AuthorsDen.com   Join (Free!) | Login  

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  Lonnie Hicks, iFumiko Takahashi, iSteven Holley, iGary Caplan, iC Schutter, iWynn Schiller, iLannah Sawers-Diggins, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Laura Davis

· Become a Fan
· Contact me
· Books
· Articles
· Poetry
· News
· Stories
· Blog
· Messages
· 7 Titles
· 9 Reviews
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: Jan, 2008

Laura Davis, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.


Featured Book
Unwanted Dreams
by Elizabeth Parker

What determines the outcome of a killer's mind? Is it nature versus nurture? Just when you think your life is perfect and that you are safe from harm's way, think again. ..  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members










Blogs by Laura Davis

Where are all the doctors?
9/16/2008 5:52:57 AM
Is medical care really better in Canada?
I'm sure that there are people everywhere who have horror stories to tell about medical treatment they have received at one time or another. Mistakes happen, doctors are human they are not infallible. Unfortunately, they are also becoming rare and therefore not prone to listen to their patients as attentively as they might have in the past, causing some real heartache and extreme hardship for a lot of people.

Where I live in Canada we have the luxury of having all medical treatments and visits to the doctor paid for by the government. Well...not really, you see it comes out of our taxes and we are one of the highest taxed countries in the world today. But, I'd rather it be that way, then have to fight with an HMO over whether or not I really need to be treated for ovarian cancer (no - I do not have ovarian cancer, but I do know of a woman who had to actually argue with her HMO for treatment. Why do HMO's not accept blood tests, and doctor's reports as actual fact? Oh ... don't get me started that's a whole other ball of wax!).

Anyway, today in Canada while everything is paid for, getting the treatment or actually finding a doctor is the tricky part. I went for four years without a doctor, because my first doctor moved out of our city. I never knew how bad the doctor shortage really was, or how much control they have over patients until this happened. I soon discovered that I was no longer allowed to pick my doctor, but I had to fill out an application and if I didn't have too many things wrong with me, I could get a doctor. But woe to the person who is actually sick in Ontario, because finding a doctor for you is going to be very tricky. Why? They don't have time for sick people! Why? Because there are no doctors here! An estimated 5 million Canadians are currently without a doctor! Beggars can no longer be choosers in Canada and if you have a complete moron for a doctor, well I feel for you, I know what you are going through - been there, done that. The doctor I'm with now, I've been with for 3 years and in all that time he has never examined me. What??? That's right - for 3 years I've been with this guy and he has yet to really listen or look at my ailments. I always go in about the same thing - why? He hasn't done anything to help me yet! So go find another doctor you say? Um - did you just read my post?



Comments (3)

More Blogs by Laura Davis
• Why Do You Blog? - Tuesday, September 30, 2008
•  Where are all the doctors? - Tuesday, September 16, 2008  
• Leaving the Nest - Thursday, September 04, 2008
• Read at your own risk! - Tuesday, July 29, 2008
• Confession - is it good for the soul? - Thursday, July 10, 2008
• What do you do for writer's block - Thursday, June 26, 2008
• Where do you write? - Friday, June 20, 2008
• Best Home Town Contest - Sunday, June 15, 2008
• Are You Forgiven? - Saturday, June 07, 2008
• Discovering Treasure - Tuesday, May 20, 2008
• I Am the Cat Lady - Thursday, May 15, 2008
• When Your Work is Stolen - Friday, May 09, 2008
• My Friend Died Today - Tuesday, May 06, 2008
• What Does God Expect From Us? - Sunday, May 04, 2008
• What is Faith? - Friday, May 02, 2008
• Crazy teenagers! - Tuesday, April 29, 2008
• Waiting on the Lord - Monday, April 21, 2008
• Writing Woes! - Tuesday, April 15, 2008
• Surrendering to God's Plans - Monday, April 14, 2008
• True Confessions - Thursday, April 10, 2008
• Television Appearance - Monday, April 07, 2008
• I'm Having a Panic Attack! - Friday, April 04, 2008
• Writer's Conference - Monday, March 31, 2008
• The Horrible Monster of Pain - Tuesday, March 25, 2008
• Why Is It Called Good Friday? - Friday, March 21, 2008
• My Brain is a Noodle - Monday, March 17, 2008
• My Life is Almost Over! - Thursday, March 13, 2008
• Self published vs. published - Tuesday, February 12, 2008


Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.