AuthorsDen.com   Join Free! | Login    
   Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  Sheri Hoff, iFumiko Takahashi, iJohn McCoy, iMike Hartner, iAlexander Goldstein, iMiller Caldwell, iFrances Seymour, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Randy Young

· + Follow Me
· Contact Me
· Success story
· News
· Blog
· 0 Titles
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: Mar, 2008

Randy Young, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.







Blogs by Randy Young

Waiting for SleepyTown
3/10/2008 5:42:45 AM    [ Flag as Inappropriate ]

Basically, this blog will tell you how the idea became a book.

Hopefully, SleepyTown will be out soon. It is a great little book for children. It is true that every night, Zander says, "I'm going to beat you to SleepyTown, Gomey." (Gomey sounds like Domey...He can not say his "Gs" yet.) I do not care. It can sound like "dummy" and I will smile. How could I not smile, when the "perfect" child says something to me?

Last night, Zander was lying next to me in bed. He was holding a book and pretending to read. The funny thing, children copy what they see us do. We make reading important to us. He sees us read. He is also excited about SleepyTown. I asked him to read to me. He opened the book and said. "I love you, Domey. I love Domey."

I said, "I love you, baby." He looked at me over the corner of his book and replied, "I'm reading to you." I smiled.

Actually, I surprised myself, when I did the illustrations for the book. Yes, I have painted Acrylic on canvas for years. I have also drawn animals with pencil, but this was something new. I did not know if I could do it. To be honest, I was scared.

I did the design work on tracing paper. Why tracing paper? I took the advice of a guy that I had emailed, after seeing his work online. He told me that he did all of his pre-drawing stuff on tracing paper. That made it easy to change as well as trace, if needed. Then, I transfered it to drawing paper, via carbon.

I used a perminent marker to fine-tune the designs and then I colored them with colored pencils. I tried an illustration with Acrylic paint on canvas pad. I even tried one with watercolor pencil on watercolor pad. After trying all three, I stuck with colored pencils. They were easy to use and gave me the look that I was looking for in the work. (Drop me a message, if you would like to know what brand of colored pencils were used. They were not the cheap-o kind.)

After finishing the illustrations, I took them to Office Max and had them scanned at 600dpi. This gave me great detail in the scans. The scans looked as good as the originals.

So, here I sit...waiting for the book. Check back and I will give you another look at the creation of SleepyTown.

 



Post a Comment

More Blogs by Randy Young
• Writing Contest - Wednesday, October 22, 2008
• Writing Contest - Tuesday, September 30, 2008
• Sleepy Town Press - Saturday, September 20, 2008
• NEWS as promised!!! - Friday, September 12, 2008
• New Publisher Coming - Wednesday, September 10, 2008
• Slow Down, You're Moving Too Fast - Thursday, August 28, 2008
• Sorry for being gone so long - Friday, August 08, 2008
• Summer Slump - Friday, July 25, 2008
• TALK RADIO: JOIN ME - Saturday, July 05, 2008
• Writing Contests - Monday, June 30, 2008
• Television Interview - Thursday, June 26, 2008
• PLEASE: Listen and Call in, if possible. - Sunday, June 22, 2008
• Frustration is spelled with a capital letter - Monday, June 09, 2008
• Life is Unfair - Wednesday, June 04, 2008
• MY BOOK IS LISTED ONLINE - Friday, May 30, 2008
• Does your story smell? - Thursday, May 29, 2008
• My Epiphany - Tuesday, May 27, 2008
• Something part 5 - Friday, May 23, 2008
• Something Part 4 - Thursday, May 22, 2008
• Something part 3 - Wednesday, May 21, 2008
• Something Part 2 - Tuesday, May 20, 2008
• Something that I have never done before - Monday, May 19, 2008
• The "write way to write" - Wednesday, May 14, 2008
• I was born a rambling man - Wednesday, May 14, 2008
• Official Release of SleepyTown - Monday, May 12, 2008
• Sure-fire-ways to plan a Short Story - Friday, May 09, 2008
• Is your Short Story screaming and yelling, I want to be a NOVEL? - Wednesday, May 07, 2008
• How Do I Know That My Short Story Deserves To Be A Novel? - Tuesday, May 06, 2008
• What's Your Story? - Monday, May 05, 2008
• Reach Out and Touch - Wednesday, April 30, 2008
• Copyright In and Outs - Tuesday, April 29, 2008
• Where Do I Go From Here? - Monday, April 28, 2008
• A Mind Retreat - Friday, April 25, 2008
• Have you thought about your local Junior College? - Thursday, April 24, 2008
• Everything you ever wanted to know about being successful - Wednesday, April 23, 2008
• What others say about writing - Tuesday, April 22, 2008
• Finding Myself - Monday, April 21, 2008
• What makes for a Great Read - Friday, April 18, 2008
• SPRING BREAK - Friday, April 11, 2008
• Hot off The Press - Thursday, April 10, 2008
• How Do I Promote Myself? Let Me Count the Ways. - Wednesday, April 09, 2008
• BEWARE of Lions and Tigers and Bears - Tuesday, April 08, 2008
• Illustrating a Children's Book - Monday, April 07, 2008
• Tracking Submissions - Friday, April 04, 2008
• SleepyTown - Thursday, April 03, 2008
• SleepyTown Release!!! - Wednesday, April 02, 2008
• Creating your Frankenstein - Wednesday, April 02, 2008
• The TRUTH about Publishers and submissions - Tuesday, April 01, 2008
• Is it bad writing or BLIND FAITH? - Monday, March 31, 2008
• Fleas, Flies, and Fodder - Friday, March 28, 2008
• Palm Readers Have Nothing on Librarians - Thursday, March 27, 2008
• Things you should never put in a query letter - Wednesday, March 26, 2008
• Turn it upside down! - Tuesday, March 25, 2008
• Cut the Kudzu! - Monday, March 24, 2008
• Big Brother and the little guys - Friday, March 21, 2008
• Open Seza a Me - Thursday, March 20, 2008
• Ready...Set......Go! - Wednesday, March 19, 2008
• Speak to the senses - Tuesday, March 18, 2008
• Kicking against the pricks. - Monday, March 17, 2008
• Rejection sometimes goes deep - Saturday, March 15, 2008
• My visit to White Plains and Read Across America. - Friday, March 14, 2008
• Everyone has needs. - Thursday, March 13, 2008
• Leaving the starting block as a writer. - Wednesday, March 12, 2008
• Why do I want to write for children? - Tuesday, March 11, 2008
•  Waiting for SleepyTown - Monday, March 10, 2008  


Shenandoah Watercolors by Beth Trissel

Written in a month by month journal style, Shenandoah Watercolors follows a year in my life on our farm in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia...  
Featured BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members



Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.