AuthorsDen.com   Join (Free!) | Login  

     Popular! Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry
   Services MarketPlace (Free to post!)
Where Authors and Readers come together!

SIGNED BOOKS    AUTHORS    eBOOKS new!     BOOKS    STORIES    ARTICLES    POETRY    BLOGS    NEWS    EVENTS    VIDEOS    GOLD    SUCCESS    TESTIMONIALS

Featured Authors:  Tiffany Turner, iNeil Levin, iMichael Charles Messineo, iBonnie Milani, iDeborah Frontiera, iMark Berent, iC Schutter, i

  Home > Blogs Popular: Books, Stories, Articles, Poetry     

Randy Young

· Become a Fan
· Contact me
· Success story
· News
· Blog
· 0 Titles
· Share with Friends!
·
Member Since: Mar, 2008

Randy Young, click here to update your pages on AuthorsDen.


Featured Book
A Hard Place (A Sergeants Tale) Revised (Kindle)
by Jacamo Peterson

A book about what it was really like to serve in Viet Nam from someone on the ground. Missions in the bush and on the roads. Hard times in a Hard Place...  
BookAds by Silver
Gold and Platinum Members










Blogs by Randy Young

Everyone has needs.
3/13/2008 5:54:19 AM
We all have needs. We all have desires. We all have those things that stay in the back of our minds.

First, we all want to be loved and accepted. I do not care how many times a young person says they do not care. I do not care how many times a person says they do not care what people think of them. We all really do care. We want acceptance. If, for some reason, we do not get that love as a child, we get a little "off-balance." It changes the way we see life.


For example, if we do not have the love and acceptance as a child, we get "warped" by it. If we had to always go around "on eggshells" to please a parent, we missed something important. If we grow up with a parent that can never admit that they do wrong, we get "warped." It makes us go through life thinking that we never have acceptance. We think that we have to do something special to earn it. It can go so far as "warping" our thinking that we will never have love or be accepted. Sometimes, this drives a person to do some really stupid things, all in the name of acceptance. Why do you think a girl runs to a guy, when dad has not been there for her? She wants that male attention. She wants that male acceptance.


Second, we need to have roots. I am talking about those "deep down,dirt grabbing, holding on tight roots." We need to be a part of something. We need to be in. No wonder so many young people join gangs. They want to be "in."


Third, we all want to do something worth while. We have this need to make a difference in someone's life. We want to count. We really do want people to look up to us. We want to feel important. This makes us feel special. It sets us apart. Even when we say we do not want attention, we do.


Fourth, we want to know that everything will be alright. We want to know that the bridge is not going to fall, if we walk across it. We want security. It is like those times, when you are alone at home, and you just want to know that the windows and doors are locked. You want to feel secure in who and what you are and your life.


Last, We want knowledge. We want to share it. We would love for once in your lives to feel like we know something that other people want to know. We want to be the "bearers of the secret knowledge." Deep, deep down, we pray that everyone on the planet wants to know what WE KNOW.


As writers, this all comes back around full circle. When a person picks up our book, purchases it, reads it, and then says, "Wow, that was a great book," we sigh. Our need is met.



Post a Comment

More Blogs by Randy Young
• Writing Contest - Wednesday, October 22, 2008
• Writing Contest - Tuesday, September 30, 2008
• Sleepy Town Press - Saturday, September 20, 2008
• NEWS as promised!!! - Friday, September 12, 2008
• New Publisher Coming - Wednesday, September 10, 2008
• Slow Down, You're Moving Too Fast - Thursday, August 28, 2008
• Sorry for being gone so long - Friday, August 08, 2008
• Summer Slump - Friday, July 25, 2008
• TALK RADIO: JOIN ME - Saturday, July 05, 2008
• Writing Contests - Monday, June 30, 2008
• Television Interview - Thursday, June 26, 2008
• PLEASE: Listen and Call in, if possible. - Sunday, June 22, 2008
• Frustration is spelled with a capital letter - Monday, June 09, 2008
• Life is Unfair - Wednesday, June 04, 2008
• MY BOOK IS LISTED ONLINE - Friday, May 30, 2008
• Does your story smell? - Thursday, May 29, 2008
• My Epiphany - Tuesday, May 27, 2008
• Something part 5 - Friday, May 23, 2008
• Something Part 4 - Thursday, May 22, 2008
• Something part 3 - Wednesday, May 21, 2008
• Something Part 2 - Tuesday, May 20, 2008
• Something that I have never done before - Monday, May 19, 2008
• The "write way to write" - Wednesday, May 14, 2008
• I was born a rambling man - Wednesday, May 14, 2008
• Official Release of SleepyTown - Monday, May 12, 2008
• Sure-fire-ways to plan a Short Story - Friday, May 09, 2008
• Is your Short Story screaming and yelling, I want to be a NOVEL? - Wednesday, May 07, 2008
• How Do I Know That My Short Story Deserves To Be A Novel? - Tuesday, May 06, 2008
• What's Your Story? - Monday, May 05, 2008
• Reach Out and Touch - Wednesday, April 30, 2008
• Copyright In and Outs - Tuesday, April 29, 2008
• Where Do I Go From Here? - Monday, April 28, 2008
• A Mind Retreat - Friday, April 25, 2008
• Have you thought about your local Junior College? - Thursday, April 24, 2008
• Everything you ever wanted to know about being successful - Wednesday, April 23, 2008
• What others say about writing - Tuesday, April 22, 2008
• Finding Myself - Monday, April 21, 2008
• What makes for a Great Read - Friday, April 18, 2008
• SPRING BREAK - Friday, April 11, 2008
• Hot off The Press - Thursday, April 10, 2008
• How Do I Promote Myself? Let Me Count the Ways. - Wednesday, April 09, 2008
• BEWARE of Lions and Tigers and Bears - Tuesday, April 08, 2008
• Illustrating a Children's Book - Monday, April 07, 2008
• Tracking Submissions - Friday, April 04, 2008
• SleepyTown - Thursday, April 03, 2008
• SleepyTown Release!!! - Wednesday, April 02, 2008
• Creating your Frankenstein - Wednesday, April 02, 2008
• The TRUTH about Publishers and submissions - Tuesday, April 01, 2008
• Is it bad writing or BLIND FAITH? - Monday, March 31, 2008
• Fleas, Flies, and Fodder - Friday, March 28, 2008
• Palm Readers Have Nothing on Librarians - Thursday, March 27, 2008
• Things you should never put in a query letter - Wednesday, March 26, 2008
• Turn it upside down! - Tuesday, March 25, 2008
• Cut the Kudzu! - Monday, March 24, 2008
• Big Brother and the little guys - Friday, March 21, 2008
• Open Seza a Me - Thursday, March 20, 2008
• Ready...Set......Go! - Wednesday, March 19, 2008
• Speak to the senses - Tuesday, March 18, 2008
• Kicking against the pricks. - Monday, March 17, 2008
• Rejection sometimes goes deep - Saturday, March 15, 2008
• My visit to White Plains and Read Across America. - Friday, March 14, 2008
•  Everyone has needs. - Thursday, March 13, 2008  
• Leaving the starting block as a writer. - Wednesday, March 12, 2008
• Why do I want to write for children? - Tuesday, March 11, 2008
• Waiting for SleepyTown - Monday, March 10, 2008


Authors alphabetically: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Featured Authors | New to AuthorsDen? | Add AuthorsDen to your Site
Share AD with your friends | Need Help? | About us


Problem with this page?   Report it to AuthorsDen
AuthorsDen, Inc. All rights reserved.