John 21:20 devotional in Spanish - Thursday, December 06, 2007
• Resolving the Worldwide Identity Crisis - Wednesday, December 05, 2007
• Ora a Tu Padre - Friday, November 30, 2007
• Jesus Called Him "Abba Father" - Thursday, November 29, 2007
• Thanksgiving post in Spanish - Thursday, November 22, 2007
• Expressing Gratitude to the Giver of All Gifts - Wednesday, November 21, 2007
• Previous blog entry translated into Spanish - Tuesday, November 20, 2007
• Working and Resting - Tuesday, November 20, 2007


Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
© AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.